We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The walk between the hotel and the old town is the best part”
Review of Hotel am Bad

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel am Bad
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Tubingen
Reviewed 27 June 2012

We arrived before the check-in time but were allowed to park our car in front of the hotel while visiting Tubingen. It was a very pleasant walk to the old town along the Neckar river, with views of pretty mansions and the castle perching on the hill along the shore and people punting in the river. The section near town is parallel to the Plain tree island which is a lovely park.
The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast was very nice. However, our room is unremarkable. The pillows were too thin. The sound proofing needs improving. I was awakened at 2 a.m. by loud water-running sound next room, louder than in our room. Then I could hear the person next door snoring as if he was sleeping right next to me, very creepy. My husband did not hear a thing, so light sleepers be aware!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yi-Ling B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2012

I stayed in this hotel for a couple of nights in may, due to a fair in stuttgart everythinfg was full in 20 km from stuttgart.
Room plenty full of dust, bed uncomfortable, the bathroom was of 30 years ago.
The beakfast at least was acceptable.
on the other hand, I have enjoyed this town, full of young people, small, but in a way relaxing.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luquito1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

My husband & I stayed here for four nights in May 2011 and we loved this place. If we were ever back in Tubingen - which is a delightful city - we would not hesitate to stay here. The hotel is outside the downtown area, surrounded by green park land, next to a river. It was about a 15 min. walk from the train station - not the closest hotel, but worth it. The staff were exceedingly kind and helpful, as well as forthright and honest (they had quoted us a price a month before via email, and they charged us that exact price at the end of the week - no surprises!). The rooms were spacious and very clean. The included breakfasts had a whole feast of everything you could imagine for your morning meal. They had included wi-fi (the system for using it was a little strange - you had to request it in 1 hr, 2 hr, or 5 hr chunks, but could do this as many times as you wanted), which worked well. There are a couple of restaurants a block or so away, and then plenty of fun things to do & see in the city if you're up for a bit of a walk. It is near sports fields, which seem to be used by school children during the day, and can get a little noisy, but everything else was so pleasant that we did not mind. A wonderful place that we will always remember fondly & worth every cent we paid!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmyO45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2009

I made this reservation almost a year ahead of time and, when my daughter called them to confirm it the day we were supposed to arrive, she was told they could not find it? She did find out (and she speaks german) that they had suddenly booked a large group for that same time period. Does that seem like a coincidence? Luckily, she found us a room at another hotel in Tubingen the Hotel garni Kupferhammer. That hotel was a pleasant surprise!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank bsmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2007

I found this hotel through Trip Advisor reviews and asked my travel agent to book it. I am from Connecticut in the United States. The Hotel am Bad is a lovely little hotel at the end of a foot path past the main river in Tubingen.It is not too far from the train staition(we walked with luggage and it only took about 15 minutes) and it is on the bus line as well. It is a quiet and very clean hotel with a safe comfortable feeling. The management did not speak English, as I was only there for 3 nights and the women who does speak English was on vacation. That was not an obstacle, they were very accommodating and kind people. I had to leave very early for the airport on my departure and they provided me with a bit of breakfast the evening before and mananged to keep my tea warm. They also arranged for a taxi to take me to the train. It is a fine place to stay when visiting this University town, only about a 15 minute walk to the center of town, through a small woods along a river. Tubingen is a lovely little town with a number of attractions. If you are in the area I would definately stop for a few days and I would stay at the Hotel am Bad.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank spet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2005

I stayed at the Hotel Am Bad whilst visiting my daughter who is studying at the University in Tubingen for one year. Tubingen is a small university town south of Stuttgart. It has a pretty Altstadt and is on the River Neckar. Worth a visit if in the area.
I chose to stay at Hotel Am Bad after reading a review of Hotel Hospiz on Trip Advisor. The reviewer reported too many church bells in the vicinity of Hospiz. Am Bad is about a 15 minute walk from town but a pleasant walk through parkland by the river (Platanenallee - an island with Plane trees). Buses can also be caught from the end of the street to town or station. There is also easy parking for cars. The hotel is next to the outdoor swimming pool (Bad) and across the road from a football field and tennis courts. So it is very quiet.
The hotel was nothing flash but staff were friendly and helpful, breakfast was good and the rooms had a TV and bar fridge which is always useful. I was able to leave unwanted luggage at the hotel several times when I visited elsewhere and was able to have a late checkout on my last day without paying any extra.

15  Thank ALR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Paolo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tubingen hotels
1 mi away
Ibis Styles Tubingen
Ibis Styles Tubingen
#1 of 18 in Tubingen
260 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel La Casa
Hotel La Casa
#3 of 18 in Tubingen
127 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Krone Tuebingen
Hotel Krone Tuebingen
#2 of 18 in Tubingen
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Meteora
Meteora
#9 of 18 in Tubingen
65 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Garni Kupferhammer
Hotel Garni Kupferhammer
#7 of 18 in Tubingen
46 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Garni Sand
Hotel Garni Sand
#10 of 18 in Tubingen
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel am Bad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel am Bad

Address: Am Freibad 2, 72072 Tubingen, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Tubingen
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Tubingen
Price Range: £87 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel am Bad 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel am Bad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing