We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very moderate”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Munchen Freising Airport
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Freising
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The Dorinth Airport hotel is situated some distance from the Munich airport: a taxiride will cost around € 25.
On the positive side, the hotel was paid for by my host and breakfast was very good. On the negative side, my room was spartan and the shower was ridiculous: the glass door to get in was less than 2 ft wide and the water temperature setting was truely digital: either very cold or very hot. The room was facing a busy street and a railroad track and sound insulation was not very effective. I did not find airco in my room either. Apparently, though, there seem to be better rooms, since one of my collegues who also stayed at the hotel told me his room and shower were quite spacious.
Internet was very slow, both in the room (wifi) and in the lobby and phone reception was quite weak.

Room Tip: get a room not facing the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stoks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael K, Manager at Mercure Munchen Freising Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that we did not meet your expecatations and apologize for any inconvenience caused. We have noted your wish for a wider room, respective shower as well as away from the street and will offer accordingly. Thank you for staying with us, we hope, you will try again some time in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (164)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

41 - 47 of 164 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2014

The Name says it all...Dorint Munich Airport. However...
Even if confirmed at booking time - no Airport shuttle available. Taxi must be taken, with a cost of ca. EUR 30.00 oneway from the Airport. Distance from the airport some 8 miles, in the middle of a small town called Freising. It's like you book a beach Resort which in fact is in the Bavarian Alps. Minibar in the room not available, even if confirmed so in the Hotel description. Windows must remain closed, as my room was just heading out to the busy street.
Hotel itself nice, modern, staff very friendly. But next time if I Need an Airport Hotel, I dont want to make a 20 minutes excursion through the bavarian landscape.

Room Tip: Insist on a room to the backyard !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reto1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael K, Manager at Mercure Munchen Freising Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations and apologize for any inconvenience caused. We will in future be even more presice in explaining our services. There are indeed rates and packages that include the transfer, others however, do not. All our rooms are equipped with minibars. Our staff will be pleased to show and explain it to you on your next visit. We hope, that you give us a chance to show that our services are at a higher level, that you experienced und look forward to welcoming you back at the Dorint Hotel Airport München/Freising.
Michael Klinger & team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

The Dorint hotel is a nice and clean hotel. Staff is very friendly. Location is excellent, close to the old city center of Freising and only 15 Minutes away from MUC airport. Food in the bar / Restaurant is nice but the menu is rather limited. Breakfast is excellent. Internet access is too slow, especially in the lobby area. Rooms are nice but rather small.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaaskop-HH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael K, Manager at Mercure Munchen Freising Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Thank you very much indeed for your all over positive and constructive feedback. We have started to offer additional dishes of the day to increase the variety of food, that you missed. Regarding the internet connectivity we offer a basic connection free of charge, high speed connectivities can be purchased at additional cost. I am sorry, that this was not communicated to you in a proper way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

The rooms are neat & clean however some of the rooms are very small. Most of the staff is friendly and helpful. The garden view room are beautiful be it snow or spring. Just 1 important thing to keep in mind, on the ground floor the internet & phone connection both are not too good.

Room Tip: Just 1 important thing to keep in mind, on the ground floor the internet & phone connection both...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sumita_1312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael K, Manager at Mercure Munchen Freising Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Thank you very much for your positive feedback about your stay. All the same we are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the connectivity of your mobile devices. It is true that there are some rooms and areas - particularly in the traditional building - where connectivity is limited and we apologize for any inconveniences caused. We are, however, pleased to note your desire and will assign a room where so far no problems with mobile devices have been recorded. Should you agree to this, just send us a short note with your full name, so that we can make the necessary arrangements or just mentioned it upon your next booking. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Michael Klinger, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

If your looking for a small modern hotel in the quiet town of Freising look no further. The room was very clean and had everything you would need. The buffet breakfast was unreal with a huge selection of various local and international fare. I arrived very late in the evening without a reservation and they were very accomidating and where speedy at getting me checked in.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
2  Thank Ryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael K, Manager at Mercure Munchen Freising Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2013

Thank you for your positive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you again hopefully in the near future. Michael Klinger, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

My husband and I spent a night at this very nice hotel due to a lost connection during our trip. The loss became a gift, as the city is adorable and the hotel very nice. We arrived very late and in the morning were surprised by a lovely view from our window, excellent breakfast and later a very good lunch. The personnel at the restaurant were specially nice and efficient.

Room Tip: The hotel left the impression that any room is OK. Freising itself is calm and silent, rooms are cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fatimaejoselima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael K, Manager at Mercure Munchen Freising Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2013

Thank you very much for your positive feedback. Your comments confirm our strategy and motivate us to strive for even more personal attention and product quality. We hope to see you soon. Michael Klinger, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

I stayed a single night here whilst on business on recommendation from a work colleague who had studied in Freising and regularly came back on business. Front desk was very friendly and efficient, and the room was perfect for a business trip. I guess the down side was the extra charges:Approx 10Euro for parking, the same for wifi (which I have a major issue with having to pay for these days - it's like charging to receive a TV signal) and breakfast was 21Euro. Breakfast was served at a very nice restaurant across the driveway, and was good...but all these 'extras' add up!
I had a twin bed in the room and there was plenty of room, everything was clean, modern and in good order.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ninkasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael K, General Manager at Mercure Munchen Freising Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2013

Thank you very much for your reply. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Your detailed comments help us to improve our product and service further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freising
0.4 mi away
Munich Airport Marriott Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bayerischer Hof
Hotel Bayerischer Hof
#1 of 11 in Freising
179 reviews
0.6 mi away
Corbin Feng Shui Business Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Isar Hotel
Isar Hotel
#3 of 11 in Freising
76 reviews
3.2 mi away
Novotel Muenchen Airport
3.6 mi away
Hilton Munich Airport
Hilton Munich Airport
#23 of 385 in Munich
2,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Munchen Freising Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Munchen Freising Airport

Address: Dr.-von-Daller-Str. 1-3, 85356 Freising, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Dorint Hotel Airport München/Freising)
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Freising
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Freising
Price Range: £69 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Munchen Freising Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Hotel München Freising Airport welcomes you in the heart of the cathedral city of Freising. With ideal motorway access, just 7 km from Munich Airport and 40 km from the exhibition centre, we welcome business travellers and holidaymakers from around the world. Warm colours and bright design characterise our 140 rooms and eight meeting rooms. Enjoy traditional hospitality in our 470 year old vaulted beer cellar or our beer garden. Total relaxation awaits in our spa with sauna and jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Munchen Freising Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Freising
Freising Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing