We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A typical motel. But the good one.”
Review of City Motel Soest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
City Motel Soest
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Soest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2014

One night at this motel on our way through Germany was quite nice.
Automatic check-in, spacious parking, basic but comfortable facilities. Our rooms were warm and clean.
Soest remarkable and tranquille town centre is about 10 minutes walk. There are a couple of really excellent german breweries and restaurants.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Denis-from-Fulham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (70)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2013

Modern, clean, easy to find by car, can park right at front door, very easy if you have luggage, best of all great price. We stayed in a triple room,not overly roomy but adequate, we had stayed in a lot more cramped rooms for twice the price. Good restaurants only a short walk away. We drove accross 11 countries and stayed in 43 hotels , this hotel was the winner of the trip for best value for money and a very pleasant suprize.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay here, good location, and quick and easy electronic check in. Then modern, functional and very clean rooms. Bathrooms were spotless and had a lovely large hot and powerful shower.
All in all, Excellent value and a good nights rest.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

While certainly a no frills experience, the City Motel in Soest was a great place to stay the night - clean, modern and comfortable and absolutely amazing value for money. The place is obviously very new and everything was in top condition. It looked well made though and hopefully will stand the test of time.

The location is on the edge of the inner part of the beautiful town of Soest, right next to the railway station. It was a 5-10 minute walk to go right into the middle of Soest and was a pleasant way to go among the half-timbered buildings. While pretty though, I'd suggest taking a map as the roads are quite higgledy-piggledy!

The hotel itself is a u-shaped building tucked away rather unceremoniously at the back of a car park, it has camper van slots and free parking spaces to one side. The layout is then two floors around a small central plaza. The rooms open right off the plaza (there's no corridor), we were in the front room and it felt a little exposed with the door opening directly into the car park. At the front of the building is a small room that functions as reception - although the hotel has no desk staff. Check-in is via a small machine in the reception, but it worked smoothly and quickly. There was also a selection of vending machines in this little room that had (for a hotel) ridiculously well priced items (more-or-less like any corner shop). This included the excellent local Warsteiner beer ;)

The room itself was very spacious for the price (45 euros for the night) and was decorated brightly and in a nice modern style. There was a small bench along one side and two single beds pushed together to form the double bed. There was also a small clothes rail/coatrack and a nice flat screen television. Basic for sure, but spotlessly clean, modern and stylish. Free wi-fi was also included, which was a plus for a budget hotel. The bathroom was also surprisingly spacious, stylish and well-fitted. It had a decent shower, nice sink and toilet and some basic shower gel was provided. Towels were also provided, making it yet another step up on a hostel experience.

All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the City Motel Soest and couldn't think of another time we'd had such good value accommodation. While it is basic, it's a fully functional, modern and spotlessly clean place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ECTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

This hotel is for the minimalist. If you are the type who wants to speak with the receptionists all the time, this is not the place for you. There are no receptionists in sight. You will have to check in with an Automat-a machine: I call it check in with full privacy. You can reach the reception by sending sms or calling them as posted at the back of the door of your room. They would even tell you how to use the wi fi by sms. I didn't see the information on their door so I sent them sms. I got an answer in less than 5 minutes. I'm impressed with the service.

There are two floors. My room: 34-- offers a nice view of the stairs and the street.
It is accessible with the C7 bus from Bahnhof. The Haltestelle is Marienkrankenhaus.

My room is very clean, with wood parquet, a luggage rack, a nice wooden cabinet for hanging clothes, a wooden table by the window, dark lime paint and some nice frames of nature, a Sony flat screen television, a bed with a soft mattress and a bedside lamp. There's a PH shampoo and body wash.

Die Zimmermaedchen=Cleaning lady is very pro active.
She was able to anticipate what I need by offering me fresh towels when I didn't want her to clean my room.

I would highly recommend this motel. It is still so new and beautiful.

Room Tip: Pick rooms on the second floor if you do not have big luggages. There are no elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Rain028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Heidi Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Linnea K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soest
0.8 mi away
Hotel am Wall
Hotel am Wall
#5 of 6 in Soest
109 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Stadt Soest
Hotel Stadt Soest
#3 of 6 in Soest
31 reviews
2.6 mi away
Maritim Hotel Schnitterhof
Maritim Hotel Schnitterhof
#1 of 6 in Bad Sassendorf
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant Haus Gellermann
1.6 mi away
Hanse Hotel Soest
Hanse Hotel Soest
#6 of 6 in Soest
32 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Domhof
Hotel Domhof
#4 of 6 in Soest
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Motel Soest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Motel Soest

Address: Altes Stellwerk 9, 59494 Soest, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Soest
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Soest
Price Range: £33 - £53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — City Motel Soest 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your City Motel Soest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing