We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Castle on the Rhine”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Castle Hotel Auf Schoenburg
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Oberwesel
Certificate of Excellence
Crisfield
Level Contributor
129 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Castle on the Rhine”
Reviewed 15 December 2013

I was a little nervous crossing over the wooden bridge with a car. Then you have to walk up the pathway to get to the hotel. But once inside you forget all that. Our room faced the Rhine and it was Awsome. We had dinner and breakfast there. Both were great. Even had a fire going in one room with cokies and treats. You could seat and read a book or talk to other guests. This is the place i will never forget.

Room Tip: Ask for the river side
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cody2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    605
    58
    9
    6
    3
See reviews for
184
379
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hiratsuka Japan
Level Contributor
127 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Well, most has already been said. This hotel offers a unique experience. Mostly good, but not perfect. The hotel is a made up of various rooms and suites throughout the restored sections of the castle. The room we had was quite simply the largest most extravagantly appointed hotel room I have ever stayed in. It consisted of a huge bedroom, a reading room, bathroom, toilet room, walk in closet, and two balconies. Simply quite amazing and more appropriate for a week's stay than an overnighter. That said, it could use with a tad more attention to cleaning as there were large cobwebs in the window alcoves. A minor detraction but for the price paid something that should not occur.

There is a tiny elevator available but getting to the rooms requires a lot of lifting and carrying of luggage which is a consideration if one is not physically on top of their game. The rooms can also be a bit hard to find, with mine requiring going through two common rooms, an elevator ride, and three hallways to reach.

As mentioned before parking is below the hotel, and you need to have their employee truck your baggage up to the hotel itself. I was a bit surprised that our bags were dumped in front of the hotel entrance with no offer to carry them up to the room. A tip was obviously expected, but we were left to our own to muscle the bags through the tight corridors and common rooms to get to where we were staying.

Now my main complaint. Dinner is included with the room, and you must accept the menu proffered. My best description of the food served would be "cruise ship".. It was good quality, but entirely "safe" for the foreign tourists that frequent the hotel. It was NOT German in any way that I could discern, but rather bland "continental". Nothing was particularly tasty, and nothing could be described as being overly innovative nor obviously seasoned. I was surprised to be served tiny bay shrimp and AVACADO in a mayonnaise over red cabbage in the Rhineland? Really, avacado? The main course was some bland veal medallions and green asparagus with a cream sauce on the side. VERY bland. It seemed that the other guests were quite happy, but I had expected something more along the line of their German menu that they serve to walk in restaurant customers. The restaurant menu seemed very interesting. Their hotel guest menu, not so much. Breakfast was entirely typical and boring.

I would give this hotel 4 stars only because of the rooms, but due to the disappointing food service, and difficulty in moving baggage about, I have settled on 3. Once is enough for me. Some of those I talked with had stayed here dozens of times. I guess for those not quite willing to go "native" this might fill the bill nicely. My taste runs more towards experiencing the local, so I cant imagine visiting here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anrando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
schoenburg, Manager at Castle Hotel Auf Schoenburg, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear Mr. Anrando,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel. We appreciate that you tooked the time to relay, concernung, your stay with us.

We strive to present a perfect experence for our guests and there for we apologise that yours was not.

It is not typical that our guests deliver there baggage to ther rooms be themselves. This was an oversight and we are sorry you were not properly taken care of. We also agree that the above mentioned cobwebs should not been part of your experince with us and we have addressed your complaint with our housekeeping staff.

Concerning our kitchen and menu offerings. It is unfortunite that you had the impression that you were unable to make changes to our included menu. We cater our kitchen for many tastes, preferences and dietary concerns both foreign and domestic. We are always more then happy to make any changes or substitutions concerning our menu of the day.

Best regards

Hermann Hüttl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales, UK
Level Contributor
168 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

First, let's get the two grumbles out of the way. It is very expensive, so you expect perfection.

We arrived by car and parked in the hotel's car park. Having read the Tripadvisor reviews, I knew there was a steep climb to the hotel. However, there was no warning about it on the hotel's web site, nor in their email correspondence with me, and no information on what to do with luggage. There was also no information at the car park. As some reviewers had played down the difficulty of the access, we dragged our bags (with some difficulty - we are aged 71 and 69) up the long and very steep hill to the hotel entrance. There we were told that we should have left the bags in the car and asked them to go and get them. A little late! And we did not appreciate the rather facetious remark that we "had earned our dinner"! May I suggest that the hotel includes a warning about the steep access, and details of their luggage service, on their web site? A notice about it at the car park would also be useful (even better would be a telephone or intercom to contact Reception).

Our room had a view of the Rhine, and we were warned that there might be a noise problem from the trains. There is a railway line along each bank of the Rhine and freight trains run right through the night. The gorge seems to funnel the noise up to the hotel. Open the windows and you get the noise, close the windows and it gets stuffy (even in October - this must be a real problem in the summer). The hotel thoughtfully provides ear plugs (!), but not everyone can tolerate these (and there is a risk of missing your morning call or alarm clock). (The answer, of course, would be air conditioning, but I accept that this might be difficult in a medieval castle.)

Having got the negatives off my chest, this hotel really is fantastic. It is family-run (always a good sign) and the owners clearly take a real pride in their operation. The garden is a delight and should not be missed. Our room (Room 12) had a view of the Rhine and the bathroom had a balcony that overlooked the interior of the castle. The service and facilities were first-class and cannot be faulted. We stayed for four nights and ate in the hotel's restaurant each evening - as the restaurant is open to (and used by) non-residents, I am posting a separate review of it. Suffice to say here that it is excellent.

As I said at the beginning of this review, the hotel is very expensive. However, the running and maintenance costs must be very high. Is it worth paying a premium for staying in a medieval, castle? Definitely. Is it worth paying nearly twice as much as you would in a similar-standard hotel elsewhere? Marginal - hence the slight downgrade in my value-for-money rating. Would I go back? Definitely!

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of the Rhine suffer from train noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ceiniog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
108 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

This place is awesome. If you want to experience a little of how a castle would have felt to live in back in the day, then come here. We had room 33, which is extremely highly recommended. Awesome views of the Rhine in both directions. Staff were excellent, and everything we could have hoped for was available. Amazing breakfast also.

The dinner is part of the package and it was very good. We had no choice being a Monday, but that didn't matter at all, we ate it all up very easily.

We are so glad we picked this place to stay.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bec_and_daz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

The service impeccable. The room amazing, even a hidden room behind a bookcase in ours. Gardens delightful. Taking my parents back for Christmas. If you are able to stay here, do. You must get a taxi up the hill too steep to walk from a train station. Love.

Room Tip: You can chose your room (if available) on their website. Each one is unique.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, Georgia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 November 2013

My husband and I traveled to Germany on our honeymoon. Castle Hotel Auf Schoenburg was in the middle of our trip and by far the priciest place we stayed as we were travelling on a budget. I have to say that we were BLOWN AWAY by this hotel.
It is true that there is no shuttle service from the train station to the hotel, but they are happy to have a taxi waiting for you if you let them know you are arriving by rail. We chose to walk by road, it was quite the hike with luggage that I do not advise unless you are used to such things, and we enjoyed getting in a little exercise after sitting on the train so long.
We arrived an hour before check in and told the front desk attendant, an extremely pleasant young man who spoke immaculate english, that we would be more than happy to sit and wait for the room to be ready so as not to be a bother as we were so early. We were immediately offered water and hot tea or coffee and did not have to wait too long as they finished cleaning our room.
We stayed in one of the tower rooms with views of the river and were blown away by how beautiful not only the view was, but the room itself. The bathroom only had a deep tub and I would be concerned for less agile people getting in and out of it, but we had no issues. On that note, the rose scented bubble bath they provide is divine. We had stayed in a few other non franchised hotels in Germany and were prepared for the lack of individual soaps and shampoos, and by this time had grown accustomed to the all in one soaps most small hotels in Germany provide.
We thought dinner was one of the highlights, you can ask them to bring the courses slowly or quickly depending on your tastes, and the wait staff was delightful. The actual food we had was so amazing and everything was wonderfully prepared.
Afterwards, I would highly recommend taking tea or coffee in the room with the fireplace and enjoying the other guests and the ambiance. You can also get free wifi there.
We had a river view with a balcony but did not experience the discomfort some are reporting of too much noise. Yes, you can hear the trains....but where in Germany can you not? If it is cool and you close the windows you hardly hear them, and the hotel provides ear plugs!
Breakfast was typical of the other hotels we had stayed in, with finer coffee and tea choices. Ask one of the staff if you are the type who absolutely has to have cooked eggs in the morning and they will provide almost anything.
We spent our day in Oberwesel taking the train down to St Goar and hopping on the Rhine river cruise. Very pleasant if a little too long.
My only regret with my stay was that we did it in the middle of our trip and were completely ruined for the rest of our Germany travels. Nothing compared after staying in the beautiful castle!!
We cannot wait to come back and relax again.

Room Tip: Come to relax and enjoy the scenery. Take a hike or a river cruise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We visited this hotel 2 years ago and had a coffee stop on a day driving up both sides of the Rhine River. At the time we said we should stay here on another trip to Germany. This time we did and we were not disappointed. The whole experience was superb. Welcome, room, staff, restaurant, wine, beer, food, and atmosphere were all exceptional

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oberwesel
8.4 mi away
Burg Reichenstein
Burg Reichenstein
#1 of 1 in Trechtingshausen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
3.8 mi away
Romantik Hotel Schloss Rheinfels
11.1 mi away
Bellevue Rheinhotel
Bellevue Rheinhotel
#1 of 19 in Boppard
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Altkolnischer Hof
0.6 mi away
Weinhaus Weiler
Weinhaus Weiler
#2 of 5 in Oberwesel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.9 mi away
Landhotel Zum Kronprinzen
Landhotel Zum Kronprinzen
#3 of 5 in Oberwesel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hotel Auf Schoenburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel Auf Schoenburg

Property: Castle Hotel Auf Schoenburg
Address: Schoenburg, 55430 Oberwesel, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Region: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Oberwesel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Oberwesel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Hotel Auf Schoenburg 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We warmly welcome you to Schönburg Castle in Oberwesel, one of the most romantic and beautiful castle hotels in Germany! Spoil yourselves in our special world of pleasant rest, cultural diversion and culinary delights, - a real vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Castle Hotel Auf Schoenburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Oberwesel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing