We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great German hotel”
Review of Gasthof zum Baren

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Meersburg (Bodensee)
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gasthof zum Baren
Mercersburg, PA
Level Contributor
138 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A great German hotel”
Reviewed 28 June 2010

My only regret on our trip was that we didn't stay longer in Meersburg. This hotel has a great location overlooking the market square and it has great character. The room was very spacious and spotless. The hotel staff was very courteous and helpful. It is a small hotel and if you want to experience Germany, it is well worth the trip. The town has alot to offer and don't miss eating the the hotel's restaurant -- it was the best meal we had in Germany.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JEO_1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    43
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
37
74
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ISRAEL
1 review
Reviewed 24 June 2010

very pleasant hotel, very clean, very nice staff.
Would like to stay again if we visit Meersburg.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TO46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Va.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 December 2009

We visited Meersburg at Thanksgiving (in the US) and enjoyed a wonderful meal just across the Lane from the Hotel- pls see the picture. Knowing our dinner would run after 8pm and that he and his family would be out, the hotel owner GAVE US THE KEY TO THE FRONT DOOR OF THE HOTEL so we could get in when we returned!!! Well cared for, excellent food and service, warm and romantic.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirchern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2009

Meersburg is a charming little town on Lake Constance that is nearly a postcard version of what you might imagine a German town to look like. Germans themselves love to go on holiday here, so that should tell you something.

The hotel is situated just on the perimeter of the old town, so its very easy to access by car. It was difficult to find at first, since in order to get to the front door you have to go into a pedestrian only zone. No problem though, the hotel provides a private garage for you to park in, so just park somewhere close (parking area just behind it) and the receptionist will go with you and open up the garage for you.

The hotel itself is very old and authentic, and the rooms are very nicely furnished. Everything is kept very clean and fresh, unlike some other hundreds-of-years-old hotels you'll find in Europe. Our two rooms has very nice bathrooms complete with stand up showers. Reception was lovely and they have a very charming dining room where you can have a breakfast or a very nice dinner.

The town itself is worth a night or two and the hotel is right in the center of the most charming area. Its like an explosion of flowered window boxes. Its an easy, wonderful 10 minute walk down to the lake.

Can you tell I'm impressed? Really, this hotel is a treat. Its a charming town and a charming hotel, not to be missed. See if they have a corner room available so you get the big corner windows..theyre very special rooms.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2009

Excellent location and very friendly service. Our room was ok, but could have been better I think. I'm sure there are better rooms in the hotel, but because we needed a supplementary bed I feel we ended up with one of the less attractive ones. One slight disappointment was breakfast - far and away the least generous we had on our stay in Germany.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gringomadrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casselberry, Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2009

We chose the hotel because of the picture, we had no idea what any of the hotels were like in Meersburg. It is toward the top of the hill the city sits on so the storm that trashed the town did minor damage to the Hotel zum Baeren, it was the planters that took the brunt of the storm. We traveled by motorcycle and we were able to park in a garage. The owners and staff were... I can't express the idea how happy we were there. The food was delicious, the beds comfortable, everything was beautiful, and consider that the hotel building has been there a few hundred years. My girlfriend speaks fluent German my German is fair but communication in English was no problem. We are looking forward to exploring the Boden See area more and we plan on staying there again. We stayed in the "Romantic Room" and had everything we needed after we brought wine back to our room. If you're going to Meersburg stay here. I would have liked to stay longer than we did.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traffichater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2009

We had 4 nights in this hotel and could not fault it. We booked the hotel through their website and chose the room we wanted to stay in. We had the turret room no. 23 on the top floor, a very large room with a table and 2 comfortable chairs in the turret. The bathroom was spotlessly clean and had a seperate bath and shower. The shower stall was extremely small (and we're not big people) and the water kept going from hot to cold repeatedly which was annoying. The only other negative was the bed, it was 2 mattresses in a timber frame which sqeaked everytime you rolled over and the mattress was extremely hard.
The staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was included and was the typical German breakfast (cereals, yogurt, breads, cold meats) which was fine.
The hotel does not have a lift, which didn't really bother us, but could be important to some people. Also, the hotel is located at the top of Meersburg and is reached from the lower town via a very steep street, again it was not a problem for us, but could be for some.
We found we could not sleep with the windows open as any talking in the street at night (we never go to bed before 11pm) would travel up the narrow streets and keep you awake.
Parking in their garage was very tight but O.K. for the cost of Euro 6 per day. Overall a very pleasant stay.
Meersburg is absolutely beautiful and there is a lot to see and do. Take a ferry across to Insel Mainau which has beautiful gardens.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rovers816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Meersburg (Bodensee) hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Restaurant 3 Stuben
Hotel Restaurant 3 Stuben
#7 of 20 in Meersburg (Bodensee)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.3 mi away
Romantik Hotel Residenz am See
Romantik Hotel Residenz am See
#2 of 20 in Meersburg (Bodensee)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel zum Schiff
Hotel zum Schiff
#4 of 20 in Meersburg (Bodensee)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Garni Eden
Hotel Garni Eden
#1 of 20 in Meersburg (Bodensee)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Seeschau am Bodensee
Hotel Villa Seeschau am Bodensee
#5 of 20 in Meersburg (Bodensee)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.0 mi away
Weinstube Lowen
Weinstube Lowen
#6 of 20 in Meersburg (Bodensee)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gasthof zum Baren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gasthof zum Baren

Property: Gasthof zum Baren
Address: Marktplatz 11 | Lake Constance, 88709 Meersburg (Bodensee), Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Meersburg (Bodensee)
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Meersburg (Bodensee)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Gasthof Zum Baren Hotel Meersburg (Bodensee)
Gasthof Zum Baren Meersburg Bodensee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing