We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's the location, not the context”
Review of Hotel Am Schloss

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Am Schloss
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Tubingen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Am Schloss designers had a nice idea of furnishing the hotel rooms with individual reminders of various important and Tubingen-related historical personalities (Holderlin, Kepler, Hauff). This is great for romantic souls; what might appeal mostly to an average visitor, however, is the lovely view towards the south and the excellent location next to the city castle. The rooms are clean, the hallways dynamic and worth pausing in; good breakfast; no elevator; limited parking; sort-of AC (just room unit, not a proper two-unit box).

Room Tip: All rooms face south, so don't come to this place to cool off in August.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ssirca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (169)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 169 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2014

the Hotel am Schloss is a no-frills hotel right on the castle walls in Tübingen. I find the bed a bit too hard, but then you can say that about almost all hotel beds in Germany. Their breakfast is very nice with a wide selection of cold and hot foods to choose from. The rooms are small but clean. Tübingen is an old university town and you should expect nocturnal student activities to be audible. The hotel has a restaurant where you get typical Swabian standards. Service depends who is attending to the front desk and ranges from grumpy (normal in Swabia) to friendly.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matt_Dina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Positives: Very much enjoyed the stay here. Clean, very well situated in the town. Lovely courtyard for breakfast. Good value.
Negatives: We had a problem with the WiFi from our room. Had to go out into the hallway to get a signal. Spoke to the front desk about this upon arrival and they didn't seem much interested in addressing issue. If you say you have wireless, it would be best to actually have proper coverage for your guest rooms.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Puiwia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We visited this hotel in August - a family of 3. But for our room, I would have given this hotel the highest rating -- they were very accommodating, changing our reservation to a bigger room just a couple of days before our visit. The staff during our visit were helpful. The breakfast was a delight - allowing overnight guest to enjoy their beautiful restaurant patio and inside rooms in the morning. However, likely as a result of our room change, we were placed in the annex. This is a separate building, across the street from the hotel. While still a good location as next to the castle and quiet, the room itself needs some updating. Time for new carpet and the sofa in the room had also seen better days -- Given our stay I would highly recommend this hotel, but not the annex rooms for the same price as the hotel rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Fairoakien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Hotel am Schloss is naturally next to the Schloss on the side of a hill overlooking Tubingen. The rooms are very comfortable and well designed to provide to your needs. Breakfast is full of good choices; meats, cheeses, jams, muesli, fruits, yogurts, etc.. Best of all are the people that work at this small hotel - they are friendly, helpful and always happy to see you. The restaurant is very good and worth a meal or two while you stay in Tubingen.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kciff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

My husband, our 9 year old daughter and I stayed in this hotel for one night. The location could not have been better. We had a view of the castle and it was gourgeous. The staff was very helpful. The Market Square is just around the corner and we spent some time sitting at the open air cafe and listening to music. It was somewhat tricky to get to the hotel because of construction and the street that the hotel is on didn't quite look like you could drive there. But the hotel had convenient parking once you made it there. Restaurant was great (we ate on the terrace) serving local Swabian cousine. The only down side was a lack of second bed for my daughter which made sleeping uncomfortable as the bed was made out of 2 single beds with a crack in the middle.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Youlia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

I really liked this hotel because of its location. Its right on top of the hill by the schloss. If you have a very big car id be a little careful because the ride up the hill is at one point very narrorw and generally quite steep. You can easily walk into town and are not close to most attractions. The rooms are nice, a little old fashioned but generally nice. The bbreakfast is included and the restaurant itself is very good. Nice traditional food and its not too pricy.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tubingen hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Krone Tuebingen
Hotel Krone Tuebingen
#2 of 18 in Tubingen
181 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Tubingen
Ibis Styles Tubingen
#1 of 18 in Tubingen
255 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel La Casa
Hotel La Casa
#3 of 18 in Tubingen
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Hospiz Tubingen
Hotel Hospiz Tubingen
#6 of 18 in Tubingen
162 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Garni Sand
Hotel Garni Sand
#10 of 18 in Tubingen
13 reviews
0.3 mi away
Domizil Tubingen
Domizil Tubingen
#8 of 18 in Tubingen
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Am Schloss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Am Schloss

Address: Burgsteige 18, 72070 Tubingen, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Tubingen
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Tubingen
Price Range: £94 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Am Schloss 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Am Schloss reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Am Schloss Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing