We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Altwernigeroeder Apparthotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Zur Post(Wernigerode)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Schlosspalais(Wernigerode)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Harz(Wernigerode)
View Hotel
Hotel Schlossblick(Wernigerode)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Schlossberg-Hotel(Wernigerode)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (48)
Filter reviews
48 results
Traveller rating
17
19
5
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
17
19
5
5
2
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 48 reviews
Reviewed 21 December 2013

This was a party booking for seven people so there was a selection of rooms from the very large with kitchenettes to the standard two bedded room. All were spotless well appointed and with comfortable [German-style] beds. The breakfast was fabulous the staff were also terriffic and spoke sufficient English to be helpful. As mentioned elsewhere the hotel has expanded and has many different styles of room on varying levels. There is a sauna I belive but none of us used it. Similarly a swimming pool in town.

Two restaurants on site - in addition to breakfast room - Bodega and kartoffelhaus

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davyb1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

An apartment hotel where you have a large kitchen, but no cooking equipment, where the hotel breakfast is always included in the package, and where your fridge is occupied by the hotel minibar – how does that make sense? Well, not really. Still, Altwernigeröder Apparthotel was a nice place to stay. The location is great, and the staff was friendly. Our apartment was large, clean and cosy, but in need for a makeover in particular of windows and plumbing. The hotel web-site indicated that air conditioning was available; however this did not apply for the apartments. Some have balconies, but also occasional noise and exhaust from the ground floor restaurants. Talking of which, the hotel restaurant “Kartoffelhaus” candidates as one of the worst we have experienced in Germany, serving a schnitzel and chips well below the standard of frozen ones from Aldi. But then, there are plenty of alternative places to eat and drink.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kaare J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

The hotel is very centrally located - right in the center of the city of Wernigerode - a few steps from the central square - Markt. By the way, the city is fabulous and really beautiful - like a picture.
It's also located near the station of the tourist train, which goes up to the castle.
Receptionist was very welcoming, yet her English is mediocre.
Our rooms were in the newer section of the hotel (112 and 113. Room 112 is for disabled persons).
Rooms were big, clean, modern and comfortable (TV was not too big, though).
You can park at the hotel yard, but it's relatively small and it costs money. We parked there, so don't know how tough it is to find parking outside.
Wi-Fi internet costs 3 euros.
Breakfast was very good: besides the usual, there was a huge selection of hams and cheeses (expensive ones), omelet, eggs, bacon, sausages, yogurts, tasty breads, lots of fruits: 2 kinds of melon, grapes, kiwi, pears and more. You could even squeeze orange juice by yourself. Only thing missing were pastries. A small drawback is the fact that they didn't refill the dishes quickly enough after foods were finished.
All in all - definitely recommended.

Room Tip: We stayed at rooms in the newer hotel wing (112, 113). After seeing some disappointed reviews which claimed rooms were bad, we suggest making sure you're booking a room in the newer wing. Room 112 is fit for disabled persons.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

After reading such good reviews we were really looking forward to our stay at this hotel. Unfortunately it was well below our expectations. Our room was ugly and badly set up. We had to step over the corner of the bed to walk around as it was jammed in against the corner, and although the room came with a kitchenette there was no kettle, plates or cooking implements which really defeats the purpose of providing a kitchen. For 90 euro a night I expect to be able to make a cup of tea! Worst of all was the shower, which varied wildly between warm and scalding without notice. I would not recommend this hotel.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Cuball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

A group of us were visiting the Harz steam railway (a middle aged lads weekend!).

This hotel is convenient for the centre of the town. Our rooms were huge and comfortable and good value

The buffet breakfast could keep you going all day!

The welcome was friendly and efficient given we did not speak much German and the receptionist had only functional English.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steamtrainian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews