We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay, great place, good value”
Review of Traunbachhaeusl

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Traunbachhaeusl
Ranked #1 of 40 Ruhpolding B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
leeds
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely stay, great place, good value”
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Had a great 5 night stay here at the of January 2013. This hotel/pension is excellent value for money at about £30 pppn. The breakfast is standard continental but with plenty of choice and the offer of a boiled egg every day if you fancied one, certainly enough to set you up for a days skiing or exploring. Rooms were very comfortable and the place in general was very clean, we didn't take up the option of the evening meals as we were holidaying with others based elsewhere in Ruhpolding. We were the only English staying there at the time which I actually enjoyed as you got a real feeling of being abroad and experiencing Bavaria. Breakfast in the conservatory looking out to the surrounding snow covered mountains was a lovely treat. Host Boris was a charming man and very welcoming and helpful, taking time out to explain local attractions and landmarks and what you got with the free xtra pass that came with the booking.The pass gave you a free cable car ride up nearby Rauschberg mountain which if visited on a clear day then the views from the top are spectacular and is a great day out with a restaurant there to enjoy a beer or a meal. I even ventured to walk back down to Ruhpolding which if you like waking and feel a little adventurous is a lovely walk, not too demanding and took me 3 hours. Xtra pass gave you free entrance to local swimming baths with its wave machine, a steam room and the novelty of a heated outdoor pool where you can look up to the mountains and all the snow whilst sat in your trunks in a jacuzzi, well worth doing in an afternoon. You also got free ice skating (although not skate hire), a ski pass to a nearby ski range and free parking in the town centre, overall very handy. Ruhpolding itself is a quaint Bavarian town with a very local taste to it, although I think the recession has kicked in a little. I noticed a couple of the shops have closed and it was very quiet the Sunday afternoon when we had a saunter round a couple of the hostileries, almost eerie but still enjoyable. To sum up, would I recommend the Traunbachhaeusl and would I stay there again? most definately...

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debshusband
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    18
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
66
67
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013

This was our second trip to Ruhpolding and there was only one place that we would stay and that is Traunbachhaeusl. This time we returned with two other families with several teenage children in tow and were allocated a family room, a triple room and the family suite on the top floor. This arrangement was excellent for us, as we could have parent space on one end of the suite and teenager space at the other end. Boris, Joanna and the family once again pulled out all the stops to ensure that every need was taken care of, even clearing 18" of snow that covered our cars during one overnight snowfall. The food is superb and tempts you to try some local delicacies that you might not have otherwise tried. The accommodation is cleaned to the highest of standards and the service really is something to tell others about. Overall another fantastic family skiing holiday in Ruhpolding. We will be back!!!

Room Tip: Large families should request the top floor suite. Its great for extended families too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stew_Gordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013 via mobile

This lovely house was a pleasure to spend 2 days at while we visited family in the area , the xtra pass that came with the room is great bonus too , the house was toastie warm and spotlessly clean , even providing perfect dippy eggs on both mornings , will be staying here on our next visit . Thanks to the staff for making our stay very enjoyable .

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Painty_boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
1 review
Reviewed 10 October 2012

The 6 night stay with our tour group included breakfast and dinner each day. The breakfast was copious, with a variety of breads, jams, yogurts, and eggs, plus beverages. Dinner each night consisted of an appetizer, main course, and dessert. All of the meals were excellently prepared and no part of any meal was repeated any of the nights. We looked forward to such a delicious variety every night. The food and hospitality were absolutely wonderful. I would definitely return here, as a base for day trips around Bavaria. We were given tickets for the cable car, to enjoy the view of the whole area. It is a short walk into town or to the train station. I easily caught the train into Salzburg one day. I highly recommend a stay here with the Wrona Family. Boris and Joana were very welcoming and helpful during out stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

I booked 3 nights as a place to sleep during my German road trip. To my surprise, it became a holiday in itself. I had a warm welcome from Boris, Joanna & family. Information about activities around Ruhpolding area was kindly given as well as any advice travelling around Bavaria & Austria.
The free eXtra card given is a bonus, allowing you access to local facilities, swimming, parking, cable car rides etc.
First time I had a proper German breakfast! Fresh meats, cheese & I would recommend the dinners, delicious home made cooking.
Rooms are very clean & well maintained during my stay.
The friendly atmosphere also extended from other guests from all over Europe.
Highly recommended, I shall return!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Milambers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
309 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Our party of four enjoyed our two-night stay here very much. The warmth and hospitality shown by Boris & family made the visit special. The charming, comfortable home is well located at the edge of town, with a nice view of the surrounding hills. The dinner Boris & his family served --- delicious! One member of our party declared it the best meal he’d ever had. (I’m sure the beer contributed to that.) The room I stayed in (as the third wheel in a room for three), was comfortable & neat as a pin, but a bit Spartan for my taste in terms of decorating. But up the hall, the person in our party with a single room had a very small room that was as warm, quaint & charming as they come. Almost like a bunk in an old ship’s cabin, with a built in bed, walls of wood. When we went (Sept.), the weather was absolutely perfect, but we heard it had snowed the week or two before. This B&B is a lovely place, run by wonderful people, located in a beautiful part of the world. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WItravelingirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
110 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights with our family at the end of our holiday.
What a lovely find. We stayed in a family room on the ground floor. The rooms are basic but very clean and excellent value for money. You even get a card giving you free entry to the swimming pools, free ride on the chair lift and the cable car.The breakfast is exceptionally good and the owners Familie Wrona are very friendly and welcoming.
It is an easy 10 mins walk into town where we ate dinner twice.
If we will be back in the area we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trolli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ruhpolding hotels
2.2 mi away
Wohlfuhlhotel Ortnerhof
Wohlfuhlhotel Ortnerhof
#1 of 18 in Ruhpolding
190 reviews
0.9 mi away
Zum Hirschhaus
Zum Hirschhaus
#11 of 18 in Ruhpolding
18 reviews
0.6 mi away
Alpenhotel Wittelsbach
Alpenhotel Wittelsbach
#2 of 18 in Ruhpolding
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
HELDs Vitalhotel
HELDs Vitalhotel
#4 of 18 in Ruhpolding
22 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel zur Post
Hotel zur Post
#3 of 18 in Ruhpolding
55 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ferienhotel Hahn
Ferienhotel Hahn
#13 of 18 in Ruhpolding
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Traunbachhaeusl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Traunbachhaeusl

Property: Traunbachhaeusl
Address: Schwimmbadstr. 29, 83324 Ruhpolding, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Ruhpolding
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Ruhpolding
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Traunbachhaeusl 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We cook a good coffee, we shake the beds tidy and the in a brisk, good and friendly atmosphere. The Traunbachhaeusl with its 25 beds is very sunny and quiet yet only 15 minutes from the center of Ruhpolding. The ambience and the serene atmosphere of our home to make it easy for you really relax and unwind, whether in our winter garden or in your cozy furnished rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Traunbachhaeusl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing