We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”
Review of Europa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Europa
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Kehl
Reviewed 21 November 2013

On our way back from Switzerland to UK, we spent one night in Europa hotel in Kehl, Germany. Kehl is a small border town very close to River Rhine and Strasbourg, France on the other side of the river.

When we arrived at the hotel we were very pleased with our choice. The front lobby was nice and inviting. The reception was friendly. We asked for a non-smoking room. Unfortunately the room they allocated us was full of smoking smell. Initially the guy at the reception didn’t believe what I was saying as the hotel has non-smoking policy. At the end he allocated another room which was very nice and free from smoking smell. Our room was spacious and the bathroom was absolutely lovely. The room had lots of useful amenities. They also provided welcome ‘mineral water’ for booking online; very nice.

There aren’t too many restaurants nearby. The town centre is very small and didn’t see many dining opportunities. There is a McDonald and a Chinese restaurant close to the hotel. The quality and the quantity of food served at the Chinese restaurant were fantastic, although the restaurant itself wasn’t nice to look at.
The hotel has a bar and a restaurant but we didn’t use the facility.

The hotel provides lovely and plentiful breakfast. We have travelled so many places and the breakfast at this hotel was probably the best. If you stay at this hotel then the breakfast will win-over if not anything else.

Would I recommend? A big Yes.

I have given 4* just because the first room had smoking smell and the hassle I had to take to change the room.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sidwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (64)
There are newer reviews for Europa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

Very clean, soundpruff windows, reach buffet breakfast (no additional payment needed), friendly staff.jyat 7 minutes walk to HbahnHoff and houptstrasse...for a reasonable price!!! Recomended! Next time will book it again for sure.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
Thank Mazuratti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Having driven across France in five and one half hours, for obvious reasons, it was enjoyable to come back to the Europa. The single rooms are small, as in most German hotels, but this is the cleanest room I have even stayed in. Great service at the desk, greated with a bottle of mineral water, for example, and a fantastic breakfast: continental or English, it's all there.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ACRector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2012

We stayed at this hotel as part of a group. We were allocated a ground floor room which we were told had just been refurbished. The bedroom was clean but basic, but the bathroom was a disgrace. There were chipped tiles on the wall and it was totally antiquated. The extraction fan on the wall did not work and when we tried to open the vents, we were showered with bits of plaster! The washbasin leaked and the taps were ancient. When we complained about the extraction fan, the manager sent a plumber to investigate. He tried to rectify the problem but the bathroom needed a complete refurbishment. We found the staff in the hotel to be friendly and the breakfast buffet was good. It's just a shame the accommodation was well below a 3* hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room (and bathroom) that has been refurbished.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret187062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

I stayed here with my brother. We had a room with our own bathroom. It was in walking distance of the railway station with good connections and the area. The staff was friendly and helpfull. We got a welcome drink and there was a great breakfast buffet included. For other meals there are several options nearby. We found the value very good for the price. We certainly would consider staying in this hotel again

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise15101970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

we enjoyed our few days here.......the staff at reception were fantastic...we needed to leave very early in the morning to the train at strasbourg and they arranged everything for us. thanks to Peter he was terrific.....very clean room.....it can be a little noisy at night. the breakfast is fantastic with anything you could want.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maz670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

This hotel is located at the Pont de L'Europe on one of the main roads into Strasbourg from Germany, and therefore very convenient for travellers, but less so for visitors to Strasbourg as it is some distance from the centre. It has recently been refurbished and although the rooms are a little on the small side they are very pleasant and clean with good beds, and are perfectly adequate for a 1-2 night stay. Despite being on a main road there is no noise problem. The staff are very friendly and helpful, and breakfast is adequate. The hotel has its own free car park, although this is a bit rough and not secure, although the hotel says there have been no problems. The Rhine is just a short walk away and on both banks there has been a lot of development and improvement in recent years, making a visit well worthwhile. There is MacDonalds near the hotel, and a little further along Villa Schmidt on the banks of the Rhine is a great place for an evening meal. Highly recommended and very good value.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daylesfordians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kehl
0.3 mi away
Ates Hotel Garni
Ates Hotel Garni
#4 of 14 in Kehl
76 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Grieshabers Rebstock
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rosengarten
Hotel Rosengarten
#7 of 14 in Kehl
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel Landgasthof Schwanen
2.7 mi away
Hotel Hirsch
Hotel Hirsch
#5 of 14 in Kehl
54 reviews
3.0 mi away
Mercure Strasbourg Palais des Congres
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Europa

Address: Strassburger Str. 9, 77694 Kehl, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Kehl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Kehl
Price Range: £66 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Europa 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing