We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
eDreams
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Hugo S

Couldn't be more charming!

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 28 Jun 2016via mobile
The ivy-covered walls suggest the cozy scene within, and the historically costumed reception staff are very happy to see guests arrive. The room was generously sized, and the dining room is a scene from a movie (Sound of Music genre). It might sound hokey but in reality it's beautiful and welcoming. I can't understand why all hotels in the Lake Constance area use heavy down comforters even when it's hot outside, but otherwise, the Schapfle is an ideal place to stay, quiet but on a charming commercial street, walking distance to the adorable harbor and ferry. The only thing you'll need to know is how to pronounce it if you get lost: SHEP-FLAY.
Date of stay: June 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.1 miles from Hotel Restaurant Weinstube Schapfle
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • ZenHotels.com
0.2 miles from Hotel Restaurant Weinstube Schapfle
Free Wifi
Free parking
Lol.travel
  • Vio.com
0.0 miles from Hotel Restaurant Weinstube Schapfle
Free Wifi
Restaurant
The Honeymoon Suite
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • ZenHotels.com
0.3 miles from Hotel Restaurant Weinstube Schapfle
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.3 miles from Hotel Restaurant Weinstube Schapfle
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotel view from ferry boat
Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
  • Lol.travel
0.1 miles from Hotel Restaurant Weinstube Schapfle
Free Wifi
Restaurant
... and from the other side too
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • ZenHotels.com
0.4 miles from Hotel Restaurant Weinstube Schapfle
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • ZenHotels.com
0.2 miles from Hotel Restaurant Weinstube Schapfle
Free Wifi
Doppelzimmer Komfort Luisenhöhe
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.6 miles from Hotel Restaurant Weinstube Schapfle
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Lol.travel
4.4 miles from Hotel Restaurant Weinstube Schapfle
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Überlingen
Reviews (40)
Filter reviews
40 results
Traveller rating
18
20
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
18
20
2
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 40 reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2016

The hotel Schäpfle is a hotel “Garni” located on the main street of Überlingen. The lakeside promenade is just 30 meters away. The hotel is decorated with lots of charm in a traditional way. The rooms giving on a side alley are quiet.
The rooms are comfortably furnished with a double bed, as normally seen in Germany having two mattresses of 90 cms. The equipment is of a small sitting area, a work desk and a fridge. The bath room is as bright and clean.
The extensive breakfast buffet leaves nothing to be desired. Unfortunately the nice restaurant has ceased to operate. Behind the hotel are various eating options. The hotel has an arrangement with a covered car park at the entrance of Überlingen. The hotel is handing out an access card. The fee is € 5.- / 24 hours.
The staff were all courteous and polite. We felt very much at home in the hotel Schäpfle.

Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Riesst
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 September 2014

Just a few metres from Boden Lake you find Hotel Schäpfle. My wife and I stayed there for a couple of days in August 2014. We had a very good time. The hotel offers good rooms, a good breakfast and good evening meals for a fair price. It lies very convinient for walks along the lake and in the city of Ueberlingen. Although the hotel is in the centre of the city you can easily park your car in a nearby parking garage for only five euro's a day. All in all we were really happy for having chosen Hotel Schäpfle.

Date of stay: August 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank piwil
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 December 2012

We stayed at Schapfle in Advent period (5 december), the season is very low and we payed 90 euro, not cheap but the room was very spacious and confortable. The staff is very friendly and for 5 euro more you have a place in the near parking facility. The breakfast was good, not exceptional. All in all very good.

Room tip: probably the front lake are spectacular but they cost a lot more.
Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Acochopo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 September 2012

This hotel is a perfect location just off the promenade, and you can easily walk to everything! The front staff is really pleasant and eager the help. The rooms are spacious and quaint. The door and the floors are not silent, but it adds to the rustic feeling. The bathroom in room 21 is quite small, but adequate. Breakfast buffet was plentiful. The only real negative is the parking. It was great to know that the car was secure, but not right at the hotel.I would recommend the hotel for anyone who wants s short term stay at the lake.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chocaholic1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Stayed in this hotel for two nights on our Summer Holiday. Room 20 on the 1st floor near to the side entrance which was only a few yards away from the lakeside promenade...very pretty.
Room was spacious immaculately clean and with a very large bathroom containing shower,toilet and wash basin. No bath if you like a soak which didnt bother us.
Staff very friendly and helpful. Didnt eat in the hotel other than breakfast which was very good and in a beautiful dining room, but the restaurant always seemed to be full at night.No parking at the hotel so you had to pull up outside, unload your luggage and then take the car to a multi storey car park about 15 minutes walk away but for which the hotel give a discounted rate for guests...5 Euros per night. Didnt have a problem but it could be a bit of a hassle for some guests...older/families with young children. Paid 104 Euros per night for bed and breakfast which for the standard of the hotel I thought was very good.
Uberlingen is a very pretty harbour town with plenty going on. We had a trip to nearby Meersburg...caught the bus at the station near the multi storey car park, about a twenty minute ride and about6 euros I think. Meersburg was very pretty and worth a visit.
Overall, a very enjoyable stay at this lovely hotel. Would definitely stay there again.

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wood-burners
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews