We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was OK, but probably you can do better...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel & Restaurant Schanzenhaus
Ranked #7 of 34 Hotels in Wernigerode
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I stayed in the hotel for just 1 night, thus my review is only about location and "sleeping" quality. The location is a bit off center, so you have to walk down the hill (and the back up) if you plan to go to center without a car. Also the overview is not the greatest in some rooms, we were looking into a hill (like no view at all). As a "transit" hotel it was OK, but I would definitely look for something closer to city center if I would stay longer.

Rooms are clean and average, nothing to write home about.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ALiEN2108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2012

The hotel is in many ways OK, but it is located a bit far from downtown Wernigerode (about 15 minutes walk). The rooms are very basic and the soap in the shower smells like something that was produced in the GDR. The mattresses are pretty hard. No free coffee in the room, only herbal tea. Dinner in the restaurant is definetely not worth the money - this place desperately needs a visit from Gordon Ramsey :-) Until then, go to downtown Wernigerode for dinner. Breakfast is very good, though. Free wifi, friendly staff and a really nice view.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanDS_DK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

While browsing for a reasonable rate hotel in an interesting historic town in the Harz region of Germany on booking.com (a Priceline-owned service) for the next night this hotel's special rate stood out. A double room with free buffet breakfast, free parking, free Internet in one of Germany's prettiest towns - Wernigerode - for a total cost of what we sometimes paid just for breakfast alone. My guess, this hotel adjusts rates on booking.com to fill rooms that may otherwise stay empty. After checking in and satisfied with the room and view of the Schloss (castle) and the town we quickly booked 3 more nights and later added a fifth night (at a slightly higher weekend rate). While rooms are fairly small as in most German hotels the friendly service and good restaurant made up for it. Internet worked well, Sauna is free but this hotel offers many spa services, such as massages, facials at extra charges. Room had a refrigerator with free soft drinks and coffee maker.
Despite having a Navigator the hotel can be difficult to find due to the maze of many narrow one-way streets in this very old town. Try to study a map or ask for directions in advance.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room with a view of the castle. Some rooms with balconies may be at higher rate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank askjens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Beautiful wellness hotel, wonderful suite overlooking the castle. Large living room and bedroom, nice bathroom and kitchenette. Minibar with complimentary beverages.
Daily cleaning, even dishwashing was done. A fantastic stay, love to visit this place again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gertj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank SvenRu79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Zimmer mit Blick zum Schloss
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rainer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Thorsten M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wernigerode hotels
0.7 mi away
Travel Charme Gothisches Haus
Travel Charme Gothisches Haus
#2 of 34 in Wernigerode
282 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Schlossblick
Hotel Schlossblick
#16 of 34 in Wernigerode
32 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hasseroeder Burghotel
Hasseroeder Burghotel
#5 of 34 in Wernigerode
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Altora
Hotel Altora
#8 of 34 in Wernigerode
121 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ringhotel Weisser Hirsch
Ringhotel Weisser Hirsch
#3 of 34 in Wernigerode
124 reviews
0.9 mi away
Harzer Kultur- & Kongresshotel Wernigerode
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel & Restaurant Schanzenhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Restaurant Schanzenhaus

Address: Zwoelfmorgental 30, 38855 Wernigerode, Saxony-Anhalt, Germany
Region: Germany > Saxony-Anhalt > Wernigerode
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 34 Hotels in Wernigerode
Price Range: £73 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel & Restaurant Schanzenhaus 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel in Wernigerode provides great views of Wernigerode Castle. Guests benefit from free use of the sauna, complimentary hot drinks in the room and free WiFi access throughout the property. All bright rooms and apartments at the Hotel and Restaurant Schanzenhaus were rennovated in 2016 feature a flat-screen TV and a modern bathroom with a hairdryer. Some also include a balcony. Guests can also enjoy free use of the sauna and spa treatments and complimentary hot drinks in the rooms. The Schanzenhaus' restaurant serves traditional dishes from the Harz region. There is also a summer terrace. Guests can keep fit and explore the hiking, cycling and ski routes in the Wernigerode area. The hotel offers guests e-bikes upon request. Free parking is available at Hotel und Restaurant Schanzenhaus. This is our guests' favourite part of Wernigerode, according to independent reviews. This property is also rated for the best value in Wernigerode! Guests are getting more for their money when compared to other properties in this city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel & Restaurant Schanzenhaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing