We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine hotel for your stay in Ettlingen”
Review of Stadthotel Engel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stadthotel Engel
Ranked #1 of 2 Ettlingen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 June 2013

This hotel suited our needs. I have actually stayed here several times over the years because my husband has had business nearby. The rooms are clean and the staff is very friendly and helpful. Their breakfast is nice and they have done a good job creating a modern reception area and bar area. The rooms are small and plain, but clean.
It is a in the middle of town. Easy to walk to all the shops etc. The train also isn't too far of a walk if you want to head into Karlsruhe.

My only complaint is that my pillow that was on my side of the bed was the thinnest I have ever seen. It was like putting my head on the edge of a blanket. Even folding it in half didn't help. So they gave me another one that was also pretty thin. Not sure why they have flat pillows and not the poofy ones I've had at other hotels.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Healinghiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2013

This was my 3rd stay at the Stadhotel for a busines trip. The multilingual front office staff are very helpful. The lobby is very small. There are a few chairs inside and outside there is a table and chairs that make an ideal spot to meet other members of your party as they drive in or come down from their rooms. There is a small bar area just adjacent to the lobby where you can order a drink.
The rooms themselves are unchanged in the years we have coming, but they are not in any way run-down.. They are basic clean and modern without character. The beds were comfortable. For an American the Shower is small.
The breakfast had many choices for a tasty typical German breakfast.
For an American the most difficult part of this hotel is the amazingly tight parking garage that must be accessed via a twisting downward ramp. Cars must travel on the same small ramp in both directions and so a light at the top and bottom lets you know if someone is using the ramp. This may be normal for Europeans but for most Americans this is pretty intimidating as there is so little room for manuevering. Also the drive to the lobby of this hotel is basically down an alley and through a building. Having said all that, I was glad to have the inside parking and felt my car was secure.
The hotel is in walking distance to restaurants and shops and is very convenient.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vardon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Stayed here a few nights in april when i was in the nearby town of Waldbronn for work. The hotel is located at the edge of the town-center and thus easy accessible by car. There is a paid parking beneath the hotel but tends to fill up quickly. So be early to be sure to find a parking place. The hotel itself is nothing special and so are the rooms. The rooms are quite large and clean but there is no fridge/minibar and the bathrooms are tiny. Breakfast is ok and offers enough variation. The staff is friendly and there are nice beers available in the small bar. Many good restaurants in walking distance so a good place to stay when you are in Ettlingen or nearby.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amsterdam1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2013

stayed one night on business in this place. large room but somhow smell of cleaning detergent but quiet sleep and excellent breakfast. WIFI operating and basement car park convenient for large cars. will go back there again

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ebdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

The Stadthotel Engel is right in the centre of Ettlingen, which is a very nice small town with a lot of character. The hotel has underground parking, excellent beer, very friendly and helpful staff, and there is a wide range of good restaurants within a five-minute walk, including excellent pizza and pasta right next door. The breakfast is plentiful and served over a time period that suits the business traveller (ie, early) and later risers.

My only complaint is that the carpet throughout the hotel is old, stained, and has no padding whatsoever, which detracts from the ambiance of the hotel. It should be changed...

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OKDear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

I have stayed at this hotel several times over the years. it is clean and servicable for one person, but not good for a family. Over the years, the brekfast has slowly dropped in selection and quality, A major drawback is that the hotel's parking-- which they now charge for-- is very tight and almost impossible to get into and out. Even the Germans with small cars fuss about it.
Also, be careful in the summer as the rooms are neither air conditioned nor do the rooms even have a fan.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bubba65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
Thank Brita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ettlingen hotels
0.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Karlsruhe Ettlingen
0.5 mi away
Hotel Watthalden
Hotel Watthalden
#2 of 4 in Ettlingen
173 reviews
1.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Karlsruhe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Erbprinz
Hotel Restaurant Erbprinz
#4 of 4 in Ettlingen
243 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Stadthotel Engel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stadthotel Engel

Address: Kronenstr. 13, 76275, Ettlingen, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Ettlingen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ettlingen
Price Range: £69 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stadthotel Engel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your Stadthotel Engel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing