We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Rafael B
Bern, Switzerland

Great hotel

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 7 Feb 2017via mobile
I was there with my girlfriend for a weekend for doing some wellness. The hotel is situated a bit far from the village (and train station) Überlingen so a car is certainly practical, however we went by bus and train and were picked up at the train station by one of the employees (prior notice is necessary!)

The first impression of the hotel was very good. There are enough parking lots (note that the hotel has also a restaurant and parking can be full on weekends) and the outter surrounding is clean and neat.
Overall the friendliness of the staff was very good. The hotel manager who also cooks comes every day and meal to check if everything is ok and if we are enjoying the stay. For us, who like such treating it was really great!
The food is also an absolute highlight! The breakfast buffet is big and versatile. The lunch and dinner is highly elaborated and really good! The Schnitzel as well as the beef was very tender and delicious! Apart from the food the waiters are cery friendly and competent and the restaurant has a very nice and relaxed athmosphere (in the sense of decoration, music etc.)
The wellness and Spa is quiet new and for this size of the hotel appropriate. It has a Sanarium, a Sauna, a small tub with whirlpool function, a fitness room (mainly machines for cardio vascular training) and a relaxation area.

Despite the many positive things, there were also some negative points: the ventilation in the bath is quiet noisy (we were situated in the older party of the hotel). Furthermore, most of the jacks did not work as well as the two lamps next to the bed.
At some places one saw a bit of spiderweb and the linens as well as the bath towels had some spots of earlier use.
In the Spa the problem was that the Sauna was not turned on (on both days) and we had to call someone to turn it on. Even then the Sauna did not work until the Spa responsable person showed up in the afternoon. However, obe must say that the employees really tried to turn it on and male it work.
As a last point one can say that the internet is rather slow (connection and when surfing) but we were there for wellness and not working so it was fine.

All in all it was a great stay and recommendable, especially the food!
Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £165
  • Expedia.com
    £169
1.0 miles from Romantik Hotel Johanniter-Kreuz
Free Wifi
Free parking
... and from the other side too
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
1.2 miles from Romantik Hotel Johanniter-Kreuz
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
1.5 miles from Romantik Hotel Johanniter-Kreuz
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £202
  • Expedia.com
    £208
1.7 miles from Romantik Hotel Johanniter-Kreuz
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • ZenHotels.com
1.6 miles from Romantik Hotel Johanniter-Kreuz
Free Wifi
Restaurant
The Honeymoon Suite
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
1.8 miles from Romantik Hotel Johanniter-Kreuz
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotel view from ferry boat
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
1.6 miles from Romantik Hotel Johanniter-Kreuz
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
1.4 miles from Romantik Hotel Johanniter-Kreuz
Free Wifi
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
1.6 miles from Romantik Hotel Johanniter-Kreuz
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
2.8 miles from Romantik Hotel Johanniter-Kreuz
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Überlingen
Reviews (76)
Filter reviews
76 results
Traveller rating
36
26
9
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
36
26
9
2
3
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 76 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed at Romantik Johanniter Kreuz for three nights on a recent business trip. Hotel is in quiet area well away from lake area. Must drive to sample other restaurants. Very attentive staff -- front desk and restaurant. Nicely appointed high-ceiling room with large doors to the outside. Room did not have fan so had to leave doors open at night to cool down the room; no screens, so did get bug bites. Restaurant has varied dinner menu; red wine selection was limited and of low quality. Nice selection of breakfast items. Attentiveness of staff is outstanding.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank CimarronCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 August 2016

Just enjoyed a lovely week at this hotel. Staff very friendly and welcoming do their best to help you have a comfortable stay. Lovely breakfasts. Nice quiet location. Comfortable beds and good size room. We stayed in the modern part of the hotel.

Date of stay: August 2016
Thank heartbeatmusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This was my 2nd time here, once again for the Eurobike. Unfortunately this time we had a very small room in the main building. Thankfully, we were only here for two nights. I have the feeling that this is actually a single room but they just placed two duvets on the bed! The bad was tiny, only 4 clothes hangers in a small wardrobe and no place for cases.The restaurant was excellent as before and the service was also very good. I think the price of €130 per night for the room too much. The hotel is situated about 4KM from Überlingen, and all uphill, so there is not much chance of walking into the main town in the evenings. As stated earlier, the restaurant is very good so one can stay in the hotel, but for a longer stay, you would certainly need a car. Although the Eurobike was on in Friedrichshafen, it is a 38KM cycle or drive so not really should one be paying a surcharge for the fair. I will still come back again, but next time ensure that we get a proper double room in the new building.

Room tip: Make sure you have a large room in the new building.
Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gunnerbelieveit
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 October 2012

We stumbled on this hotel on a dark, dreary afternoon. It is not on the lake but 3 km out of Uberlingen so no views of water but in a small village. Quaint. The new section is ultra modern. The room had parquet floors, lots of space and a beautifully designed bathroom. Can't speak about the older section. The double room was 150 Eur. A little steep but I think business conferences are held here and maybe that accounts for the price. The restaurant was very good and chef came out to ensure we enjoyed the meal. WiFi provided and a single computer available. Breakfast buffet was large and varied.

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madisongirl2106
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Although the Hotel can be found under Überlingen, it is about 4km outside the town centre. I was on my bike but this did not present a problem. The hotel was super. I had a wonderful double room in the new extension. Spotlessly clean, a large room with super comfortable double bed. Bathroom with a separate shower and toilet also separate. The only thing that was missing were a few extras in the bathroom, such as body lotion sewing kit, shoe horn....
A tea maker (Hot water boiler) would also not be amiss. This is standard in all B&Bs and hotels in the UK, Ireland and some of the Commonwealth countries.
The restaurant was very good. Menu is not too big but what is on there is superb. Again, only critic would be that with an after dinner coffee a chocolate or truffle would be welcome.

Room tip: As I was in the new extension and have no comparison had to advise..
Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gunnerbelieveit
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews