We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Trip”
Review of Carathotel Basel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Carathotel Basel
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Weil am Rhein
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Spent 2 nights in the Carat Hotel on business. The hotel is situated on the outskirts of the town in what can only be described as a semil industruial area.
Don't expect to be able to walk from the Hotel and be able to find bars / restaraunts near by' the closest I found were about 20 mins walk through 'out of town' shopping areas and housing estates.
The hotel resraraunt was ok, but the choice of food was limited, it specialises in Mexican food, so if you are staying for a few nights you may get a bit fed-up with Mexican every night.
Breakfast was very good with pleanty of choices, hot & cold.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daviespsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (314)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 314 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2013

This hotel was hard for us to find. Due to the name we thought it was in Basel, Switzerland. It is actually in Weil Am Rhein, Germany. We found it finally about 8:30pm. Thankfully the Mexican restaurant was still serving food, which was delicious. The room was nice and the breakfast the next morning was excellent. We had free parking and free internet... very nice. It was close to the highway and in a nice area. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Having had some awful experiences in dog-friendly hotels before, the Carathotel Basel (which is actually across the border in Weil-am-Rhein) was a breath of fresh air.

The reception staff were friendly and helpful and the room was lovely and spacious. I was genuinely amazed that this was a dog-friendly place, as it felt as nice as any other 4-star hotel.

The real high point was the restaurant, which gives you the choice between local / European food or Mexican cuisine. All of the staff in the restaurant were very friendly and helpful - they even brought the dog a bowl of water - and they make pretty good cocktails too.

At a pretty modest price, this place is very highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigJimmyO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Before arriving to the hotel I had send an email because I had to check out very early, and since breakfast was included I wanted to know what the alternative was. They advised me to ask for a breakfast box at check in and that would be possible. Arriving to the hotel around 22.30 hrs, they informed me that the kitchen was closed and just told me no...

After I went to the room I wanted to use the wireless internet (which is free of charge) and I was told to come back down because I needed to pick up a code. This was not told at check in and I was already going to bed so had to get dressed again. When coming to the reception, I was given a small piece of paper with a login name and password both only 4 letters/digits, don't get why it wouldn't be possible to receive that over the phone.

Then I wanted to go to the toilet which was not clean. (see picture).

I send an email to ask why all this was hapening and until now did not get any answer.

Room Tip: Just don't go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank frkzr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Not badly located some 15 mis drive from Basel airport but on an industrial estate so nowhere really to walk to
Rooms are really spacious and food was ok with a tex mex theme
But 2 coaches of Asians and another of Dutch tourists just made the place over crowded and noisy
Generally not bad value for money but don't think I will be returning

Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

A good hotel to stay if you are trying to have a night halt near to Swiss-German border. The rooms are very spacious and excellent. The restaurant is good for breakfast. The WiFi is not worth experiencing. The hotel has many nearby shopping stores like Lidl, Aldi and also a cinema.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank ominvent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

What a contrast. Stuck in an industrial estate, poor signage at street level, odd arrows in the car park, then a 4 star sign embedded in the floor by the front entrance lifts you to expect a 4 star hotel. well, they are trying. Check-in was reasonably smooth, lobby was OK but not luxurious. Three lifts are variable quality but use of carpets excellent.
Room was very spacious but let down by a number of things. Pillows, in the German fashion, I think, were almost non-existent, no support. Towels were small and thin and only two. My pet hate is shampoo and soap in dispensers. Surely not in a 4* but yes they are here. Worse still the one in the shower was empty and the one by the sink was marked shampoo but inaccessible from the shower. Two items were presented next to the basin but nothing in English, pretty sure they weren't soap or shampoo though. Internet access was by a printed ticket (how quaint) from Reception (not offered when we checked in though). Found to be out of date (yes, out of date) when I got to the room. This is unacceptable. Breakfast was good quality with plenty of choice although on the first day 3 coachloads of tourists strained the system. My colleagues had a small bar of Toblerone on their pillows, mine didn't. Check out was staffed by just one girl at a very popular time who was also answering the 'phone so took far too long. So lots of small things that mount up and eventually disappoint.

Room Tip: Ending in 02 and 12 (and others) have a room facing in two directions. Floor 10 is the penthouse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_genial_zod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Weil am Rhein
B&B Hotel Basel/Weil am Rhein
#4 of 12 in Weil am Rhein
85 reviews
Hotel Dreilanderbrucke
#3 of 12 in Weil am Rhein
100 reviews
Hotel Maximilian
#7 of 12 in Weil am Rhein
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ott's Hotel Leopoldshohe
#5 of 12 in Weil am Rhein
116 reviews
Hotel Go2Bed
#2 of 12 in Weil am Rhein
95 reviews
Vorstädte
Steinenschanze Stadthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carathotel Basel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carathotel Basel

Address: Alte Str. 58, 79576 Weil am Rhein, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Weil am Rhein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Weil am Rhein
Price Range: £57 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Carathotel Basel 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is just 10 minutes from Basel's city center, yet offers lower prices than Swiss hotels. The rooms are all very spacious and comfortable. The beds guarantee an excellent quality of sleep. The breakfast buffet is truly opulent and diverse. Coffees specialities and egg dishes are freshly cooked to order. The in-house restaurant HAZIENDA offers Tex-Mex, steaks and international food. The wine list is appealing, the Champagnes of selected quality, the bar menu is fully staffed and top quality. The wireless Internet access is complimentary. At the coffee shop in the lobby you get round the clock coffee specialties as well as sweet and savory snacks. The library holds wonderful picture books, classics of literature but also novels for bedtime reading ready. Worth a look is the hotel's "good time" magazine. If you arrive by airplane at the Euroairport Basel / Mulhouse or by train at the German train station (BBB), we can pick you up on demand with our transfer service. Please note, that some taxi companies and transfer services need some lead time and consider this fact in your personal time management. We recommend to ask for our transfer service directly with your reservation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Carathotel Basel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlas Weil Am Rhein

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing