We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“PARADISE”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Il Mulino

Il Mulino
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Il Mulino
Swimming at the waterfall near il Mulino - a 3 minute stroll away The lounge - cosy by the log-burner but cool in the height of summer
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
43 reviews
Il Mulino
Swimming at the waterfall near il Mulino - a 3 minute stroll away
The lounge - cosy by the log-burner but cool in the height of summer
The lounge, showing guests' sketches and paintings
Main bedroom above the mill stones - listen to the music of water as you fall asleep
The kitchen - try out some of the delicious local ingredients and open a bottle or two. Cin cin!
Second bedroom - the spacious double bed converts to 2 singles too
Single bedroom - there is another pull-out bed to complete this story-book room for little ones
Shower room
Downstairs bathroom and door to sunny terrace
One of secret places to walk to in the nearby mountains
View from former mill-pond
Breakfast/sun-downer terrace, constructed from the original mill-stones
The pool nearest to the Mill
Swimming and frolics in the river!
Montebotolino - a hill-top village nearby
Local market
Countryside round Il Mulino offers walks a-plenty
A walk to Fresciano where lunch awaits us after drinking in beautiful scenery
Cookery lesson - making gnocchi at Poggio Barone, a local restaurant
river view beneath the mill
Main Terrace
June poppies
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Watermill -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Badia Tedalda, Province of Arezzo, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
hvovard
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
“PARADISE”
Reviewed 8 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We had an amazing fortnight, we all enjoyed the mill to its maximum! The place is a true magical location, with its river a few meters away.
Maurice and Angela are lovely people, caring for their guests, providing great tips about Italy and places to visit as well.
We came back from our holidays fully rested and enchanted. The children loved splashing and diving in the river and waterfalls.
Splendid!
Thanks again for letting us enjoy your little wonder. Helene, Tammo, Roos, Niels & Lise

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Sep 2017
It was lovely to meet you and our grandchildren enjoyed playing in the river with your youngest. You enjoyed fantastic weather whilst you were here and despite no rain for weeks and weeks, there was still enough water in our spot on the Marecchia for jumping in to cool down. We hope you continue to fee "Mulino-rested" for a long time. Thanks for your lovely review. Angela and Maurice.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alldar
Stockholm
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best place to relax i have ever been.”
Reviewed 13 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

After spending year after year in the South of France we decided to look for something different. The Mill was simply fantastic,equipped with everything you could possibly need.The views were amazing,our daughter said she felt like a Princess living at the top of a castle.We also thought we had fallen in to a fairytale.Sitting at the stone table in the evening with a glass of wine listening out for any animals which were in the area together with the river flowing by was one of the many highlights.The waterfall which was only a two minute walk from the mill (still inside the the beautifull gardens) was a delight and swimming in the pool below it was wonderfull. Even although it was high season we still had the pool to ourselves 95% of the time.
We arrived with the idea that we would have a day in Florence,San Marino etc, but we soon agreed that we did not want to go very far away from the mill. Badia Teldada a 5 minute drive away had everything we needed bakers Butchers etc.
The Sunday lunch at l erbhosteria in Rofelle is an experience not to be missed.
This was booked for us by the mills owners Angela and Maurice who lived close by and were easy to find if you needed help or advice on the area.This is a place we hope to visit again.It suits couples and familys with kids very well.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2017
Thanks for this lovely review - we really appreciated your wonderful words and loved the fact you felt it was like a fairy tale. We hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henrik Å
1 review
“Wonderful vacation”
Reviewed 1 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Peaceful surrondings, friendly hosts, good food, beautiful mill and splendid swims in the river! We can really recommend a vacation at Il Mulino!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Aug 2017
Thanks for you review and we are so pleased you enjoyed il Mulino. Maybe see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atm0j
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Tranquil and beautiful”
Reviewed 4 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Il Mulino is quite simply beautiful! The countryside is stunning and peaceful, delicious food and so much to do. The beach, river walks, medieval towns to explore all on the doorstep. The Mill is spacious, clean and well equipped, with beautiful inside and outside space. Maurice and Angela are the perfect hosts, discreet but always willing and available to give information and advice
Definitely a place to return to

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jul 2017
Grazie for your lovely review and we loved welcoming you. We're so pleased you managed to relax as well as explore the special area. You're welcome back any time! Angela and Maurice.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry T
1 review
“Tuscany Escape”
Reviewed 27 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Having decided on 'away from it all' holiday in Tuscany we chanced upon this amazing place, and what a find. Nestled in the true wilds of the Tuscan countryside the historic Il Mulino is the perfect escape. We woke to the gentle sound of the river passing over it's stony bed. Relaxed by the bank and swam by the waterfall. Ate in some amazing places recommended by the owners Angela and Maurice, who could not have been more accommodating. Visited some delightful villages. And the food and wine!! The weather was fabulous and the sky at night! - Not forgetting the unbelievable Fireflies. We look forward to our return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jul 2017
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. It is a special area and in a corner of Tuscany that is not very explored. We're glad you appreciated the tranquility.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brun_71
Berlin
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Loved it”
Reviewed 24 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We spent a week at Il Mulino and in hindsight it was way too short. We simply loved the place, because of its tranquility, its remoteness, the river.

It's a lovely, spacious hideway in the Apennines. Two bathrooms, three bedrooms, beautiful views. Big plus - the kitchen is equipped with everything you need! I love it when hosts do that, when they think about what people might need when they cook. It shows they truly care about their guests.

It's a place to relax, swim, read, and unwind. We'll definately visit again.

By the way, if you keep driving past Il Molino you'll eventually reach Montebotolino, a very small, even more remote and usually totally deserted mountaintop village with a stunning view over the valley. Take a bottle of wine with you and watch the sun go down.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian M
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“wow !!!!!!”
Reviewed 27 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

il munilo is simply heaven!
Angela and Maurice make you welcome as if you were old family friends but fully understand that you also want to be left alone to enjoy the beautiful mill, amazing views and relaxing and swimming in the stunning stream pools.
Watching the stars at night with the kids and a glass of wine, no sounds other than the wildlife, no light other than the stars and moon takes some beating. waking to nothing but the sound of the babbling stream and the rustle of leaves in the trees outside your window made every morning so special.
every aspect amazing !

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Oct 2016
So pleased you were "wowed" by our beautiful Mulino and the tranquil surroundings. It is really stunning in June as well, with orchids and other wild flowers everywhere blanketing the road verges and mountains. It may not be as hot in that month but it is a perfect time of year for walking and immersing yourself in Nature. Thank you so much for your review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing