We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Your usual Garni experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Garni Kupferhammer
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Tubingen
Saarbrucken, Germany
Level Contributor
59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Your usual Garni experience”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Kupferhammer is a typical German garni hotel, popular with middle aged people on a business trip or perky elderly groups of local cyclers. The hotel was clean, the room was big enough and not as dusty as the garni hotels often are, but the bathroom was tiny. The lady at the reception was nice and cheerful and she informed me that they will be renovating soon (so maybe they'll solve the bathroom size problem). Breakfast was pretty standard but bio-yogurth was provided.

It takes 15 minutes to walk down to the town center or you can take the Sbahn from the Main train station. I paid 78 for a single (that turned out to be a double). Maybe it was worth a few euros less, but then again I didn't find many other options at a walking distance. Beware, reception not 24 hours a day.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank summerlude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    31
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
4
15
4
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vacaville, California
1 review
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Pro: Relatively inexpensive, clean, breakfast was more than adequate. A pleasant 5-10 min walk to the downtown area. They were painting some of the rooms while we stayed so they must be in the process of updating.

Con: A little on the small side.

We actually stayed here twice, once at the beginning of our trip and again at the end. The first room was fairly small, but the bathroom was decently sized. The second room was a little larger, but the bathroom was small. If you are going to hang out in your room much you may want a bigger place, but if you are looking for a good location, a clean room and a nice breakfast to get you started in the morning then I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Kupferhammer is an excellent value boarding for travelers on a budget. The rooms are well appointed with the only downside being the limited channels on the telly. Run by Steffen and Ines, the hotel offers complimentary breakfast, minibar, and a dining room. The parking is limited, so please call in advance to place a request for your parking needs.

Room Tip: You could get the best deal by just speaking with Steffen :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
60 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

PRO: Relatively clean, breakfast included, thanks to shutters the room can be very dark and quiet, windows can be opened

CONTRA: Reception somewhat tepid, everything is loveless (old and in need to be replaced), 60ies look and feel, breakfast also loveless, smalest TV I have seen in a very long time (can hardly see the picture from the bed), nothing of interest in walking distance.

I do not want to stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SaturdaySoftware
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tubingen hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Lodz, Poland
Level Contributor
810 reviews
287 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 441 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2011

The hotel is small, located in the suburbs of Tubingen, but with walking distance to the down town. The room, we got, was rather small with extra small bathroom. The furnishing is old, dated and the walls need renovation. Breakfast was rich, typical German and apart of free parking is the strongest point of this destination. The rate we paid - 90 € is too high for this standard.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank laserkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
90 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

This hotel is not bad, and was reasonable value for money, but it had rather a dated, tired feeling about it, and the double bed we had was not comfortable at all. Breakfast was good, and the location was OK. It is about a 10 minute walk into the old town which is pretty and well worth a visit. And I also believe it is well situated for the Uni. But there are other hotels which are right in the middle of the old town which looked very nice but were probably very costly. It served a purpose for a night, and the hotel owners were very attentive. We worried about the fact that it is on quite a busy road, but by nightfall that died down, so noise was not an issue.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AMP2008London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2009

We stayed here two nights. The rooms were basic but clean. The family that runs the hotel was very nice and the hotel has a good breakfast. There is plenty of free parking and it is quiet at night. It is an easy 7-8 minute walk to the old town along a quiet street. The hotel has free wireless in the rooms. The owners were very eager to help us in any way they could.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wannatravlmor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tubingen hotels
1.0 mi away
Ibis Styles Tubingen
Ibis Styles Tubingen
#1 of 18 in Tubingen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Am Schloss
Hotel Am Schloss
#4 of 18 in Tubingen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel La Casa
Hotel La Casa
#3 of 18 in Tubingen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Krone Tuebingen
Hotel Krone Tuebingen
#2 of 18 in Tubingen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Hospiz Tubingen
Hotel Hospiz Tubingen
#6 of 18 in Tubingen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.9 mi away
Domizil Tubingen
Domizil Tubingen
#7 of 18 in Tubingen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garni Kupferhammer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garni Kupferhammer

Property: Hotel Garni Kupferhammer
Address: Westbahnhofstr. 57, 72070 Tubingen, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Tubingen
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Tubingen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Garni Kupferhammer 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unsere Gaste erhalten einen kostenfreien Parkplatz, geniessen super schnelles WLAN gratis. Auf den Zimmern befinden sich Nespresso - Kaffeemaschinen, Mineralwasser, Wein und ein Angebot an Snacks. Alle Zimmer haben HD Flachbild TV und moderne Bader. Fur unsere Fahrradtouristen steht eine eigene, abschliessbare Fahrrad - Parkgarage bereit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and HRS so you can book your Hotel Garni Kupferhammer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing