We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good introduction to Germany”
Review of Hotel Sonnenmatte

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Sonnenmatte
Ranked #19 of 20 Hotels in Titisee-Neustadt
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A good introduction to Germany”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We only stayed one night and we arrived late. It was mid October so we only paid 35Euros for the room which for the price we paid was adequate and reflected the state of the place. Sometimes when you opt for a place that's 35Euros per night you can only hope that it's clean and kept reasonably tidy. I wasn't expecting much and we didn't get much. Our room was clean enough, no real complaints. As we arrived late we had dinner in the restaurant which was also fine in a take-away place kind of standard. Nothing fancy. And the staff were also of that standard.The surrounds were lovely though and was a great location to kick start our journey Northward into the Pfalz region. All in all a pleasent stay that didn't bust the wallet.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kamelion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    8
    30
    19
    40
See reviews for
29
33
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

I went as part of a school trip and I was a bit anxious because of all the reviews and if you are like I was now and looking through these reviews then please just take a moment to read this one.When I first got there even though we had previously sorted out rooms either the hotel or teachers had split them up and spent and extra half an hour after a 12hour journey deciding who in the 64 people present were going to have which room.After choosing a random one,my group and I went up to our rooms and unlocked the door(number 35,very good room by the way) which wasn't easy as the card system is hard(make sure the card has clicked before attempting to open the door)and was shocked by what we saw.After a very long hot journey,we were able to sleep on one of the comfiest beds ever,relax on the balcony,watch tv and have a great shower because of what great condition the hotel rooms were in.Everyone came down to dinner refreshed and pleased with their room.Food was amazing and after every one of the five long days we were there,I looked forward to come back to this hotel.

Room Tip: If the teachers give you a choice,pick a room from numbers 28+ Caz
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Louise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans B, Manager at Hotel Sonnenmatte, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Danke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Although the surrounding Black Forest, the nearby Swimming Paradise and the town of Titisee-Neustadt are all amazing, must see places, the Gasthaus Sonnenmatte really isn't somewhere you would want to stay.

Firstly, the rooms here were not really up to standard, and were certainly not worth the price. The doors were hard to open and inside it was cramped. The shower looked like it hadn't been cleaned in months but the water from the taps was OK. Moreover, the place was filled with bugs so you couldn't open a window at night-time, and even if you did, the room would soon be full of the putrid smell of farm-animals.

The swimming pool was effectively unusable. It looked like it hadn't ever been cleaned, with the surface brimmed with dead bugs and bits of hay. The playground was merely a slide and some swings, and at night there was absolutely nothing in the form of light, so we would have to slowly navigate our way around the hotel to not trip on anything.

Breakfast in the restaurant was bearable, mostly thanks to the tea, but variety is thin so you don't have much choice other than bread and ham. Had we stayed more than 2 nights it would have been less endurable to eat.

Our stay here certainly wasn't pleasant, but if you have no other choice, then it isn't too bad for a night or two.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FullSpe3d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans B, Manager at Hotel Sonnenmatte, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Google Translation
Auch hier tut uns leid das es nicht genug war Wir werden uns weiter verbessern
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Titisee-Neustadt hotels

derbyshire
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

If you like very poor hygiene, bad smells, dirty bed linen and grubby, thin, used to be white but now grey towels, filthy public rooms and staircases, a dirty swimming pool and appalling junk / processed/ instant / canned food then this is right up your street! Oh and human hairs on your chips!

(NB.This is not in any way a reflection of the person who booked on my behalf.)

The male member of staff was very abrupt and obviously hates his job. The female bar tender too. Huffing and puffing and rolling their eyes at simple requests like " drei grosse bier bitte"
The moment I stepped through the front door for my stay I felt really uncomfortable. The makeshift passages that link 3 houses are filthy, with junk furniture, paving slabs indoors!! and carpet tiles which have great gaps through to bare concrete and holes in the stair carpets.They were more like farm lean to's or animal sheds. No risk assessment there then!! Nor in my bathroom when I unplugged the hair dryer and the whole socket came out in my hand.

The 'family' sit around eating and smoking in the guest areas and although quick to grumble never greet guests with a good morning, etc and a smile.
The grass outside was unkempt and very uneven, not a "lawn " and the pool was a large pond liner anchored at each corner with a plastic planter filled with bricks, stones or rubble. The filter was full of rotting leaves, was not pumping and had no sanitiser block. Another reviewer said they had a sauna but it was not visible to us. They say that the camera doesn't lie but in this case it does when you see the pics on the website.
On more than one occasion dirty glasses were given to us and water with the meals was drunk from cheap, disposable plastic cups. This type of cup was also provided in bedrooms. There is a pic on the website of table napkins neatly folded but none were there when I stayed.
I took all of my valuables with me each day as I didn't feel I could trust the staff.
The best advice is just don't go there...........ever!!!!!!

Room Tip: Best room............... go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank borrowedtheboots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans B, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Sonnenmatte, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Google Translation
Tut uns leid das ihr Aufenthalt so völlig daneben gegangen ist. Gerne hätten Sie mit uns darüber sprechen können Entschuldigung
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 18 July 2013

hundreds of insects in therooms made it unbearable and hard to sleep. the host wasnt very nice and i felt she was unapproachable, the food was alright some nights and the mattress' were really compfy. i feel this hotel needs to improve and make the rooms cleaner and remove any insects.

Helpful?
Thank tcabxl
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hans B, Manager at Hotel Sonnenmatte, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Google Translation
ja das wird so erledigt aber wir sind auf dem Land da kann man nicht alle Insekten entfernen.
Aber es geht voran Danke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hereford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

This hotel being rated a 2 star should be stripped. My reason being the bed sheets smelt like urine the door of the bedroom was coming off its hinges. The food, well lets just say all I ate was toast and had to buy extra food while I was out. So if you are planning on taking a trip to this area please make sure that you check the state of the hotel first.

Room Tip: I was in a corner rooms and it seems to be the biggest one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hunhun2788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans B, Manager at Hotel Sonnenmatte, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Google Translation
Bitte um Entschuldigung man hat immer eine Wahl, man muss nicht solche Sachen ertragen einfach Bescheid geben dann wir das erledigt Danke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinsale, Co.Cork
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

The Hotel staff was friendly – however, their English was very poor, but good enough.
The room was clean, functional and big enough.
The reason we picked this Hotel was the cheap price, so don’t expect anything fancy.
The food is not great going on awful, if you stay there – eat out, it’s cheaper and better elsewhere.
The breakfast is just alright and will do the job, but it’s no thrills and drills.

Excellent located for hiking and it’s in an idyllic location, if you like to be in walking distance to pubs and bars this is not the place. You will need a car to get there, since it’s located on the country side between Neustadt and Titisee, near the Badeparadis.

We stayed there for a weekend in September 2012.

Room Tip: Dinner is not great going on awful, if you stay there – eat out, it’s cheaper and better elsewhere...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GermanInIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans B, Manager at Hotel Sonnenmatte, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Google Translation
Danke Faire Bewertung
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Titisee-Neustadt hotels
2.4 mi away
Boutique-Hotel Alemannenhof
Boutique-Hotel Alemannenhof
#3 of 20 in Titisee-Neustadt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
3.7 mi away
Cafe -Pension Feldbergblick
Cafe -Pension Feldbergblick
#6 of 20 in Titisee-Neustadt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
1.7 mi away
Maritim TitiseeHotel
Maritim TitiseeHotel
#7 of 20 in Titisee-Neustadt
3.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Gasthaus Loeffelschmiede
Gasthaus Loeffelschmiede
#12 of 20 in Titisee-Neustadt
3.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Baren
Hotel Baren
#1 of 20 in Titisee-Neustadt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
1.4 mi away
Action Forest Active Hotel
Action Forest Active Hotel
#4 of 20 in Titisee-Neustadt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sonnenmatte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sonnenmatte

Property: Hotel Sonnenmatte
Address: Spriegelsbachstr. 5-8, 79822 Titisee-Neustadt, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Titisee-Neustadt
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Titisee-Neustadt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Sonnenmatte 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sonnenmatte between Titisee and Neustadt near the Spa Badeparadies Schwarzwald Germany Black Forest simple Hotel Rooms with all with shower and toilet and social- wifi at the Hotel. at hte bottom of the spriegelsbach Valley with Bus stop every hour to Titisee Mainstation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Sonnenmatte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gasthaus Sonnenmatte Titisee Neustadt
Hotel Sonnenmatte Germany/Titisee-Neustadt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing