We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Immaculate hotel”
Review of Hotel Thomahof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Thomahof
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Hinterzarten
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Immaculate hotel”
Reviewed 8 June 2013

We only stayed one night which was actually fortunate for us as the weather was just dreadful (torrential and persistent rain and very very cold).

This is possibly the best kept and cleanest hotel I've ever stayed in. It was plush and luxurious but in a unique and 'homey' way rather than the generic big hotel-chain way. The staff were all lovely and went out of their way to be helpful, and took the time to chat if you are that way inclined.

We had booked B&B but were given the option of upgrading to halfboard to include a 5 course dinner for 11Euro p/p! ELEVEN!! The food was perhaps slightly strange/unusual for my taste (I remember the starter was sausage meat with 'chinese' flavours deep fried in filo pastry, served with guacamole and indiany-style tomato relish, and one of the main courses was tuna served with cous-cous, and the cous-cous was again wrapped in filo pastry/wonton wrappers and deep fried). There was a big salad bar, a lovely selection of local cheeses. Despite the strange combinations, it was a very good meal.

Breakfast was excellent with a very large selection. We were assigned a table at dinner the first night and you have to keep the same table for the duration of your stay which I have never seen in a hotel before. It seemed to prompt conversation between tables though, which was quite nice. We had the feeling that the other guests all might have been regular because all activity seemed to stop as we entered (and it is very quiet in there) and everyone seemed to watch our progress across the restaurant. The owner came to each table during dinner to say hello, and knew each of her guests individually (including us).

Our room was a large 'L' shaped room so felt like a suite. The bathroom was very high end and looked either brand new or amazingly well maintained. We had a big balcony with comfy looking chairs that we probably would have used if it hadn't been such awful weather.

There are two car-parks available immediately next to and opposite the hotel.

All in all a great stay in a beautiful hotel, even if we were the youngest people there by about 30 years! We look forward to going back there in the hopes of having weather that means we can actually see out of the windows...

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BornToSleep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    26
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
53
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2013

Just got back after a 5 day stay at the Thomahof directed by Rita Thoma and her son Jürgen.
I could say "same procdure as the past 4 years wheren I spent one of the most relaxing holidays of the year in Black Forest. I will return there for sure as I just like the location as well as the Hotel.

The Hotel is just perfect for a relaxing Holiday with excellent cuisine. I travelled with my wife an had booked half board. Breakfast is fantastic an dinner - 5 courses - is served in a cosy restaurant which suits everyone expectations. You just can choose your dinner from a proposal at breakfast tinme an you are served in en extreme professional way in less than an hour if you want. The food an the wine selections just fitted our means an for sure I will return to this extreme good lead hotel.

The wellness area has a quite well sized pool to swim an several saunas which are not all reserved to nudism. So be careful to bring swimwear in order to avoid shocking elder ladies
The Hotel itself is very quiet and just perfect for a short take off .
A slight repair on a tap in the bathroom was made shortly after my demand. The staff was very kind an helped us to get rid of the 80 cm of snow on the car
Only blackspot - which turned out to be a positive one - is the non-working Wifi Internet connection in the room. This forced me to check out my mails in the bar next to the reception, have a cup of coffee in the same time . Positive in the way that I was kept away from my professional mails at daytime an did not have to worry about the job.

To the owners : Keep on in the same direction.

I will certainly return to your excellent house - for sure.

Room Tip: I don't wan't to get a tip in order to prevent somebody else from booking one of my favourit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jake_Worf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Love, love, love this hotel! The town is a picture perfect postcard. If you want to escape the chaos of this ever shrinking world, come here to find peace, relaxation and endless trails for hiking and biking. Hotel Thomahof is family-owned and operated (mother and son). They have a very friendly, well-trained staff and a beautiful, organized facility (rooms, spa, restaurant, bar) with much attention paid to detail. I felt at home and cared-for by everyone...owners, wait and reception staffs and even the maids. We left money for the maid each day...she wouldn't touch it unless we were there and told her it was for her.

I travelled with my 81-year-old mother and old family friends who go to Hotel Thomahof twice a year...I can certainly understand why. I hope to go back with my husband and another couple so that we can really explore the area.

The only reason I didn't give this hotel five stars is because they don't take credit cards...well, they will, but they charge you 1-2% of the total bill.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KCKlein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Attard, Malta
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Stayed at the hotel in August 2012 with my wife for the honeymoon.

The village, the people, the atmosphere are all amazingly nice.
Hotel Thomahof is the ideal place to go if you want a real relaxation and to experience the black forest way of life.
Also if you want a romantic background this hotel is a must.
But that's not all; the food,and all the staff are fantastic!
The only drawback was that there was no air conditioning.
Overall I rate this hotel very highly, well done :)

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ramsej84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Staying in this hotel is like staying in an age where noise and cars and railways and aeroplanes did not exist yet. It is probably one of the best places to rest one's body and soul! Beautiful rooms, fantastic food, very pleasant staff and a wellness area which is simply grandiose!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SydneyPierrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2011

Hinterzarten was a surprising gem of a place to be based in the region and the staff, food and surroundings of Hotel Thomahof were all excellent We had easy access to Titisee and Schluchsee but came home to a wonderfully relaxing hotel and village. I ended up liking Hinterzarten far better than either of the more touristy lake towns. We booked a spa package with half board and it was very relaxing. The pros--The food was excellent (we truly dined) and the service in the hotel and restaurant was very personal. The staff really went out of their way to make you feel at home. The hiking and biking trails were also very abundant, nice and just outside the hotel's door and had all levels. I enjoyed several beautiful hikes and jogs and had plenty of routes to choose from.

Cons--I would not recommend the massages unless you like a very soft touch. I got the impression that the women giving the massage mostly does facials. She was very nice and certainly very service-oriented but for anyone used to more muscle relaxing massages, don't get them here. The only other con is that it was advertised that all rooms had wifi and the room we were in didn't hold cell calls or internet so I had to go down to the lobby whenever I wanted to use my internet or call home. Not a big deal since I really only checked in once a day and had expressly gone there to relax and unplug.

i'd gladly go back and try this place again during cross-country season as the area is peaceful and gorgeous.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moomkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hinterzarten
0.2 mi away
Parkhotel Adler
Parkhotel Adler
#1 of 16 in Hinterzarten
324 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Reppert
Hotel Reppert
#3 of 16 in Hinterzarten
164 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Schwarzwaldhof
Hotel Schwarzwaldhof
#6 of 16 in Hinterzarten
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Boutique-Hotel Alemannenhof
Boutique-Hotel Alemannenhof
#3 of 20 in Titisee-Neustadt
297 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Saigerhoeh
Hotel Saigerhoeh
#2 of 10 in Lenzkirch
194 reviews
1.9 mi away
Brugger's Hotelpark am See
Brugger's Hotelpark am See
#5 of 20 in Titisee-Neustadt
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Thomahof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Thomahof

Property: Hotel Thomahof
Address: Erlenbrucker Str. 16, 79856 Hinterzarten, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Hinterzarten
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Hinterzarten
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Thomahof 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Thomahof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing