We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice and Friendly” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Waldhorn

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Waldhorn
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Ravensburg
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice and Friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012

Clean, comfortable, quiet and in the centre of restuarants and old city.
Staff was friendly, breakfast standard, parking easily nearby.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jake D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    31
    13
    8
    3
See reviews for
11
16
3
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ashland, Oregon
Level Contributor
266 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

The new part of the hotel is quiet and has an elevator. Our room was on the front and we had noise from people exiting bars on the pedestrian mall late at night. Why they gave us that room in a half empty hotel is hard to figure. Service was good and the Baden restaurant was excellent for regional cuisine. Location is perfect in the Alt Stat. Would return if room was in the new section.

Room Tip: Ask for room in the new section. Will cost a bit more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank canuck22SanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballerup, Denmark
Level Contributor
81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

This hotel is located in the middle of town, close to restaurants and shops. You feel welcome when you arrive to the hotel. The rooms are middle size, and often with quite nice view. The bathroom is fresh and new. The beds are not the best ones, typical German type with a thin pillow. The room has no mini bar, but there is always a bottle of water in the room. TV-set is small and has mainly German channels.
The hotel has two restaurants and are both recommendable. To the locals, the hotel is famous for the restaurants. Breakfast variety is small, but quality is good and coffee is strong as it should be. If you arrive by car, there is a public parking underground just 1 minute walk from the hotel.
Overall, the hotel quality is good and the hotel can be recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Henke_dk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

I have stayed in the Romantik Hotel Waldhorn in February 2012. This was in the middle of a cold wave that hit Central Europe and it was very very cold (down to -17C). I was travelling in business and stayed for a single night.

The hotel is located right in the main plaza of Ravensburg, opposite to the Rathaus. There’s an underground carpark on the plaza, very convenient if you arrive by car. Ravensburg itself is a small pleasant city characterized by it’s medieval looking towers.

The check in process was efficient with the front office staff able to process several guests arriving at the same time. I was given a room facing the main square on the 3rd floor. There’s no lift, so I carried my luggage upstairs – I was offered help.

The common areas of the hotel are decorated on a very traditional style, with carpets, old furniture pieces, wall hanging paintings,…All in all it conveys a cosy but also demode and sometimes stuffy feeling. The room however have been refurbished in a nice way, with wooden floors, LCD TV, modern bathroom, etc…

The most negative point of my stay is related with the internet access. It is supposed that you have free wi-fi internet. When I tried to connect, I was unable to – even if the laptop detected the network (but with no internet access). I came to the reception to figure out if I was doing something wrong, and found 4 (four!) other guests complaining about the same. The lady on the reception couldn’t solve the issue, saying the technician would only come on the next day to correct the situation. Not very helpful. This might seem as a minor issue – and for many, it is a minor issue. But if you are travelling in business in need to keep up with your email the last thing you want to come across is unreliable internet access – hence what is a minor issue for some becomes a Major problem for others.

Remaining aspects of my stay were ok. My room was properly warmed up – though other guests on the back of the hotel were complaining that heating was not enough. The bath tub has an acrylic ‘curtain’ that only protects the area closer to the shower head – not very functional as is difficult to avoid spilling the bathroom floor. The breakfast was included on the rate and was good.

As a conclusion. Would I recommend Romantik Hotel Waldhorn? Probably yes. Did I have a nice and trouble free experience? Unfortunately not due to the inability to connect to the internet. Details matter.

Room Tip: Have stayed on room 31. Very good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LAASG_Portugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
96 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2011

Hotel has perfect location in the centre of the town. The staff were very welcoming and friendly on arrival. The rooms are of good size, very clean and comfortable. The breakfast buffet was excellent with an emphasis on fresh foods and very well presented.
You are awoken warly though by the bells of the town which seem to ring for ever!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MJBDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Libertyville, Illinois
Level Contributor
98 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2011

The Romantik Hotel Waldhorn is a beautiful and small hotel in Ravensburg that my wife, daughters (ages 15 and 12) only found because of another hotel's last minute cancellation of our reservation. Funny how some things can just work out...the Waldhorn turned out to be great for us.

We booked two double-rooms only two weeks before arriving at the hotel for a single night on a planned day trip from Munich. The Waldhorn was extremely accommodating for our one-night reservation despite it being a very busy holiday weekend in Germany. Many other hotels in this part of Germany were requiring two or three night stays.

The hotel location is right in the middle of the walled city's central street, only 50 meters from the old town hall. The street is very busy at night with all the restaurants and cafes bustling with both tourists and university students. Despite all the late-night activity, the hotel remained very quiet inside. During the day, all the town's shops and historic tower landmarks are literally "just steps away."

Finding parking is a little tricky as at night the streets are closed for pedestrians...even with a GPS unit. However, once parked, the hotel is conveniently located directly across the street from a garage access point. The desk staff is very friendly and helpful and also speak fluent English. The main floor and dining room aren't overly ornate, they are tastefully decorated in classic Bavarian wooden tradition; the hallways dotted with different mementos of the hotel's history. A very nice reminder that hotel has welcomed travelers for a long time. Every area in the hotel is obviously carefully maintained.

The rooms are comfortably sized and include a large desk, closet and dresser; they are very clean and simply decorated - exactly what one would expect in a well-run private, small town hotel. The bathrooms seemed to have been recently updated with new tile and fixtures. One summer warning: there isn't air conditioning in the rooms.

Breakfast was included in the rate (even improving the value of the hotel) and like the hotel, was not overly elaborate; just fresh, well-prepared and the Bavarian Basics. There is no need to wander the town looking for breakfast - especially if you're an early-rising tourist type...the other choices in town weren't even open when our family set out for our day.

We only stayed for one night in Ravensburg, (one of the few regrets from our trip) but if we did would have likely enjoyed the Waldhorn even more. I wholly recommend the Waldhorn for any single, couple or family (any age) traveling to Ravensburg.

Room Tip: Be careful that street-view rooms might be loud at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BuonaNotteRoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

Hotel Waldhorn is excellently located in the city centre of lovely Ravensburg. Rooms are spacious and well equipped.

Staff is very friendly and helpful (e.g. restaurant reservations also in other locations than the inhouse restaurant).

The breakfast buffet offers a wide range of food (fresh fruits, eggs, various kind of bread, meat and cheese, etc.) and is refilled until 11am.

All in all good value even if the rooms are pricier than other hotels in comparable locations / cities in Germany.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bkker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ravensburg
0.2 mi away
Hotel Obertor
Hotel Obertor
#1 of 7 in Ravensburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Residenz-Ravensburg
Hotel Residenz-Ravensburg
#5 of 7 in Ravensburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rebgarten
Rebgarten
#3 of 7 in Ravensburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Goldene Uhr
Hotel Goldene Uhr
#6 of 7 in Ravensburg
3.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Parkhotel Weingarten
0.1 mi away
Hotel zum Engel
Hotel zum Engel
#1 of 7 in Ravensburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Waldhorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Waldhorn

Property: Hotel Waldhorn
Address: Marienplatz 15, 88212 Ravensburg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Ravensburg
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Ravensburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Waldhorn 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Waldhorn B & B has a long tradition of comfort and individual character. Our house is situated in the heart of Ravensburgs pedestrian zone. All the historic sites and medieval buildings are within walking distance. Shopping can also be done at a few minutes walk. A lot of restaurant, bars and coffee shops are around the hotel. You can choose between comfortable single and double rooms, apartments as well as a suite. Every morning you can start your day with a healthy, fresh and various breakfast from the buffet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotel.de, HRS, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Waldhorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing