We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Freedom Mountian”

The Brocken Train Line
Ranked #4 of 20 things to do in Wernigerode
Type: Rail Tours, Tours
Attraction details
Southend On Sea
Level Contributor
57 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“The Freedom Mountian”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We joined the Brocklen Railway for our narrow-gauge journey to the summit of Brocken, the highest mountain in the Harz region, at over 3,700 feet (1,128m) that is higher than Snowdon in Wales. The journey begins at the pretty town of Wernigerode and the journey takes you through the street before hitting the forest full of pine trees. The journey is about one and a half hours and all the trains are pulled by beautiful gleaming black and red steam engines. The carriages have open front and backs to enable you to stand outside. No health and safety restrictiones in sight.
We wind our way up the mountain and as we approach every road crossing the hotters are sounded and children wave enthusiastically.
The peak of Brocken was a military base which has only been open to the public for a relatively short time = until the fall of the Berlin Wall on the 11th November 1989, the mountain was off limits to all, but the Soviet Army.
A wonderful experience to ride on these steam trains and be close up to them. An even more wonderful experience to visit a mountain that was off limits for so many years.
The views from the top of the Brocken are breathtaking.
When you alight the train pass through the food stalls that are immediately in front of you and proceed to the self-service cafe at the top and visit the museum. Lovely food, good bear and a wonderful panoramic view.
As you can tell we had glorious weather with no wind, sun and blue sky all day.
The fact that the seats are uncomfortable as someone experience only adds to the excitement of the day.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank competenttraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    89
    28
    20
    11
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Verwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Quite an experience!!!”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

My husband loves steam trains and this was no exception even though we had awful weather and a delay of more than an hour because there was no water at Drei Annen - goodness knows why! Hardly any view at the top either but worth the effort for the experience..

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank VerwoodChurchmouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nietap, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“From Schierke by train to the Brocken and walk back.”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We've been to the Brocken before 10 years after the fall of the wall. We did the ride then from Werningerode to the Brocken and back. So as we where in the Harz this year and camped at Schierke we wanted to repeat that good experience.
We did enjoy the ride in the train, but it was very crowded. We had to let the first train pass because off over crowding. The second train was just a bit less crowdy. I had to stand the whole way (half an hour). As we arrived on top the platform was again crowded with more than 2 trainloads of people. On top of the Brocken there also where a lot of people.
All in all it was a bit disappointing. The views are still very good if you look past all the people in the train and on the top.
But if you decide to walk (partially) back down you can still enjoy the beautifull naturee and silence of the mountain.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monmouth
Level Contributor
140 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Trees, trees and more trees”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

The Brocken is a smallish hill/mountain said to be inhabited by witches and made famous by German author Goethe.
The trains are steam trains produced in the mid 1950's.
The carriages are often crowded and I did not find them too comfortable. There are few facilities but there is a loo (of sorts)
The cost is 32 euros.
The scenery en route consists mainly of conifer plantations on both sides of the train but occasionally there is a more open view. Think Goldielocks and the 3 bears, Hansel and Gretel and you won't go far wrong! In fact you might just want to leave a trail because if the train breaks down you are quite a way from habitation.
Other half who is a railway enthusiast was in his element. If Lund 3 hours of trees to be overkill. I didn't appreciate I was heading for 5 hours of trees the next day, but that is another story.
There is little at the top of the Brocken, a cafe and if it is not cloudy you might get a view. Take a jacket, it was chilly inAugust.
I would recommend this trip if
You are a railway enthusiast- you'll be in 7th heaven.
You like pooling around on steam trains.
You R researching the background to fairy tales in Germany/ Europe
You don't have anything better to do
You are happy to invest 32 euros in your return ticket.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lotsofspots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great views”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

This steam train ride up the brocken goes a bit higher than Snowdon, and the weather can be very cold at the top, especially in autumn to spring, with snow on the ground. The views are magnificent, though be warned that the restaurants at the top are pricey - as are the loos! Get a good seat on the train before you get to the station just before the top - that is where the crowds of motorists park and ride to the top. In busy times don't leave it to the last minute to get the train back - it can be crowded. I think it worthwhile travelling from a distant station, just for the sheer pleasure of rattling along this time capsule line.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Brocken Train Line also viewed

Wernigerode, Saxony-Anhalt
Wernigerode, Saxony-Anhalt
 
Wernigerode, Saxony-Anhalt
Wernigerode, Saxony-Anhalt
 

Been to The Brocken Train Line? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing