We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic panoramic view” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Burghotel Falkenstein

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pfronten
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Burghotel Falkenstein
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Pfronten
Certificate of Excellence
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic panoramic view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

Didn't stay at the hotel but ate at the restaurant. What a fantastic place to eat and have a beer. The food was great, the beer was cold and I really enjoyed the ambience on the veranda overlooking the valley below. I'm going to visit again and will stay next time. The drive up there is not for the faint hearted but you are made to feel welcome by the couple who own the place.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tobbs51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    16
    7
    6
    5
See reviews for
20
104
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
153 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2011

Burghotel Falkenstein is nestled at about 4000 feet on a spur next to the ruin of Burg Falkenstein--the third location that "famous" Bavarian King Ludwig II had selected for a fairy-tale castle but no longer managed to build. It only has a dozen or so attractive rooms with a spectacular view of the Allgäu mountains and sports an excellent restaurant--with resasonable prices considering the location.
There is a "sister" hotel (Berghotel Falkenstein) some 1000 feet lower, which is similarly well kept but does not enjoy the spectacular view from the mountain top. Getting to the Burghotel is quite a deal: In winter you need to park at the lower hotel and take a four-wheel shuttle bus up a narrow, winding and steep mountain road. All other times you can drive up observing the traffic light at the lower end of the road--it's all one way!
Reserving a room with a valley view is a must.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank German_Retiree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottobeuren, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2010

Didn´t actually stay in this hotel but had a drink with my kids after a long trek up the Falkenstein. The coke that was served was both flat and without ice. My daughter drank her drink almost to the end and then discovered a rather disgusting furry bit (MOULD) at the bottom of the glass. The staff of the hotel played it down and when pouring another coke from the so called "regularly cleaned pump system" the next glass was also taking a heck of a long time to pour and also had no gas in it. I was assured on questioning that "it was totally normal.". After speaking to the manager and having to pay, although I remained calm the staff were quite rude. Shame abouth this hotel is the tacky interior of the toilet displaying ladies in underwear (what´s that all about)?? Have not seen the rest of the hotel but I think that I have seen enough!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank browncow1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverine, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2010

I have been visiting here for 10 years. They took a perfectly excellent hotel, poured more money into it over the years and made it even better. Toni and Herta are great hosts. Staff and food is excellent. Free W-LAN. Extremely unique location on dead end road way the heck up the mountain. Germany's highest castle ruin at the top. Close to Neuschwanstein, Fussen and other sights. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EuroJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2009

have stayed in quite a few hotels, but the falkenstein beats them all. the hotel is family run and the attention to detail and to holidaymakers is remarkable. Staff is extremely helpful and friendly. Views from the hotel are exceptional. Facilities, ie. room and spa are very nice, too. we had our christmas dinner in the hotel restaurant and the setting was very atmospheric. Unfortunately though they don't have a resident therapist, so treatments should be organised/booked in advance. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank citruschill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pfronten
1.7 mi away
Alpenhotel Krone
Alpenhotel Krone
#2 of 14 in Pfronten
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Birkenhof
Hotel Birkenhof
#4 of 14 in Pfronten
4.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pfrontener Hof
Pfrontener Hof
#5 of 14 in Pfronten
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Ludwig
Hotel Villa Ludwig
#1 of 7 in Hohenschwangau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Bavaria
Hotel Bavaria
#3 of 14 in Pfronten
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hotel Sonne
Hotel Sonne
#1 of 39 in Fussen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burghotel Falkenstein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burghotel Falkenstein

Property: Burghotel Falkenstein
Address: Falkensteinweg 1, 87459 Pfronten, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Pfronten
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Pfronten
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Burghotel Falkenstein Pfronten, Germany - Bavaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing