We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for Munich Airport”
Review of Gasthof Lerner

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gasthof Lerner
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Freising
Wayne, New Jersey
Level Contributor
207 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Perfect for Munich Airport”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Great for one night..... 15 easy minutes to the airport, nice town and great beer hall up the road. Rooms were sparse but vey clean and efficient. Breakfast was fine and served at an early hour.If you are looking for charm or luxury, this is not the place but if you are looking for a clean, convenient location that is fine to bring your kids, this works well. On the road but traffic is very light.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYSEski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    38
    11
    0
    2
See reviews for
17
23
4
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salida, Colorado
Level Contributor
393 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

After some days in Ukraine and Poland with hit and miss hotel standards, we appreciated being in Germany where everything is just as expected. Not fancy, just basic & clean. Breakfast was included in the 99 Euro price on Booking.com. We added taxi transfer back to the airport (20 Euro) to the hotel bill. The ride from the airport was 28 Euros and then the driver said he would not take a credit car after we were told he would. Breakfast was the usual sliced meats, cheese and yogurt offerings. Good coffee too. The guesthouse is about 15 minutes from the Munich airport but the big attraction of this location was the oldest brewery in the world, Weihenstephan (1040 AD) which was less than a Km walk distant. We went there for fresh beer and some solid German food, YUM!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank climber_in_CH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welwyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
327 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Have been staying at this hotel for several nights at a time for eight years now, as it is very close to the Technical University Munich at Weihenstephan. Spartan, but very clean room, a little on the small side but perfectly acceptable. Good shower, but towels very thin and a bit like tea towels. As is always the case in Europe outside the UK and Ireland, pillows too soft and filled with feathers. Free Wifi. Breakfast ok, nothing special but plenty of breads and meats and cereal. Some gluten-free items on display. When you ask for tea, make sure you ask for Assam if you do not care for Earl Grey. There is a well-hidden lift. Service efficient, rather than friendly and certainly would not impress Americans.

Room Tip: Try for first floor; avoid second floor facing rear as the bathrooms have sloping walls and you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
herbyale@yahoo.com
Level Contributor
115 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2012

My wife had a very early flight out of Munich airport in October so we decided to find a place near the airport as Munich was too far away. Well, we discovered the town of Freising and the Gasthof Lerner. The hotel was only 15 minutes by car from the airport and it fit our needs. Stayed just one night, but found the hotel and our room quite comfortable, The staff was accommodating and helpful. The breakfast served was quite good with the usual food we had encountered on our trip--hard boiled eggs, ham, cheese, coffee, rolls, etc. Also, we ate at the hotel's restaurant for dinner and had a thoroughly enjoyable dinner, The restaurant was populated with locals from Freising and the serving staff were 2 delightful young women. We enjoyed our stay at the Gasthof Lerner and recommend it for anyone who needs a good, reasonable place to stay at near Munich Airport.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trip-Review01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
1,050 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 841 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We attended a graduation ceremony at the University and made our reservation a month ahead of time. On arrival the owner poked her head from behind the computer screen in the next room. "Right there," she said. When she came to the desk, she greeted us with, "Yes?" Not a friendly start. We went to our double room, and found a single bed and a settee. I returned to the desk and reported that I had specified a double room. At that moment, another new guest returned to the desk with the same complaint. The owner replied that all of the doubles in the hotel were furnished like this. We both expressed disbelief, but she accepted this lame explanation. My wife then arrived at the desk and expressed her amazement and disbelief. The owner finally agreed to give us another room. Surprise! It had a double bed. Her lie was exposed. Since our event was in two hours, so we had no reasonable alternative but to stay. The room was certainly not worth the 79 Euro charge. It was warm and humid. With no other ventilation, we had no choice but to open the street-side windows. I am a heavy sleeper but was still disturbed by continually awakened by the noise. The cheap spongy mattress made sleep difficult. The room was not nearly as tiny as the first, but it was Spartan, cheaply furnished and poorly lit. The bathroom was clean, but rather old and the toiletries were limited to watery, unpleasant-smelling, wall-dispenser soap. On the positive side, the breakfast was almost average.
At our event, we met other people staying at the hotel. It is hard to reconcile the unanimity of their displeasure with the favorable reports of the other Trip Advisor reviewers.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front are very noisy. Perhaps those in the rear are not, but I do not know that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DonPaulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saginaw, Texas
Level Contributor
67 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

I decided to spend the extra money on my second stay at Gasthof Lerner and get an ensuite room with a balcony (cost 55 Euros/night for 2 nights, including breakfast). The room was a nice size for a single, had a good TV, a modern and clean bathroom with soap dispenser, and comfortable bed. A nice-colored booklet in my language about Freising was on the table.

The Gasthof is efficiently run, as I had previously noticed the first time I stayed (3-4 years ago). As is often the case in Gasthofs in Germany, the same manager was present as before. The first time I stayed, I had to leave very early before breakfast, and she took off the cost of the breakfast, which I thought was very nice. The breakfast buffet was good, with plenty of meats, cheeses, eggs, breads, and other commonly-served items. I ate dinner in the restaurant one night, and it was delicious, with good service.

I chose this particular Gasthof because of the modest price. Compared to other accommodations of this quality located closer to the center of Freising, this one is much less expensive, and a bus stop is right across the street. Running every 15 minutes, it cost only 1-2 Euros to the train station. Then, one could switch to the bus to the airport for under 10 Euros. This certainly beats the 25-30 Euros it would have cost for a cab to the airport from Gasthof Lerner.

If you book through www.booking.com, all the rules are clear, and the cancellation policy is clearly spelled out, in this case, very liberal.

Room Tip: Quieter rooms are toward the back; the street out front is busy and loud at rush hour. By the time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tuggeroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

Close to the International airport, with easy transport access. Very clean, good restauant. Best continental breakfast, included. Interesting town to visit. Comfortable, quiet rooms and friendly, courteous staff. Bicycle friendly.

Room Tip: Easily booked online, and all our emails were answered promptly and in english.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PedroQLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Freising hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Bayerischer Hof
Hotel Bayerischer Hof
#2 of 11 in Freising
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
1.7 mi away
Isar Hotel
Isar Hotel
#4 of 11 in Freising
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
1.2 mi away
Munich Airport Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Corbin Feng Shui Business Hotel
1.8 mi away
Gruner Hof
Gruner Hof
#9 of 11 in Freising
3.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mercure Munchen Freising Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gasthof Lerner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gasthof Lerner

Property: Gasthof Lerner
Address: Voettinger Str. 60, 85354 Freising, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Freising
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Freising
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Gasthof Lerner 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Gasthof Lerner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing