We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I will stay again.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alt Wernigeroder Hof
Ranked #5 of 34 Hotels in Wernigerode
Certificate of Excellence
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“I will stay again.”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Very comfortable stay in the Hotel Alt Wernigeröder Hof. Large and clean room, in a quiet place, only 200 m. from the main square where the beautiful Town hall, the market, and the old town with the romantic houses. Only 5 min. from the train station. The staff of the Hotel was very polite too. Large breakfast! Generally my stay in the Hotel Alt Wernigeröder Hof, completed my very nice stay in Wernigerode. I advise to stay in that Hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: I believe that the stay in any room is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgiosP33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    25
    9
    3
    0
See reviews for
17
31
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Recently spent two nights at this hotel. The staff was very friendly and parking was free and easy which was ideal, as once you're there, you don't need to drive to any of the attractions. The breakfast is among the best I've had at a hotel. It was so good we were surprised it was included in the price of our room. The breakfast alone is a reason to stay here. However, the smell of stale smoke hits you the second you walk into the hotel. We were in a non-smoking room, but because staff smoke in the lobby area, there's no way to avoid having it seep into the rooms, too. Other than that, the rooms were clean.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eekmoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We stayed here for 4 days, and loved it.

The staff here are extremely friendly and helpful - nothing was too much trouble for them.

In particular, I had left my camera in a rental car in Munich, and thanks to the hotel, it was returned to me very quickly and they didn't even want me to pay for expenses!

The breakfasts were excellent with a huge range of food to choose from - plenty of fresh fruit, beautiful rolls and bread, salamis, cheese, eggs..... really something to suit everyone.

Our bedrooms were light and airy, well furnished and plenty of storage, and the beds were very comfortable. And we even had fresh fruit provided to the room every day. And of course free wifi.

The foyer often smelled strongly of cigarettes, but there was no trace of this in the bedrooms.

The lovely old town is only a very short walk away, as is the main station (mainline and narrow-gauge steam trains).

All in all, a really nice hotel which was great value.

Room Tip: Quite a lot of traffic passes so request a quiet room at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Arrived by car from UK for a two night stay and although there is limited parking at the hotel an off-street car park is about 100 yards away. The location is in a quiet part of town but is only a few minutes walk away from the mainstreets of town and in the other direction only a few minutes walk to the HSB narrow guage railway (which is why we there). Breakfast is impressive in the range and options provided that were frequently being refreshed. No evening meals are available.
Staff very friendly and helpfull
En-suite room was on floor 8 and was larger than many hotels. Attention to detail included a bowl of fresh fruit - which was also on the room cleaners checklist og "things to do"
This hotel had been recommended by a number of friends who have previously stopped there at different times of the year across a number of years.

Wernigerode restaurants are mainly "cash only"

Room Tip: We were on floor 8 to the rear looking towards the Railway. There was no noise at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chriswBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
253 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Stayed here Feb 2013 and wrote previous review based on stays each winter from 2008. All the good points still apply especially the superb breakfast spread. Staff continue to be helpful. They sorted out our third-party on-line booking where "Last room available" icons prevented us getting three rooms the same, thereby saving us about 50 Euros. We happily settled for three single rooms.

The town itself is still 'very German' and full of German tourists who go to bed early! We booked dinner in a restaurant we have used before for 8pm and all the other guests had left by 9pm! Not much English spoken.

Hotel is ideal for visit to HSB railway; mainline and HSB stations are less than 10 minutes away.

Room Tip: The town is very quiet in the winter. Another reviewer suggests ground floor rooms very noisy and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
253 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2011

We have stayed here each winter 2008-onwards. Modest public areas upstairs hide the superb lower ground floor breakfast room; a spread of food the like of which rarely seen in 5* hotels never mind more modest ones. Really great start to the day. We use this hotel as a base to visit the nearby HSB railway climbing up into the Harz Mountains. Railway can be seen from some rooms. Excellent fruit display in rooms and super beds/linen. No room kettles for Brits though! Staff can speak English and will mind luggage free on day of departure. 10 minute walk to busy restaurants in centre of town but these may not be welcoming if you have not pre-booked. Some are formal compared with eateries in Berlin and the big cities. Walking into town from hotel there is a Lowenbrau-branded pub/restaurant near town taxi rank - recommended but not for fast service (who needs to hurry?). Some shops open on Sunday and after 5 weekdays. Feels like a tourist area for Germans and English is not widely spoken we found. This hotel can recommend restaurants though. Intend to go back.

Room Tip: All are acceptable. Some have views of HSB railway in the distance and some of the dramatic town ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
221 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2011

We only stayed in this hotel because it was found for us by the owner of another hotel where we had been double-booked and there were no rooms available. We arrived on the Saturday of a German National Holiday Weekend and this hotel was also almost fully booked with the result that the room we got was probably in the worst location in the whole hotel, and would probably not be used except as a last resort. It was a corner room at the junction of 2 busy streets on the ground floor. This meant there was noise from revellers until late, and there was street noise virtually all night and certainly starting with street cleaners, bin men and buses and coaches from very early in the morning.

In all other respects the hotel was very good.

The room itself was large with a good well-equipped bathroom and internally was completely satisfactory, though no free wi-fi. The fresh fruit in the bowl every day as well as chocolates was a nice touch.

The breakfast was extensive and excellent with good warm and cold buffet choices,

Service was pleasant and friendly.

The location is very convenient for both the station (important to us) and the old town, being midway between them. It is also convenient for a small Lidl Supermarket which we also found useful as we were travelling by train and needed to obtain snacks and drinks for use while travelling.

But for the noise we would have been totally satisfied with the hotel, and in the circumstances we were grateful for any room at all. In normal circumstances I am sure that guests could obtain a much quieter room and would be able to give it a higher rating than I have done.

Room Tip: Don't get a corner room and preferably get one on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Silvertravelsurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wernigerode hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Altora
Hotel Altora
#4 of 34 in Wernigerode
111 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travel Charme Gothisches Haus
Travel Charme Gothisches Haus
#2 of 34 in Wernigerode
267 reviews
0.0 mi away
Harzer Kultur- & Kongresshotel Wernigerode
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ringhotel Weisser Hirsch
Ringhotel Weisser Hirsch
#3 of 34 in Wernigerode
113 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hasseroeder Burghotel
Hasseroeder Burghotel
#7 of 34 in Wernigerode
22 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel & Restaurant Schanzenhaus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alt Wernigeroder Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alt Wernigeroder Hof

Property: Alt Wernigeroder Hof
Address: Pfarrstr. 50a, 38855 Wernigerode, Saxony-Anhalt, Germany
Region: Germany > Saxony-Anhalt > Wernigerode
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 34 Hotels in Wernigerode
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Alt Wernigeroder Hof 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Alt Wernigeroder Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing