We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A strange concept at a nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Altwernigeroeder Apparthotel
Ranked #20 of 34 Hotels in Wernigerode
Reviewed 11 August 2013

An apartment hotel where you have a large kitchen, but no cooking equipment, where the hotel breakfast is always included in the package, and where your fridge is occupied by the hotel minibar – how does that make sense? Well, not really. Still, Altwernigeröder Apparthotel was a nice place to stay. The location is great, and the staff was friendly. Our apartment was large, clean and cosy, but in need for a makeover in particular of windows and plumbing. The hotel web-site indicated that air conditioning was available; however this did not apply for the apartments. Some have balconies, but also occasional noise and exhaust from the ground floor restaurants. Talking of which, the hotel restaurant “Kartoffelhaus” candidates as one of the worst we have experienced in Germany, serving a schnitzel and chips well below the standard of frozen ones from Aldi. But then, there are plenty of alternative places to eat and drink.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kaare J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (42)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2013

The hotel is very centrally located - right in the center of the city of Wernigerode - a few steps from the central square - Markt. By the way, the city is fabulous and really beautiful - like a picture.
It's also located near the station of the tourist train, which goes up to the castle.
Receptionist was very welcoming, yet her English is mediocre.
Our rooms were in the newer section of the hotel (112 and 113. Room 112 is for disabled persons).
Rooms were big, clean, modern and comfortable (TV was not too big, though).
You can park at the hotel yard, but it's relatively small and it costs money. We parked there, so don't know how tough it is to find parking outside.
Wi-Fi internet costs 3 euros.
Breakfast was very good: besides the usual, there was a huge selection of hams and cheeses (expensive ones), omelet, eggs, bacon, sausages, yogurts, tasty breads, lots of fruits: 2 kinds of melon, grapes, kiwi, pears and more. You could even squeeze orange juice by yourself. Only thing missing were pastries. A small drawback is the fact that they didn't refill the dishes quickly enough after foods were finished.
All in all - definitely recommended.

Room Tip: We stayed at rooms in the newer hotel wing (112, 113). After seeing some disappointed reviews which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

After reading such good reviews we were really looking forward to our stay at this hotel. Unfortunately it was well below our expectations. Our room was ugly and badly set up. We had to step over the corner of the bed to walk around as it was jammed in against the corner, and although the room came with a kitchenette there was no kettle, plates or cooking implements which really defeats the purpose of providing a kitchen. For 90 euro a night I expect to be able to make a cup of tea! Worst of all was the shower, which varied wildly between warm and scalding without notice. I would not recommend this hotel.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Cuball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

A group of us were visiting the Harz steam railway (a middle aged lads weekend!).

This hotel is convenient for the centre of the town. Our rooms were huge and comfortable and good value

The buffet breakfast could keep you going all day!

The welcome was friendly and efficient given we did not speak much German and the receptionist had only functional English.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steamtrainian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2011

Excellent 2 night stay ~ modern rooms, usefull kitchen area and good food. Lovely shower ~ cant fault it for the money...

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wokkoone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2007

Stayed for 2 nights, called in on the off chance as previous hotels were all booked. Lovely lady on reception and she showed us both of the two rooms that were left and let us take our pick. Very comfy beds, nice bathroom with power shower. The breakfast was excellent lots of choice hot and cold, you could even squeeze your own oranges for fresh juice!Free carparking and just a two minute walk into the town centre. Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mollyrowan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank 378hartmute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wernigerode hotels
0.1 mi away
Travel Charme Gothisches Haus
Travel Charme Gothisches Haus
#2 of 34 in Wernigerode
285 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel & Restaurant Schanzenhaus
0.4 mi away
Hotel Altora
Hotel Altora
#6 of 34 in Wernigerode
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Harzer Kultur- & Kongresshotel Wernigerode
0.4 mi away
Schlossvilla Derenburg
Schlossvilla Derenburg
#27 of 34 in Wernigerode
27 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Schlossblick
Hotel Schlossblick
#14 of 34 in Wernigerode
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altwernigeroeder Apparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altwernigeroeder Apparthotel

Address: Marktstr. 14, 38855 Wernigerode, Saxony-Anhalt, Germany
Region: Germany > Saxony-Anhalt > Wernigerode
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 34 Hotels in Wernigerode
Price Range: £74 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Altwernigeroeder Apparthotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Altwernigeroeder Apparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing