We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mother's day weekend”
Review of Castaways Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Castaways Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Waiuku B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 May 2014

As a surprise for my parents on the Mother's Day weekend 9 to 11 of May 2014 my wife and I hired one of the two bedroom / 2 bathroom Chalets at Castaways. It was a magical weekend for all four of us but especially so for my parents. It was so heart warming to see them smile and enjoy themselves even if it was for a short time. We played Petanque, my father and I even had a session of Archery onsite...thoroughly enjoyed that as well. Lovely people running the resort in particular Gary in reception and Joel with the Archery. Wonderful food that couldn't be faulted. The rooms were clean and tidy and had everything we needed, beds were super comfortable but the icing on the cake was the view of Kariotahi beach from our balcony. Every Chalet from what we could see has a view of the ocean...it truly is magical and where we can we will head back to Castaways. Regards, Clint & Jude

Room Tip: Any of the Chalets will give you a stunning view...you can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clint M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kylie H, Director of Sales at Castaways Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Hello Clint & Jude.
Thank you so much for your wonderful review.
It sounds like you had a fabulous weekend with us at Castaways Resort - great photos!
What a wonderful treat for your parents and neat to see that you enjoyed many of our onsite services, including activities which are always fun.
Thanks again for sharing your review with others - we know guests find Trip Advisor really helpful in hearing what other guests have experienced and this gives them confidence of where to book - so thanks for helping us to help more people discover our little slice of paradise!
The team at Castaways Resort look forward to being of service to you all again in the future.
Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (216)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 216 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

I stayed at this hotel at the end of March for a wedding and I LOVED the venue, really beautiful and the accommodation was clean, spacious and beautiful. Roddy from the venue was fantastic, really helpful and kept everything running smoothly, band was great and food was delicious. The major issue we had was with the accommodation managers. They were rude, unhelpful and sullen, multiple issues with various members of our family and really let down the overall experience. Apart from their attitude and performance the experience couldn't have been better!

Room Tip: Rooms are really large and modern, well equipped and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kylie H, Director of Sales at Castaways Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Hi Amie.

Thank you for your review and wonderful to hear of the fab time you had at your friends wedding at Castaways Resort. Our venue team love providing guests like yourself with great experiences and we receive wonderful feedback about our food, so very glad you enjoyed your dining experience also.

On the flipside, I am concerned to read that you experienced not such good service from our Lodge team. I would like to look into this matter and see what went wrong as we are always focused on improvement where this is needed. Would you be so kind as to email me with some specifics at kylie@castaways.co.nz so that I may take a look at this.

Many thanks in advance for your assistance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Very relaxing way to end our trip. The chalets are well equipped and the restaurant is fantastic. Had a small issue with housekeeping which the hotel manager made amends for. Look forward to going back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kylie H, Director of Sales at Castaways Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Hello Claire.
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review.
Wonderful to hear that we provided a nice relaxing conclusion to your trip.

We often find overseas visitors can do with a day or two to simply relax before they hop on the plane back home and with our tranquil setting and facilities including Bersantai Day Spa, many visitors find Castaways Resort to be the ideal destination to take a breather.

We look forward to being of service to you again in the future and if you have any friends or family visiting Auckland that could do with a relaxing break, please let them know about Castaways - we'd love to share our slice of paradise with them too.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We were married here in April 2014 and everything from start to finish was impeccable. The detailed help from the wedding planner to the accommodation office’s help with organizing guests and rooms was faultless. We had an amazing memorable day as all of the staff/service went above and beyond for us and the food was raved about by everyone. The views are amazing, and being married on the cliff tops over looking the ocean was a beautiful experience.

To be able to stay in the amazing accommodation before the wedding with the wedding party and then having the guests stay after the wedding was one of the highlights, as was to be able to have breakfast in the restaurant with all of the guests the following morning before everyone left to go home.

We also indulged in a little pampering before the wedding at the onsite spa in the AMAZING, massive outdoor Balinese stone baths that look out over the ocean. It was sheer bliss soaking in a deep bubble bath with the magnificent view in the outdoors!!.

I HIGHLY recommended this venue for a wedding (or a weekend away) as it has everything you need, a wedding planner, a spa for pampering, accommodation and a restaurant open 7 days for breakfast/lunch/dinner, and brilliant staff and service! :)

Thanks for making our day so Magic for us and such a memorable experience for both ourselves and our guests.

Mr & Mrs Sonne

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JSonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kylie H, Director of Sales at Castaways Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Thank you so much for your wonderful review.
Our team truly enjoyed providing you with a great experience for your special day recently.

We believe that every wedding couple is unique and although we have helped hundreds of wedding couples over the years now, for us it is a real privilege to be selected as your venue partner for such a memorable occasion and we are committed to ensuring every couples wedding experience is truly wonderful.

Thanks again for taking the time to post your review.
We wish you both a long and happy journey together and we hope to see you back at Castaways Resort for one of your anniversaries.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

I was lucky enough to spend a night at Castaways. What a delight, our Chalet perched on top of the cliff allowed fantastic views over the west coast, black sand beach. The Chalet was well equipped and very clean. I had three treatments at the Spa, where the Hot Stone Massage was exceptional - the therapist was very professional and attentive and the surroundings of the Spa provided a very relaxing ambience. We ate at the Restaurant, where the menu had something for everyones taste and the food did not disappoint.

I will be going to Castaways again and again - can't wait.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kylie H, Director of Sales at Castaways Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2014

Hello Ann.
Thank you so much for your lovely review.
We are so glad you had such an enjoyable time at our little piece of paradise and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Be sure to have a look at our glam camping experience on our website - we're receiving amazing feedback from customers who have tried it out and it may be a heat experience to try next time you are with us.
Have a fab week and thanks again for your great review.
Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Just come back from an amazing night away at castaways, chalets were wonderful, clean and spectacular views. The restaurant had a wonderful menu, and friendly staff. The spa, just wow, I was lucky to have three treatments, all were equally great. The therapists were very professional and were excellent at making me feel totally relaxed. Overall a perfect weekend, I didn't want to leave!! I will look forward to returning!!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Claire E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kylie H, Director of Sales at Castaways Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Hello Claire.
Thank you so much for your wonderful review!
We are so pleased you had such a fabulous time with us. We have developed Castaways Resort so that there is a wide range of services available and having our gorgeous day spa onsite now is a lovely string to our bow and enables us to provide a true resort experience to our guests.
We look forward to hosting you again sometime soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

The two bedroom chalets are very nice and comfortable and have absolutely breath taking views BUT the staff at the accommodation office are not at all welcoming and at times downright rude. Even when they were not being rude, never once a smile. When we settled up after spending 2 nights at a cost of $740 all they said was thanks and good bye. No "hope you enjoyed your stay", "how was everything". In fact they don't care how everything was, they know people will come here for the stunning location.

The rooms are spacious and nicely furnished but a few irritations - the cooking facilities and cooking utensils are very basic (they want you to eat in the onsite restaurant), they don't provide soap - only shower gel - which is not our thing. These things are not an issue at $140 a night but at $340 could be better.

On the plus side, they do provide unlimited Wi-Fi included in the price which was very welcome as there is no cell phone coverage out here.

Also on day 2 they knew we were there for a wedding at 3pm yet they came to service our room at 2pm while we were all getting dressed and ready for the wedding. Clueless.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nzaqua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kylie H, Director of Sales at Castaways Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Thank you for your review.
I'm sorry the friendliness of our service wasn't at our usual standard. We have the pleasure of hosting many wonderful guests during our busy wedding season and we do like to provide a warm and welcoming level of service.
Following your feedback we have spoken with our team and reminded them of the impact they make to each and every one of our guests, so thank you for bringing this matter to our attention.
I hope we have the pleasure of hosting you again sometime in the future.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waiuku
16.1 mi away
Tuakau Hotel
Tuakau Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tuakau
144 reviews
20.5 mi away
Novotel Auckland Airport
21.7 mi away
Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.8 mi away
Sudima Auckland Airport Hotel
8.3 mi away
Port Waikato Holiday Park
Port Waikato Holiday Park
#1 of 1 in Port Waikato
43 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Kentish Hotel
The Kentish Hotel
#2 of 2 in Waiuku
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castaways Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castaways Resort

Address: 685 Karioitahi Road | Karioitahi Beach, Waiuku, Auckland, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Waiuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Waiuku
Price Range: £90 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castaways Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castaways Resort is located on the stunning cliff tops of Kariotahi Beach, Auckland.With a fabulous range of services available, friendly and helpful staff and a commitment to providing wonderful experiences to guests, Castaways Resort is Auckland most popular cliff top ocean front resort.Be pampered at onsite Bersantai Day Spa, recharge with a walk along the ocean beach below, savour as you dine on the cliff tops at Agave Restaurant with the sounds of the ocean below, have fun with onsite activities such as 4WDing, archery and blokarting and relax in seaview accommodation - it's all here at Castaways Resort.Wonderful as a weekend getaway, perfect for a stopover during your New Zealand holiday (Aucklands International airport is only 45 minutes away), gorgeous as a wedding destination, ideal for your next conference or retreat and a true escape for a day trip, Castaways Resort is not to be missed! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Castaways Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing