We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Essentially like being in the Jersey City of Heidelberg”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Arcadia Hotel Heidelberg
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Schwetzingen
Seattle, Washington
1 review
“Essentially like being in the Jersey City of Heidelberg”
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We didn't pay close enough attention when booking this hotel. It's not in Heidelberg at all -- it's in Schwetzingen, which is about 30 minutes by bus from the center of Heidelberg. The hotel restaurant was closed when we arrived (in the afternoon), so I can't comment on it. To get to Heidelberg without your car, you can walk from the hotel to a station (it takes about 10 minutes) and catch a bus (which is really more like a coach). Unfortunately, the busses stop operating fairly early in the evening, so you either leave Heidelberg before you're ready or pay to take a cab. The room was unremarkable and breakfast was fine, but we were awfully cross about the deceptive name of this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littlestcabbage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    41
    37
    17
    5
See reviews for
33
23
10
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
76 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

Had been there in a big group from India,the staff was very unfriendly, no food was allowed inside the hotel,and the hotel restaurant was shut.the room was very ok,nothing much to write about.internet was overpriced.the place was not in the best location eitherin the middle of noway.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank ManishaParag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
146 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

The hotel itself was fine, but it was very hard to find both physically and on the GPS. Most of the categories are average, not restaurant in the hotel, but some close by.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eagleterry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Schwetzingen hotels

California
Level Contributor
150 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Well unfortunately all hotels less than $800 in Heidelberg were booked and this was the closest I could get. I didn't really want to stay here but had no choice--turns out my instinct was right. All the staff I talked to (four in total) were really unhelpful. Difficult to communicate but not due to language barrier--they just weren't very bright and were downright unhelpful. The location is terrible. Pretty much in an industrial area and a little depressing. The sink drained very slowly and had a terrible smell. The towels were flimsy and left white debris all over my body when drying. The shower was oddly outfitted in such a way that I almost slipped twice. No international channels on the TV. Though the room was large it couldn't make up for all the downside. And for real--any hotel that charges over twelve euros for 24 hours of Internet is just ridiculous.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ukaspar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisiana
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2010

The hotel is about a 15 minute drive from Heidelberg. There are a few discount grocery stores in the immediate vicinity, i.e a block or two away. There is free outdoor parking next to the hotel. Our room was large, and included two rollaway beds for our young kids. The bathroom was fine, albeit a little dated. It was about a 20-25 minute brisk walk to the town center and the town castle. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Economizer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natchez, Mississippi
Level Contributor
203 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 354 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2008

The hotel has an outstanding front desk staff – one of the best of any hotel I have stayed at. The evening manager was outstanding; she provided information on the area, maps, and suggestions on where to eat. The hotel is about a fifteen-minute walk from the train station. My train arrived after 7 PM and there were no cabs at the Station; however, the public bus will take you within a block of the hotel. The hotel is in a residential/industrial district and there are two grocery stores a block away and a home improvement store across from the hotel. The Internet service in the hotel was overpriced and not particularly reliable. The Schwetzingen Castle, the most famous landmark of the city, is a short walk from the train station and worth the trip. For those wishing to visit Heidelberg, you have to change trains in Mannheim to do so.

Denver Mullican, New Orleans

  • Liked — Outstanding front desk staff
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Denver_Mullican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chester, UK
Level Contributor
55 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2007

This hotel was very good value for money. Rooms were fine and staff okay. Not in the best location but would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank alanfp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schwetzingen
0.8 mi away
Achat Comfort Heidelberg/Schwetzingen
0.7 mi away
Villa Benz - Hotel Garni
Villa Benz - Hotel Garni
#2 of 10 in Schwetzingen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Adler Post
Hotel Adler Post
#1 of 10 in Schwetzingen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Rheinhotel Luxhof
Rheinhotel Luxhof
#5 of 9 in Hockenheim
3.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
1.4 mi away
Apartments & Hotel Kurpfalzhof
4.0 mi away
ACHAT Comfort Mannheim/Hockenheim
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arcadia Hotel Heidelberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arcadia Hotel Heidelberg

Property: Arcadia Hotel Heidelberg
Address: Carl-Benz-Str. 1, 68723 Schwetzingen, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Schwetzingen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Schwetzingen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Arcadia Hotel Heidelberg 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arcadia Hotel Heidelberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing