We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, Comfortable and Quaint” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Waldhorn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Waldhorn
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Ravensburg
Libertyville, Illinois
Level Contributor
98 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Clean, Comfortable and Quaint”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2011

The Romantik Hotel Waldhorn is a beautiful and small hotel in Ravensburg that my wife, daughters (ages 15 and 12) only found because of another hotel's last minute cancellation of our reservation. Funny how some things can just work out...the Waldhorn turned out to be great for us.

We booked two double-rooms only two weeks before arriving at the hotel for a single night on a planned day trip from Munich. The Waldhorn was extremely accommodating for our one-night reservation despite it being a very busy holiday weekend in Germany. Many other hotels in this part of Germany were requiring two or three night stays.

The hotel location is right in the middle of the walled city's central street, only 50 meters from the old town hall. The street is very busy at night with all the restaurants and cafes bustling with both tourists and university students. Despite all the late-night activity, the hotel remained very quiet inside. During the day, all the town's shops and historic tower landmarks are literally "just steps away."

Finding parking is a little tricky as at night the streets are closed for pedestrians...even with a GPS unit. However, once parked, the hotel is conveniently located directly across the street from a garage access point. The desk staff is very friendly and helpful and also speak fluent English. The main floor and dining room aren't overly ornate, they are tastefully decorated in classic Bavarian wooden tradition; the hallways dotted with different mementos of the hotel's history. A very nice reminder that hotel has welcomed travelers for a long time. Every area in the hotel is obviously carefully maintained.

The rooms are comfortably sized and include a large desk, closet and dresser; they are very clean and simply decorated - exactly what one would expect in a well-run private, small town hotel. The bathrooms seemed to have been recently updated with new tile and fixtures. One summer warning: there isn't air conditioning in the rooms.

Breakfast was included in the rate (even improving the value of the hotel) and like the hotel, was not overly elaborate; just fresh, well-prepared and the Bavarian Basics. There is no need to wander the town looking for breakfast - especially if you're an early-rising tourist type...the other choices in town weren't even open when our family set out for our day.

We only stayed for one night in Ravensburg, (one of the few regrets from our trip) but if we did would have likely enjoyed the Waldhorn even more. I wholly recommend the Waldhorn for any single, couple or family (any age) traveling to Ravensburg.

Room Tip: Be careful that street-view rooms might be loud at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BuonaNotteRoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    31
    13
    8
    3
See reviews for
11
16
3
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

Hotel Waldhorn is excellently located in the city centre of lovely Ravensburg. Rooms are spacious and well equipped.

Staff is very friendly and helpful (e.g. restaurant reservations also in other locations than the inhouse restaurant).

The breakfast buffet offers a wide range of food (fresh fruits, eggs, various kind of bread, meat and cheese, etc.) and is refilled until 11am.

All in all good value even if the rooms are pricier than other hotels in comparable locations / cities in Germany.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bkker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2010

We've stayed there last summer and the hotel was awesome. Great staff, all very friendly. The restaurant is outstanding and the location couldn't be better (right at the centere of the city). Make sure you go for the Romatik rooms, their like 10 Euro more than the regualr rooms, but a way nicer. Breakfast buffett is included and you can order a la carte for no extra charge. The terrace is facing the main strip of the city and you have a great view over the Marienplatz. When we would come back in this area, ddefinitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mehlsack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2010

Great food (especially desert), nice and quiet atmosphere, cosy and friendly! Agreat hotel for few day full of work!

Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank DanaHodorog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2007

My wife and I come to Ravensburg about once per year, to visit family nearby - this year we decided to spoil ourselves and stay at something a little special. We booked a suite at the Romantik Waldhorn, and explained that I am handicapped, and had a real problem with stairs. They agreed to provide me an underground parking spot during our stay, with access from the elevator that runs from the garage to our floor with the room. As it turned out, the third day we were there, they let someone else have our parking spot, causing me to have to climb a flight of stairs to get to the elevator to go to our room. My disappointment was exacerbated when I spoke to the desk clerk, who was "sorry, but nothing can be done, the other people have already taken the parking spot"

As for the "Suite" it had a living room and a bedroom, with a small half-bath off the living room, and a full bath in the bedroom but without a toilet - just a bidet! - The closets did not have enough space to hang all of our clothes, and the hangars were of the type that cannot be removed.

The bed was very comfortable, but the TV was in the living room, so no watching CNN in bed... the 'desk' had no drawers as did the nightstands -- everything has to be put on top of the few flat surfaces in the room.

Our first night, we had our family there for dinner, and they have an excellent restaurant, but expensive - we spent over 1000 Euros for dinner for 7 people, which included Champagne and a bottle of wine - The dinner was outstanding, but I would expect nothing less for the price! And although we spent $150 Euros per night for a Suite, and more than a thousand Euros for dinner - they would not honor their commitment for a parking space in the garage.

So in all fairness, it's a nice hotel in the heart of Ravensburg, but I would not stay there again - There's a Movenpick Hotel in a nearby town that is far superior in comfort, room accommodations and overall user enjoyment - we will go back to staying there

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank eurotraveler41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ravensburg
0.2 mi away
Hotel Obertor
Hotel Obertor
#1 of 7 in Ravensburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Residenz-Ravensburg
Hotel Residenz-Ravensburg
#5 of 7 in Ravensburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rebgarten
Rebgarten
#3 of 7 in Ravensburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Goldene Uhr
Hotel Goldene Uhr
#6 of 7 in Ravensburg
3.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Parkhotel Weingarten
0.1 mi away
Hotel zum Engel
Hotel zum Engel
#1 of 7 in Ravensburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Waldhorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Waldhorn

Property: Hotel Waldhorn
Address: Marienplatz 15, 88212 Ravensburg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Ravensburg
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Ravensburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Waldhorn 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Waldhorn B & B has a long tradition of comfort and individual character. Our house is situated in the heart of Ravensburgs pedestrian zone. All the historic sites and medieval buildings are within walking distance. Shopping can also be done at a few minutes walk. A lot of restaurant, bars and coffee shops are around the hotel. You can choose between comfortable single and double rooms, apartments as well as a suite. Every morning you can start your day with a healthy, fresh and various breakfast from the buffet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotel.de, HRS, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Waldhorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing