We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel but only for short visits”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Karlsruhe
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ettlingen
Certificate of Excellence
West Malling, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good hotel but only for short visits”
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

Hotel was modern, stylish and minimalist, bedrooms were large and comfortable but ambience lacked warmth and was uninviting. Service and food was slow and nothing special. Location is very convenient for the motorway network and if you have a car then could be a good place to stay as the city centre is something of a building site at the moment. However the hotel location without any doubt makes this one to pass through on short trips not to linger at. Very much a business not leisure hotel.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nigel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    174
    55
    12
    15
See reviews for
50
47
16
198
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

I can't imagine anyone needing to stay here for any reason other than business, so from that standpoint its location in a desolate industrial estate (about a 7 minute drive from Ettlingen) is not such a big deal.

Once you are in the hotel, however, it shines. The service is very helpful; the food is very, very good; and while the fitness facilities leave something to be desired, the pool and sauna makes up for it to a certain extent.

Rooms are bare bones but comfortable enough, and for the money, very good.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPK_YVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savage, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

The hotel is located in a business area without any restaurants, bars, or other attractions in walking distance. While there is nothing else in that area, they do charge for parking. The rooms are small and the bets are not very comfortable. Free WIFI is available in all rooms and the public hotel area. The breakfast buffet is outstanding and the lunch (I stayed there for several days during a conference) was very good, too.
The staff was helpful and friendly. You have to have a car and the next town is only a few miles/km away. Karlsruhe center is a 15-20 min drive.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MannyTheGerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alphen aan den Rijn, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We were driving home to the Netherlands from Italy and we were searching for a Hotel near the road. We booked online and were there 30 minutes later.
It is located right next to the highway so it's a good place to stay the night if you're on a trip.
There is nothing in the neighboorhood but you don't need it. The restaurant is ok although it is a bit expecive. And if you leave the other day you're quickly back on the highway.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Had stayed their with my parents, we were a group of three. So they had given a third bed which was very uncomfortable , guess it was a metal sofa-cum-bed type of furniture as it squeaked when one turned. And they hadn't provided with extra quilts and bedsheets, which we had to ask.
Also our room had a blockage problem with our washbasin even before we started using it! I was just checking out the tap water and the basin got flooded! They did come and repair it immediately though, but it wasted almost 1 hour of ours at night, and we were extremely tired after traveling the whole day. it would have done us and them a ton of good if they had checked the rooms before they allotted it to anyone.
Location: It is far off from any main place. We were traveling with a tour operator and they had booked it for us.
Complimentary breakfast: Food was good and choice was elaborate. Staff were friendly and attended to you well.
Signal problem: the place is a little isolated so phone signal problem was there. But good wifi.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lifez-beautiful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

While the lobby of the hotel is renovated and modern, the rooms are severely outdated! We felt like we were in the 80s. The linens, drapes, carpet - the whole feel was rather icky. The beds were THE MOST uncomfortable beds I have ever slept in (or rather, couldn't fall asleep in).

Upon the check-in - the young lad at the front desk had no idea what he was doing. Didn't know how to ring up a credit card without a PIN. When asking him about nearby Black Forest, he told us to look it up on the internet! If there is only one person working at night - he should know the basics!

Free wifi was the only real perk. Tried to print something at the "business center" but the printer didn't work.

The rooms were so depressing, we couldn't wait to get the heck out of there!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank naush76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hagen M, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Karlsruhe, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear guest,
thank your for having stayed at our hotel and for your comments.
I have got good news for you: after having renovated the 19 conference and banquet rooms, the fitness room, sauna and having created a brandnew “BLU Lounge”, “Smokers-Lounge” and new Restaurant-terrace, we are going to create 2 modern “mock up rooms” in October 2013 to decide how to proceed regarding our next project: start renovating our guest rooms.
Nevertheless, I must say that a lot of our guests do really like our guest room design but I think that this might also be a question of taste. What I can say is that they are very clean, what is also very important to me regarding guest rooms.
I will have a look at the printer issue at the business centre and probably also update the design of this area soon.
Kind regards
Hagen Müller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugeley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Good service from attentive staff, quick easy check in.

All staff spoke very good English.

The rooms were clean spacious and well designed.

The food was good quality but expensive.

The hum of traffic from the motorway was constant

Room Tip: It's on a busy motorway expect traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ettlingen
Hotel Restaurant Erbprinz
#3 of 4 in Ettlingen
218 reviews
Novotel Karlsruhe
#1 of 61 in Karlsruhe
1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Der Blaue Reiter
#2 of 61 in Karlsruhe
246 reviews
Hotel Watthalden
#4 of 4 in Ettlingen
146 reviews
Südstadt
Leonardo Hotel Karlsruhe
Leonardo Hotel Karlsruhe
#5 of 61 in Karlsruhe
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Karlsruhe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Karlsruhe

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel, Karlsruhe
Address: Am Hardtwald 10, 76275, Ettlingen, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Ettlingen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ettlingen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Karlsruhe 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Karlsruhe's largest event and meeting hotel, the Radisson BLU Hotel, Karlsruhe. With an impressive 19 meeting rooms spread over 1000 m² and excellent amenities such as free high-speed Internet access, our four-star hotel is the ideal base for corporate events, launches, banquets and more. Adjacent to the hotel is a 2600 m² outdoor showcase area which is perfect for everything from themed events to offroad presentations. The hotel is a short drive to Karlsruhe and Ettlingen's city centres and to the main station of Karlsruhe with its TGV and ICE-train connections.Our 199 spacious rooms and suites are designed in a mediterranean style and come with first class amenities. Free high-speed and wireless Internet access is available throughout the hotel to all meeting delegates and hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Rezidor, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Karlsruhe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Ettlingen
Ettlingen Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing