We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very recommendable restaurant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waldhotel Fehrenbach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Waldhotel Fehrenbach
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Hinterzarten
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Very recommendable restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

Nice restaurant a bit outside of Hinterzarten. The food was nice and the service was outstanding. This restaurant is a bit pricier than the average restaurant in the area, but well worth it. You should bring some time, as preparation is not the fastest.

The restaurant has plenty of space inside and also some seating outside. Note that only two tables have sunshades.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pam89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    19
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
11
31
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013 via mobile

This small hotel is a welcome respite away from the madding crowd, no shops or cafes nearby. What bliss, we could feel ourselves relaxing after an hour of arriving. Beautiful scenery, clean rooms & great service. Josef the owner & our host went out of his way for us. It is important to know that he is also a great chef, we had fantastic dinners in his restaurant. Take your walking shoes if you like a walk there are many great tracks to take.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank frenchcutlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2013 via mobile

Good place to stay if driving the route 500(Black Forest drive). Only 28kms to Freiburg. Lots of walking to do. The hotel is privately run by owner chef. He goes great lengths to welcome you. He is the chef and tries to source his produce from local areas. His is innovative in his cooking. Worth coming for the food.
Good place if you want a country feel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2012

We booked on line from far away Australia to experience a White Christmas but got a green one. However, the experience of staying with Joseph Fehrenbach, the ever smiling and engaging host, has exceeded our expectations! A perfect secluded, romantic location not far from the pretty village of Hinterzarten, personalised, friendly service, a creative cuisine out of this world using local products. No wonder Gault & Millault rates this place with a 14 out of 20! The room with balcony was cosy and clean. Value for money - excellent.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MAGICMTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stillwater, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

This is certainly not a “convenient” place; but if you want a Black Forest hotel in a secluded and scenic area, this is it! Plus: excellent half-board meals and a very friendly staff. Our big mistake is that we allocated only two nights for this hotel. We very much hope to be able to return.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 3u2a1L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

My partner and I stayed at Waldhotel Fehrenbach on the 9th September. We picked it because we wanted to stay somewhere inside the black forest, but not in the middle of a town, or in a modern holiday concrete bunker.
Our hosts were absolutely amazing. The hotel itself was lovely, our room was quite large. It had a couch and TV in one half, almost like a small lounge, away from the bedroom. The balcony outside was lovely to sit and watch the sunset from.
Unfortunately, I arrived with a fairly bad case of heat stroke. When the hotel staff found out, they arranged for me to have some chicken soup, and cooked a meal for me that they thought would help the healing process. Afterwards they even brought some herbal tea to us. All of this was in our room, which is unusual as the hotel does not do room service, but you can eat in their restaurant. The food was lovely.
The only "negative" if I was asked to come up with one, is sometimes the goats in the paddock opposite clanged the bells around their neck too loud. Yes, I'm joking with that one.
The owner even came to see us out the next day to see if I was feeling better. The next time I return to the black forest, I'll be sure to return here.

Room Tip: Ask for one on the top level, if you don't mind getting suitcases up and down the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirk S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

I and my parents spent 2 nights here. Great location up from hinterzarten. Surrounded by the mountains and off the beaten track. The service, warm and personal set it apart. It's a 100 year old property and the 3rd generation runs it. The owner/chef (can't remember his name unfortunately) was ever present and smiling. We had a double room and a single room. Take the rooms with balconies, not all have it. They were kind to change our double room into one with balcony next day. The rooms are spacious and tastefully done. The food was excellent. We are vegetarians and we were served delicious food of our choice. The kitchen comes up with interesting appetizer drinks using seasonal fresh ingredients which are lovely. Hearty breakfast is included. Eggs are made to order. My parents were served warm, non egg dish formbreakfast as well, whichnwe much appreciated. We had our best time of the trip and highly recommend the place. Thank you!

Room Tip: One with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stutis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hinterzarten
2.6 mi away
Parkhotel Adler
Parkhotel Adler
#1 of 16 in Hinterzarten
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Schwarzwaldhof
Hotel Schwarzwaldhof
#6 of 16 in Hinterzarten
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Thomahof
Hotel Thomahof
#5 of 16 in Hinterzarten
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Hofgut Sternen
2.2 mi away
Hotel Garni Silberdistel
Hotel Garni Silberdistel
#12 of 16 in Hinterzarten
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
4.1 mi away
Boutique-Hotel Alemannenhof
Boutique-Hotel Alemannenhof
#3 of 20 in Titisee-Neustadt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldhotel Fehrenbach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldhotel Fehrenbach

Property: Waldhotel Fehrenbach
Address: Alpersbach 9, 79856 Hinterzarten, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Hinterzarten
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Hinterzarten
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Waldhotel Fehrenbach 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear Guest, Our family business goes back to 1908. As does our philosophy of making visitors of all ages feel at home. In the meantime, we have long since been awarded the 3 star superior rating. Those stars stand for hospitality, comfort and enjoyment. To this day, our hotel remains nestled in an enchanting landscape. To this day, the forest remains filled with light and the chirping of birds. To this day, the ancient trees make us feel that the clocks tick a little slower in their shade... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Waldhotel Fehrenbach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing