We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a lovely place to stay”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lenzkirch
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Schwarzwaldgasthof Gruener Baum
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Lenzkirch
Oakland, California, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“a lovely place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

This is a nice gasthaus in a tiny village. It's surrounded by fields and forests. And it is a very beautiful area, with hiking,and lakes, and lots to do and see. The owners are lovely people, very welcoming. The hotel is clean. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We could never figure out how to connect to Internet (we cannot speak German), but in this wonderful village, away from it all, we didn't mind the separation from wifi.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
13
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shawnee, Kansas
Level Contributor
149 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2013

A bit difficult to find (we made it difficult because we didn't take the first road in town), this countryside, family-run, typical Black Forest home/hotel is perfect.. So quiet with cow bells and fresh air! Lovely dinner (my trout was perfect). During the night the view from our window was the moon shining on the meadow with fog hanging on the hills. Lovely breakfast included the next morning with sun shining on the beautiful flower boxes. Friendly, efficient family seeing to our every need. A short drive from Lake Titisee and the wonderful tourist shopping.

Room Tip: no pool. We had three rooms on the back of the second floor. Overlooked the meadow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladybug512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2010

We stayed one week in Gruener Baum with a family of 17 people (aged from 6 month to 60 years). The hotel is perfectly located in a very quiet little village. The owners - Mr and Mrs Meier and their daughter - did everything to make our stay enjoyable. Rooms are clean and quiet. The parents with kids were staying in two apartments in the building next to the hotel. Large dining room, excellent food (we took half board). Wi-fi available (but not in all rooms). We liked the garden where one can sit in the sun and where kids and men could play football. The area is wonderful and the Black Forest offers a very wide range of activities for everyone. Great experience that we will remember for ever !

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pierr-Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2008

We booked this hotel because of it's proximity to the ski area of Feldberg, and were not dissapointed when we arrived. The ski area was a quick and scenic 10 minute drive. The hotel itself was set on a hill, and our room (27) had a balcony that overlooked the woods and snow, it was amazing. The room was a good size, clean, and cozy. The hotel staff were so helpful. We arrived on Christmas eve, and the owner invited us to sing carols and eat cookies that evening with the other guests. It was a great experience. The food was great, the service was great. I can't say enough about how wonderful our stay was.

  • Liked — clean, beautiful scenery
  • Disliked — no internet, not a big deal though
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank trish_dadish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2007

Stayed at the Gruener Baum for one night, during a touring trip through Europe.

It was the most pleasant, spotlessly clean, friendly hotel we used for the whole trip. It was a true German alpine style retreat, with flowering baloconies overlooking the mountains. The gasthof has been run by the same family for 80 years and they clearly take pride in ensuring your stay is comfortable and refreshing. It rained for our stay, rather heavily, but this didn't mar the trip.

The food at this restaurant is STUNNING. We had the Bauernbratwuerst (sausages) and the Schweinruck (pork steak) The food was fresh, delicious and piping hot. Most main courses came with a salad buffet side/starter and were extremely cheap. Our meal of 2 main courses and salad buffets with a beer and 2 cokes cost only 19gbp. A bargain! We were so full we couldn't manage dessert!

The en suite room we had didn't have a balcony, but was so clean, i couldn't find a speck of dust whatsoever (and i am fussy!) even on the top of the shower cubicle OR picture frames!!!! The format was a large double bed with 2 single mattresses and 2 single duvets. A brilliant concept if your spouse is a duvet hogger.

Breakfast was included in our 63 euro a night tarrif, and was true german style sausage/cheese/muesli/bread/eggs. Delicious.

If this hotel was star rated, it would score very highly indeed.

Do visit nearby Titisee if you stay here, it is a lovely tourist resort with a lake and lots of shops and restaurants. There a literally tons of nature walks too if you are an outdoorsy type.

We had a little difficulty finding the hotel, and had to ask directions several times. This may help you.

Enter Lenzkirch and take the route to Raitenberg (5km) the hotel s actually in Raitenberg, but as this is a tiny village, the address comes under Lenzkirch.

You will love it here!

  • Liked — The amazing cleanliness and hospitality.
  • Disliked — Cannot fault it AT ALL!!
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank superflygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
American in Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2007

I travelled to the Feldberg area to go skiing but when we arrived there was NO SNOW! This small Gasthof is remarkably cheap and has the cleanest rooms with the friendliest staff.

Its only drawback is that it is in the middle of nowhere. This wouldn't have posed a problem if there was snow - but without we had to go find things to do. We did - and anyone else can to.

I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — The cleanliness.
  • Disliked — The location.
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lpalli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lenzkirch
1.9 mi away
Boutique-Hotel Alemannenhof
Boutique-Hotel Alemannenhof
#3 of 20 in Titisee-Neustadt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
2.4 mi away
Pension Waldwinkel
Pension Waldwinkel
#6 of 10 in Lenzkirch
5.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Schlehdorn
Hotel Schlehdorn
#2 of 16 in Feldberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Ochsen
Hotel Ochsen
#5 of 10 in Lenzkirch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
1.1 mi away
Landhotel Bierhaeusle
Landhotel Bierhaeusle
#1 of 16 in Feldberg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Saigerhoeh
Hotel Saigerhoeh
#2 of 10 in Lenzkirch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schwarzwaldgasthof Gruener Baum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schwarzwaldgasthof Gruener Baum

Property: Schwarzwaldgasthof Gruener Baum
Address: Raitenbucher Str. 17, 79853 Lenzkirch, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Lenzkirch
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Lenzkirch
Hotel Class:2 star — Schwarzwaldgasthof Gruener Baum 2*
Number of rooms: 15

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing