We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well placed and appointed but grown greedy”
Review of Hotel Hohenlohe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Hohenlohe
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Schwabisch Hall
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 September 2011

Ideally located right on the edge of this gem of a town prepare yourself to be pampered. So you would think. A vast sprawling place setting a high quality standard. Our room was no more than average with a squint view, if you craned your neck of some water. Justified a higher room price no doubt. Breakfast in either a large restaurant or out on a terrace which was a must for our stay during the hot weather. No fans, no air conditioning in rooms. Once you found the other, non-terrace buffet, the breakfast spread was impressive. Highly commercial catering but for me lacked soul.
The downsides. An old-fashioned bath with shower screen. Very slippery as I proved with my fall. Greedy. Everything you touch is an extra. Park your car, extra. WiFi extra for that day the voucher issued only. No room hospitalities, even water bottles are charged. there are no prior warnings, just that extra on the bill at the end. Leaves a sour taste. At the price of the stay, not cheap by any comparisons, grabbing those extra bucks just isn,t on. So pampered just about but not really and left with a distaste. Nice town though.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TonyinSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (149)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 149 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2011

This is my favorite Hotel when I stay in Schwaebisch Hall in Germany. The reception staff is very friendly and helpful and gives every guest a warm welcome. The rooms are very clean and the restaurant in the Hotel is superb. The number one meeting point is the Bar "Jenseits Kochers" and you can enjoy your drinks also on a large terasse overlooking the river and the old town. The rooms are spacious and very clean. The spa in the hotel is very relaxing and features 6 differnet saunas and 4 pools and a saline grotto.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roland W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2011

Have stayed at this hotel perhaps 4 or 5 times in the last 3 years for business. Very efficient; cheerful staff. Convenient to get to business meetings as the hotel fronts on the main road in Schwabisch Hall. River flows quietly pass the 'rear' of the hotel. Touring the town during off hours is a pleasure as local folks are often very helpful and friendly. Most everyone speaks a bit of English and they are often more anxious to practice their English than I am to try to remember my High School German. Long history in Town; some towers and buildings date back to the 14th Century and still in constant use, often by same founding families. Central Market plaza has Wednesday Farmer's Market, where fresh flowers and produce abound. Great regional specialties at the Restaurant Sonne in town; but the Hotel's own Bar Bistro [Jenseit's Kochers] also serves appealing meals and after hours drinks. Daily buffet breakfast included at additional cost but quite varied and delicious. Hotel does charge for Internet Access, which is about the only issue I have with the place. Excellent. Oh, and Schwabisch Hall has a long history of being the supplier of Salt, I think from Roman Times, so it is no surprise that the Hotel has TWO wonderful pools: one 'fresh' water'; the other from the native salt springs.

Room Tip: Face the River if you can. Great View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2011

Me in the basement?.
No chance for a better rating with this accomodation.
Been there for two nights, a three days biz meeting.
Location and the city Schwäbisch Hall is really nice, the most positive things here.
I´ve arrived with a couple of meeting members.
The room card´s are prepared, level 1 for me, down in the very basement.
Staff was not willing to check if there is another room available.
"We are sold out and there is no chance to switch reservations", was the answer.
No, thats for sure not what I really like.
The room was from the small side, shower only, the toilet not that really clean,
it seems that these basement rooms are not used every day.
Breakfast was once not ready at the announced opening time.
So, don´t know what the company payed here, but it seems to much.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FLIEGER67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2011

I have stayed here twice in the past few months on business and was very pleased with the service, location and facility. Lobby is beautiful and a nice place to relax on a Saturday afternoon. Bar is excellent with wonderful staff. You know you spend too much time there when they greet you with your favorite wheat beer in hand! Front desk is friendly and always willing to immediately assist. I did use the pool early in the morning since it was closed when I returned in the evening. Nice. Sauna was open during the day but never had a chance to try it (Roman style!!). Excellent location to restaraunts in town. Parking is tricky unless you don't mind th ewalk from the lower level. Finally, rooms were comfortable, clean and well appointed (asked for olive oil bar soap instead of using the liquid shower soap). The only thing I would complain about is the "thin" walls and celings! Every closet door, shower door, patio door closing could be heard quite clearly. If you are a light sleeper, this may be a problem.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zzz08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2010

A good hotel with a professional service ready to help those who do not speak German as is our case. Has two restaurants, the better of them very expensive for the quality it offers. Good Breakfast buffet.
However the SPA, with the several pools, is not exactly what announced on Internet. In our opinion it is not well indicated that access to them is open to the public: their use is not only for hotel's guests (quite a lot anyway). That means that in general but specially on weekends pools are completed crowded and hard to use. On the other hand, on weekdays the use of the sauna is established by genre. So one can discover upon arrival that she/he cannot use it if the stay do not cover a weekend.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Triper_07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2010

I've stayed at this hotel several times in 2009 and 2010 for business and it's a very nice hotel with great amenities. The breakfast is excellent. Great spread with pastries, bread, hot buffet. Breakfast is not over the top like some high end chains but it's definitely a good meal and included in the reasonable daily rate. Try the pretzel bread. It's excellent.

Rooms are clean and bed comfortable. For some reason, they don't give you soap, instead, have liquid soap by the sink and in the shower so you may want to consider bringing your own or get some from the supermarket which is only a minute or two from the hotel.

The location is excellent. Convenient to get to with a car (although parking can be a little tricky) and just a short stroll into town over the bridge. Can't beat the location.

The hotel has a great spa and various swimming pools (some salt water) but I never tried it. Heard it's great through others who tried.

There are double rooms in the new wing and singles throughout the maze of hallways. Overall, a good hotel to stay in if you're in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IBX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schwabisch Hall
0.3 mi away
Hotel Scholl
Hotel Scholl
#1 of 13 in Schwabisch Hall
170 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Goldener Adler
Hotel Restaurant Goldener Adler
#2 of 13 in Schwabisch Hall
104 reviews
0.2 mi away
Romantik Hotel Der Adelshof
Romantik Hotel Der Adelshof
#4 of 13 in Schwabisch Hall
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Smartino
Hotel Smartino
#6 of 13 in Schwabisch Hall
38 reviews
10.9 mi away
Mawell Resort
Mawell Resort
#1 of 2 in Langenburg
158 reviews
2 mi away
Landhaus Wolf
Landhaus Wolf
#9 of 13 in Schwabisch Hall
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hohenlohe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hohenlohe

Address: Weilertor 14, 74523 Schwabisch Hall, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Schwabisch Hall
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Schwabisch Hall
Price Range: £108 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hohenlohe 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HRS, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Hohenlohe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hohenlohe Hotel Schwäbisch Hall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing