We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful boutique hotel in village in the heart of the black forest”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hinterzarten
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Erfurths Bergfried Ferien & Wellnesshotel
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Hinterzarten
Certificate of Excellence
NSW
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“beautiful boutique hotel in village in the heart of the black forest”
Reviewed 6 June 2012

If you want to spoil yourself while on a black forest holiday go no further than a few nights stay in this hotel. The rooms are huge, the service impeccable, great view, everything is there as you would need it including mud room for your ski gear or walking gear in summer. Take advantage of the half board where your breakfast is full compliment and dinner is 5 courses. The somalier will spoil you with a choice of wines to compliment your meals. Just fantastic. Music in the lounge after dinner. The spa is truly exquisite.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank only1kadee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    23
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
16
123
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
69 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

As a splurge during our recent holiday to Germany, we decided to book this room for 3 nights (half board) and were amazed at the comforts provided. From the personal steam/sauna in the bathroom area, to the little sun patio off the bedroom, we felt very pampered. We were just steps away from the indoor pool and spa area of the hotel, which we used every afternoon as well. It was heavenly after busy days of touring. These spa rooms are on the very lower level though--- which is ground level at the back of the property--- so there is less privacy and view than the upper level balcony rooms might offer, if you are choosing with that consideration in mind.

The Bergfried Hotel is just outside of the busiest part of Hinterzarten, but is still part of the town, which means parking is at a premium, though its position is perfect for walks to the nearby hills, into town, or the train station. The design of the hotel with the pool and spa area in the lowest level, and the main floor of the hotel being slightly below ground level, makes full use of the available footage and every floor feels very spacious. There is a casual, but elegant, feel to the entire hotel and it hits a perfect note for the Black Forest location.

Dining tables were assigned according to the room number, and we enjoyed the cheery colour combinations of yellow and red throughout the dining room. The breakfast buffet was quite extensive with a wide array of cheeses, meats, yogurts, cereal, juices and fruits, and a personal cooked breakfast was available too if desired. Staff and owners alike were always very busy refreshing platters and pitchers, and making sure everything was spotless in the buffet area.

Choosing your dinner menu at breakfast from 3 different combinations was interesting, and we were always extremely pleased with the appetizers, soups, entrees and desserts. Assortments of Italian and French cheeses (respective of the menu themes) were comprehensive and interesting. The wine list, and the sommelier's advice, were excellent, and we enjoyed interesting Baden wines during our stay. Service was attentive and knowledgeable, and everyone was very patient with those of us who were English speaking guests---I believe we were the only ones during our stay.

As mentioned, most of the guests were over 50 years of age, and Hotel Bergfried is a very quiet property. For us this was perfect, and the location was great for exploring---- to Lake Titisee, Sankt Blasien, the waterfall near Todtnau, Freiburg for the marketplace and cathedral, and for the wonderful drive between Sankt Peter, Sankt Margen and Hinterzarten. Gorgeous countryside and forest! A wonderful hotel from which to enjoy them all.....

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tobie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Very friendly, the owners seem to have a lot of involvement and are very active in hotel throughout the day. Check in was excellent, bags taken, fizzy local wine on the bar balcony. Room was good, very clean, comfortable with a nice balcony. English spoken but other than evening menu not written in hotel, we may have missed out on things in hotel guide. All inclusive price, perhaps a little expensive but a good 5 course meal in all. Breakfast good, eggs cooked to order. Spa area was large and quiet so could relax, enjoyed a sun bathe in the garden afterwards. Hinterzarte nice, a small place but with soe good little places to eat and drink. Took a walk to Lake Tittisee which was a good place to visit. Overall a nice hotel, very much had the feel that it was aimed at the older, German market however. For the price would perhaps choose somewhere different if doing it again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bristolkevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sion, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
271 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2011

This is a very good 4 stars superior hotel. Our Glottertal room measured 42m2 and was fantastic: nice equipment, large space, italian shower (but no bath), wonderful balcony with an open and beautiful view.
At breakfast you can choose between 3 different types of meals (vegeterian, sporty and typical german) for the evening and all of them offer 6 different courses. No problem if you want to combine between the 3 types of meals, you are just adviced to mention it when you order in the morning. The food's quality was good, but sometimes unequal. Wine's prices are reasonable.
We didn't use the swimming pool and the spa either. Nevertheless, they seem to fulfil the expectations. The beauty & treatments area, however, could be more modern.
The setting is great, perfectly remote in a quite area in Hinterzarten directly on the forest's walking paths.
All in all the quality of the service makes the difference. We were well and kindly served all the time, which we very appreciated. The attention to detail in the service and the elegance of decor throughout will particularly impress all the guests.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Olympicchampion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantham England
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2011

This really is a great hotel, located in a quite location in a cul-de-sac. The meals for evening dinner are 7 courses long and are of a very high standard, you choose your evening meal at breakfast, there are 3 types of meals to choose from...standard german type, healthy vitamin and vegetarian, you can interchange these as required. Being vegetarian I found no problem with the food availability.
The hotel gives you a guestcard on arrival and this gives you free travel on the buses and train network....I've never been on the train so much and Freiburg, half hour away is a great day out, market day on Tuesday.
All in all this was a great holiday, we took our car across and stopped overnight in France in one of the Etap hotels.
We normally go to Austria, but this area of the Black Forest is on par with Austria and a little bit cheaper.
By the way, we caught the train to Basel and our first stop was McDonalds....2x milk shakes £9 !!!!!! , we caught the next train back!!!! Switzerland is very expensive.
The hotel is very german oriantated and it does help to speak and understand a little german although the staff can help out with translation.
If you need anymore info then please send me a email

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChrisGranthamEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2010

Very excellent hotel , kind services,good SPA and best Service.
Familiar atmosphere and the owner and his spouse are very very kind people.
Best for relaxing with no noise and excellent restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lemanmedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2009

Without doubt this hotel has the very best setting in this gorgeous small Black Forest town. It is situated on a quiet cul de sac about a ten-minute leisurely stroll from the centre, and one hears absolutely no noise at night. The views over the valley to the Kurpark are exquisite, and there are innumerable wonderful walks directly from the doorstep. The Hinterzarten area is a paradise for walking and is one of the most refined and attractive parts of the Black Forest. All visitors to the hotel receive a travel card, which permits free local travel, and the train-ride down to Freiburg (30 minutes) is an absolute delight not to be missed.

The setting is not the only striking feature of this hotel. What impresses you most of all is the attention to detail in the service and the elegance of decor throughout. The dining rooms, lounges, all the bedrooms are superb in quality and cleanliness. There is terrific choice of bedroom styles and sizes at a range of prices, and all are equipped and maintained to the very highest quality.

The family owners are constantly available and attentive, which is what gives this hotel its stellar quality, and have developed a wonderfully attentive, courteous and professional team of staff throughout the hotel. Nothing is too much for them. The rooms are equipped with all sorts of little thoughtful extras like rucksacks, umbrellas, walking sticks, as well as bathrobes, slippers and your basket of towels to take down to the spa and pool area.

We could drool for hours about our many visits here; about the plentiful and varied breakfasts, the delightful haute cuisine of the dinners (choices selected at breakfast time, since everything is cooked freshly), the excellent wines, and not to mention a superb spa and swimming pool area, garden and selection of massage treatments.

Suffice it to say that we have returned here twice (and sometimes three times) every year since 1992, because it really is 'simply the best' in Hinterzarten and the Black Forest. We are welcomed each time incredibly warmly by the family and staff, and would always choose this charming, superbly appointed, yet wonderfully warm and welcoming 'home from home' whenever we visit this fabulous part of Germany.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jappal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hinterzarten
0.3 mi away
Parkhotel Adler
Parkhotel Adler
#1 of 16 in Hinterzarten
319 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Reppert
Hotel Reppert
#3 of 16 in Hinterzarten
161 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Thomahof
Hotel Thomahof
#6 of 16 in Hinterzarten
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Boutique-Hotel Alemannenhof
Boutique-Hotel Alemannenhof
#3 of 20 in Titisee-Neustadt
292 reviews
6.2 mi away
Vier Jahreszeiten am Schluchsee
2.0 mi away
Best Western Hotel Hofgut Sternen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Erfurths Bergfried Ferien & Wellnesshotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Erfurths Bergfried Ferien & Wellnesshotel

Property: Erfurths Bergfried Ferien & Wellnesshotel
Address: Sickinger Strasse 28, 79856 Hinterzarten, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Hinterzarten
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Hinterzarten
Hotel Class:4 star — Erfurths Bergfried Ferien & Wellnesshotel 4*
Number of rooms: 43

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing