We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Airport Hotel ? Wrong....” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Munchen Freising Airport

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mercure Munchen Freising Airport
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Freising
Geneva
Level Contributor
130 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Airport Hotel ? Wrong....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

The Name says it all...Dorint Munich Airport. However...
Even if confirmed at booking time - no Airport shuttle available. Taxi must be taken, with a cost of ca. EUR 30.00 oneway from the Airport. Distance from the airport some 8 miles, in the middle of a small town called Freising. It's like you book a beach Resort which in fact is in the Bavarian Alps. Minibar in the room not available, even if confirmed so in the Hotel description. Windows must remain closed, as my room was just heading out to the busy street.
Hotel itself nice, modern, staff very friendly. But next time if I Need an Airport Hotel, I dont want to make a 20 minutes excursion through the bavarian landscape.

Room Tip: Insist on a room to the backyard !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Reto1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael K, Manager at Mercure Munchen Freising Airport, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations and apologize for any inconvenience caused. We will in future be even more presice in explaining our services. There are indeed rates and packages that include the transfer, others however, do not. All our rooms are equipped with minibars. Our staff will be pleased to show and explain it to you on your next visit. We hope, that you give us a chance to show that our services are at a higher level, that you experienced und look forward to welcoming you back at the Dorint Hotel Airport München/Freising.
Michael Klinger & team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    58
    49
    13
    1
See reviews for
11
41
19
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

The Dorint hotel is a nice and clean hotel. Staff is very friendly. Location is excellent, close to the old city center of Freising and only 15 Minutes away from MUC airport. Food in the bar / Restaurant is nice but the menu is rather limited. Breakfast is excellent. Internet access is too slow, especially in the lobby area. Rooms are nice but rather small.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaaskop-HH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael K, Manager at Mercure Munchen Freising Airport, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Thank you very much indeed for your all over positive and constructive feedback. We have started to offer additional dishes of the day to increase the variety of food, that you missed. Regarding the internet connectivity we offer a basic connection free of charge, high speed connectivities can be purchased at additional cost. I am sorry, that this was not communicated to you in a proper way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

The rooms are neat & clean however some of the rooms are very small. Most of the staff is friendly and helpful. The garden view room are beautiful be it snow or spring. Just 1 important thing to keep in mind, on the ground floor the internet & phone connection both are not too good.

Room Tip: Just 1 important thing to keep in mind, on the ground floor the internet & phone connection both...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sumita_1312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael K, Manager at Mercure Munchen Freising Airport, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Thank you very much for your positive feedback about your stay. All the same we are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the connectivity of your mobile devices. It is true that there are some rooms and areas - particularly in the traditional building - where connectivity is limited and we apologize for any inconveniences caused. We are, however, pleased to note your desire and will assign a room where so far no problems with mobile devices have been recorded. Should you agree to this, just send us a short note with your full name, so that we can make the necessary arrangements or just mentioned it upon your next booking. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Michael Klinger, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013 via mobile

If your looking for a small modern hotel in the quiet town of Freising look no further. The room was very clean and had everything you would need. The buffet breakfast was unreal with a huge selection of various local and international fare. I arrived very late in the evening without a reservation and they were very accomidating and where speedy at getting me checked in.

Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Ryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael K, Manager at Mercure Munchen Freising Airport, responded to this review, 21 June 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you again hopefully in the near future. Michael Klinger, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
São Paulo, Brasil
Level Contributor
101 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

My husband and I spent a night at this very nice hotel due to a lost connection during our trip. The loss became a gift, as the city is adorable and the hotel very nice. We arrived very late and in the morning were surprised by a lovely view from our window, excellent breakfast and later a very good lunch. The personnel at the restaurant were specially nice and efficient.

Room Tip: The hotel left the impression that any room is OK. Freising itself is calm and silent, rooms are cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fatimaejoselima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael K, Manager at Mercure Munchen Freising Airport, responded to this review, 21 June 2013
Thank you very much for your positive feedback. Your comments confirm our strategy and motivate us to strive for even more personal attention and product quality. We hope to see you soon. Michael Klinger, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
106 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

I stayed a single night here whilst on business on recommendation from a work colleague who had studied in Freising and regularly came back on business. Front desk was very friendly and efficient, and the room was perfect for a business trip. I guess the down side was the extra charges:Approx 10Euro for parking, the same for wifi (which I have a major issue with having to pay for these days - it's like charging to receive a TV signal) and breakfast was 21Euro. Breakfast was served at a very nice restaurant across the driveway, and was good...but all these 'extras' add up!
I had a twin bed in the room and there was plenty of room, everything was clean, modern and in good order.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ninkasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael K, General Manager at Mercure Munchen Freising Airport, responded to this review, 19 May 2013
Thank you very much for your reply. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Your detailed comments help us to improve our product and service further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

We were booked into this hotel due to our airline cancelling the flight due to malfunction. We arrived at hotel around midnight after having stayed at the air-port all day waiting for plane to be fixed. Airline was not able to fix plane so ended up booking this particular hotel. Probably only survives since it is close to airport, can't be because of service or facilities.

Staff was unfriendly & unhelpful - bordering on being rude - and lacks any basic courtesy. Not possible to get anything to eat (everyone from the airplane was hungry since shops and restaurants at airport had closed around 5 or 6Pm and no one had eaten for hours). No mini- bar to even have some candy or soft drinks. Nothing. Complaints were met with sneers & indifference. I had to practically beg the lady to get us something to eat. I eventually got 2 spartan ham/cheese sandwich for my kids for 20 Euros - RIP OFF. But I had no choice. Kids had not eaten in hours. Then other people came down to reception to ask for something to eat and she refused them. I guess I was the lucky one!

Room had a slight smell. Maybe because it was hot outside. There was no air-con in the room and very stuffy inside the room. Went down to ask if they could upgrade us to rooms or suite with air-con. I did not mind paying whatever it cost I told them and then found out they don't' have any rooms with air-cons. Reception said "you can just open the window" - oblivious to the heat outside and lack of any wind to provide ventilation in the room.

The corridors where the common stair case and lift was was filled with a lots of insects - some very large ones. Yuck! Not a nice hotel.

In my opinion it is really flat out misleading to say this hotel is a 4 star hotel. It is not. It is more like 2 star. Don't understand how they can mark it as 4*. Only stayed there due to airline arranging this.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael K, Manager at Mercure Munchen Freising Airport, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
Dear guest,
thank your for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that your expectations were not met. The air carrier that booked the rooms was very well informed that our kitchen is closed between 11 pm and 6 pm. It is correct, that 26 of our 140 rooms have no full air condition, but only ventilation. This was not a mandatory criteria when the rooms were booked. Your further comments I cannot follow: all our rooms are equipped with minibars, we offer early bird coffee and danish pastry as of 4:30 pm in our hotel lobby. The service of our staff and the cleanliness in our rooms and property are regularly praised by our guests.
I would appreciate if we could show you under different circumstances that our 4 star rating is indeed justified.

Best regards
Michael Klinger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Freising hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freising
0.4 mi away
Munich Airport Marriott Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bayerischer Hof
Hotel Bayerischer Hof
#2 of 11 in Freising
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.6 mi away
Corbin Feng Shui Business Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Isar Hotel
Isar Hotel
#4 of 11 in Freising
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
4.9 mi away
NH Muenchen Airport
NH Muenchen Airport
#1 of 4 in Schwaig
3.5 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hilton Munich Airport
Hilton Munich Airport
#34 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Munchen Freising Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Munchen Freising Airport

Property: Mercure Munchen Freising Airport
Address: Dr.-von-Daller-Str. 1-3, 85356 Freising, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Dorint Hotel Airport München/Freising)
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Freising
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Freising
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Munchen Freising Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dorint Hotel Airport Munchen/Freising welcomes you in the heart of the cathedral city of Freising. With ideal motorway access, just 7 km from Munich Airport and 40 km from the exhibition centre, we welcome business travellers and holidaymakers from around the world. Warm colours and bright design characterise our 140 rooms and eight meeting rooms. Enjoy traditional hospitality in our 470 year old vaulted beer cellar or our beer garden. Total relaxation awaits in our spa with sauna and jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Travel Republic (UK) and Booking.com so you can book your Mercure Munchen Freising Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Freising
Freising Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing