We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room with a View”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Strandhotel Wilder Mann
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Lovely old hotel. Pleasant front desk staff - very helpful even though could never get wifi to work. Room with creaky wooden floors and outdated bathroom but view to Lake Constance and castle square worth every penny. Breakfast and parking...what more could you ask for.

Room Tip: Get a view of the lake.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cargo629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
There are newer reviews for Strandhotel Wilder Mann
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2013

We recently had dinner on the terrace of this hotel. We chose the location because of the beautiful view of Lake Constance. Service, beverages and food were terrible. The fish was overcooked and the Schnitzel was served without a slice of lemon or the typical berry sauce. The potatoes were terrible as well. In addition everything is overpriced and the cook does not speak German if you want to complain. Never have dinner there! There are much better options in Meersburg. It is sad that this beautiful location is so neglected. What made things worse: terrible "live" (as in synthesizer live) music ruined the peaceful setting - guests are invited to dance to this music - it's the kind of music that makes you want to leave - but we had already placed our order.... never, never again!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank reisenistschoen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

This was our first 2 nights stay in Germany. Arriving flight weary and disoriented (no GPS in car so I used my iPhone to find the hotel) we were more than pleasantly surprised with location and room. The bronze scrollwork on hotel door gives an inviting luxurious feel upon entering. Luckily I had packed my smaller bag with clothes and essentials as there is no elevator. Our room was fine with lake views; the bathroom was huge ,recently renovated, and perfect. Our host is friendly, helpful and genuinely nice. meersburg is a charming medieval on the lake, on a hill, with a castle almost right behind the hotel. We loved that after walking the hills of the town we could go back to the hotel and sit on the promenade overlooking the Bodensee while having drinks. We would return to Hotel if back in this area another time.

Room Tip: If stairs are an issue try to get a room on 1st floor (which is really 2ndfloor for American minds...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank swamprock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2010

We arrived in Meersburg on Lake Constance without a room in busy July. Not only did this hotel accommodate us with a double as requested, but they put us in a corner room with 2 windows: one overlooking the lake (absolutely beautiful) and the other overlooking a little plaza/square at the foot of the castle. We could not have been given a better room. The people were especially nice. Breakfast on the veranda by the water was great. Meersburg is a storybook town with cute little shops, excellent food and culture. While we were there, we saw an exhibit of Leonardo DaVinci's drawings at the museum, and an orchestra concert on the plaza by the museum at the top of the hill. There was also bag-pipe music at one of the restaurants outdoors. The hotel provides a parking pass for the car lot a short walk from the hotel, though you can load/unload in front of the hotel without any problem. Just be aware that the parking pass requires a E$50 deposit that is returned at the end of your stay. We had a great time in Meersburg and will definitely come back. When we do, we'll most definitely stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TonyandJenni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2009

Clean and comfortable. Perfect position adjacent to the lake, and all the main facilities.
Limited on site parking but large car park nearby.
No lift to upper floors.

Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
Thank Clactonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2009

This hotel is just outside the lower town and is right on the lake side with a terrace and garden overlooking the water. The bedrooms are a little dated and in need of refurbishing but are comfortable and good value for money compared with other hotels in Meersburg. The buffet breakfast was excellent with cereals, cheese, cooked meats, scrambled and boiled eggs as well as rolls and preserves. The staff were charming and spoke good English. It is frustrating that accommodation cannot be booked on line - you have to go to the hotel's own website and send an email enquiry form but there is a speedy response. Be warned that there is dancing to live music on the terrace in the evening which means lake-view rooms can be noisy with the windows open.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank essexexteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Le stanze che affacciano sul lago sono le più silenziose e belle
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Angelo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Meersburg (Bodensee) hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel zum Schiff
Hotel zum Schiff
#4 of 20 in Meersburg (Bodensee)
174 reviews
0.4 mi away
Romantik Hotel Residenz am See
Romantik Hotel Residenz am See
#2 of 20 in Meersburg (Bodensee)
118 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hotel Buchberg
Hotel Buchberg
#11 of 20 in Meersburg (Bodensee)
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Restaurant 3 Stuben
Hotel Restaurant 3 Stuben
#6 of 20 in Meersburg (Bodensee)
62 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Seeschau am Bodensee
Hotel Villa Seeschau am Bodensee
#7 of 20 in Meersburg (Bodensee)
95 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Seehof
Hotel Seehof
#9 of 20 in Meersburg (Bodensee)
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strandhotel Wilder Mann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strandhotel Wilder Mann

Address: Bismarckplatz 2, 88709 Meersburg (Bodensee), Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Meersburg (Bodensee)
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 20 Hotels in Meersburg (Bodensee)
Price Range: £134 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Strandhotel Wilder Mann reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing