We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel near lake”
Review of Hotel Ochsen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Ochsen
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Uberlingen
Stocksfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“good hotel near lake”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed for 2 nights 2 weeks ago and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We arrived and was greeted by a lovely receptionist who showed us where to park free of charge and we then took the lift to the second floor to our room. it had a side view of the lake and road. There was little noise except on the night Germany won a match in the world cup!!! We didn't use the lift except to take our case up because there was a wide grand staircase with huge landings that we appreciated. From the 1st floor you can get out onto a shared balcony with seats to enjoy the sun. We liked Uberlingen with all it's restaurants and the ferries. We visited Meersburg and Maineau island easily on the ferry. You could spend all day on the island as the gardens are extensive. The breakfasts were good and we enoiyed 1 dinner sat in the garden

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pauline w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    17
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
16
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Hotel Ochsen is a traditional German hotel in historic Uberlingen, run by the same family for more than 100 years. Excellent central location; garage for bicycles, Wifi, very nice breakfast included. Hotel also provides good sized guest lounge/library with computer; lots of stairs might be a problem for some visitors; nice little supermarket across the street for wine, snacks, picnic lunch etc.
We started with a small but reasonably priced room and had planned to stay just overnight. But due to unforeseen circumstances, we decided to stay 2 more days and moved to a larger room with a balcony (an expensive treat) with lovely views of street/ square/ lake/town. Our only disappointment was the one evening we ate in the hotel dining room, overpriced and not to our taste.
This is a very popular area for German tourists in the summer and is often fully booked with visitors who return annually; destination for walking, cycling, touring, boat tours, wineries, spas… Nice place to visit, but we probably won’t be back. Recommend? Maybe.

Room Tip: room with balcony is lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JML544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

My long return nothing to do with the hotel, the staff where very helpful and welcoming. The evening meal in the restaurant was good, I had a single room which was a good size and well kept. Hotel is on the main street but only open to pedestrians, Uberlingen is a good base to start from, I went to the Insell Mainau which is a ferry ride away, Lindua Island which was a very good day out and I had a day in the town (Uberlingen) which I enjoyed. I was a little unlucky with the weather but still saw all that I wanted, only there for 3 nights but worth it.

Room Tip: My room looked out over the main pedestrian way, I was on the 2nd floor but no issues with noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raymond B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

On our way home driving from Italy we stopped at Lake Constance and the town of Uberlingen, had not booked and just picked this hotel as it had parking. Very pleasant one nights stay, easy walking distant to the lake, staff were very helpful. Hotel established we believe in the late 1800's nice feel with modern rooms and good breakfast. They had their own private car park across the road which was helpful for us. Hotel has a lift.
One small niggle, bigger towels please.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wenwud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Comfortable hotel within easy walking distance of the lake and good shopping in Uberlingen. Immaculately clean and well serviced room although a little small in the bathroom. A tiny bit noisy at night, but as it was after the German v Italy football match, can only blame noisy Italians for celebrating well into the night - and then a huge thunderstorm... followed by a nightingale singing at 4.30 in the morning - which was a joy.
Excellent breakfast and quiet efficient service by all staff. Free parking in hotel car park.

Room Tip: Maybe ask for room at side of the hotel not overlooking the road - although exceptional circumstance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 89BeeW89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uberlingen
1.0 mi away
Parkhotel St. Leonhard
Parkhotel St. Leonhard
#3 of 21 in Uberlingen
204 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bad-Hotel
Bad-Hotel
#1 of 21 in Uberlingen
156 reviews
1.5 mi away
Romantik Hotel Johanniter-Kreuz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Alpenblick Garni
Hotel Alpenblick Garni
#8 of 21 in Uberlingen
29 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aparthotel Stadtgarten
Aparthotel Stadtgarten
#13 of 21 in Uberlingen
16 reviews
6.2 mi away
Aqua Hotel & Hostel
Aqua Hotel & Hostel
#10 of 34 in Konstanz
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ochsen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ochsen

Property: Hotel Ochsen
Address: Muensterstr. 48, 88662 Uberlingen, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Uberlingen
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Uberlingen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ochsen 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HRS and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Ochsen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing