We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Paradise ...Excellent Services...Beautiful location ...Nice stay...”
Review of Karma Bavaria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Karma Bavaria
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Schliersee
Certificate of Excellence
Vapi, India
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Little Paradise ...Excellent Services...Beautiful location ...Nice stay...”
Reviewed 29 August 2014

We have booked through Dial & Exchange. Mr.Surendra had helped us to book 6 Rooms in the month of May 2014. Unfortunately we stayed here for few days though we have planned to stay for minimum 5 nights.
Its very good resort. amazing location. Good room with WIFI ( only email excess is free) they have All the essentials; hairdryer, mini bar, phone, lots of storage space, chocolates on the pillow, flatscreen tv (with BBC World News being the only channel in English) ,Coffee Maker and Microwave Owen. Rooms are spotlessly clean,

I recommend visiting Waterfall Josefstal by a bus ride- only takes about 15 mins, the rest is a little walk into the woodlands. Lake Schliersee is also a great place to visit- 10 mins walk from the resort with a variety of restaurants, cafes, boat trips etc. So beautiful!!

Plus Point of location and Resort :

1 Near to Railway station 10 minutes walking distance.

2 Full Kitchen ( in 1Br and 2Br only ) which helps us to prepare food of our own taste.

3 If you are carrying travel card it is advisable to withdraw from ATM near to Railway station as you can withdraw upto 2000 Euro from here. (In most of the location you are not allow to withdraw more than 500 Euros in Europe

4 view from the room is excellent.

5 If you are in a group it is advisable to to use BOB train mini group ticket
There is a ticket called the Bayern Ticket. Costs €22 for 1 person then €4 for each additional person up to a total of 5 people. Gives you UNLIMITED use of ALL Regional public transport in Bavaria. Includes ALL Regional trains (includes all Regional trains from Munich to Salzburg - there is a train every hour and the journey takes 2hrs), ALL Regional buses and ALL city transport in Munich, Augsburg and Nürnberg.
Full T&Cs and click on Bayern (bahn.de/i/…laender-ticket.shtml)

6 you can keep it as base and visit Munich, Innsbruck, salzburg and Nürnberg

7 Tourists staying in Schliersee pay a tourist tax of 2 euros per day but for this you receive a tourist card which gives you free travel on local buses and money off entry to some local attractions.

8 There is a comfortable lounge and bar and restaurant,On the lower floor is a beautifully designed swimming pool,jacuzzi,sauna.and sunbeds which can be used inside or out.There is also a bowling alley and pool table and plenty of indoor games.

8 Indian Restaurant Lahori is just 7.5 KM from the resort (

Minus Points Of location and Resort (As a Indian traveler ) :

1 No Indian restaurant available in resort

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bigway H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChakraResorts, Manager at Karma Bavaria, responded to this review, 22 September 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for your recent visit in our property , your comments on your holiday and experiences at AlpenClub.

We appreciate your kind words about the property and we are glad that we were able to enjoy the beauty that Schliersee has to offer. Though we do not have many Indian items on our restaurant menu we are aiming hard to add more of this in the future.

Once again, thank you for your visit.

We would like to see you soon again at AlpenClub und meanwhile we wish you
all the best for the future.


Kindest regards

Your AlpenClub Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    140
    35
    10
    8
See reviews for
128
170
11
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Very nice place for a family, great and safe environment and loads to do as an adult or children of all ages. The staff are helpful specially Max and the tour guide George (Jorg Enke) from Taxi Leitner is a person to meet and take you around.

Room Tip: All the room are great specially near the play area if you have small kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SABY M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChakraResorts, Manager at Karma Bavaria, responded to this review, 22 September 2014
Dear guests,

thank you very much for your recent visit in our property , your comments on your holiday and experiences at AlpenClub.

We appreciate your kind words about our staff especially Max and Jörg. We will pass on our message to the concerned team members.


Once again, thank you for your visit.

We would like to see you soon again at AlpenClub und meanwhile we wish you
all the best for the future.


Kindest regards

Your AlpenClub Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

It is hard to be too objective as we were given a free week here. The apartment was big but dated. It was comfortable and quiet so no problems with sleeping.

We didn't have much to do with the staff, but when we did they were friendly and helpful. Cleaning staff were a little less helpful - they came to empty the bins and if it wasn't convenient, they didn't come back (they also let themselves in while we were asleep!)

Breakfast was nice....but also free. I wouldn't have paid what they were charging for it. We didn't use the restaurant as when we wanted to (during a thunder storm) it was shut. The bar was also shut on two evenings while we were there.

The pool and Jacuzzi were fine, a bit busy at times. The gym was fine but tiny so no good for more than 2 at a time.

The hotel was in a good location for the town and train station. Overall it was a good week, but I would have been disappointed if we had paid 4* prices.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeilaS84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChakraResorts, Manager at Karma Bavaria, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear guests,

thank you very much for your recent stay in our property and your feedback concerning your holiday and experiences at AlpenClub.

We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed a good week with us, staying in your comfortable and quiet apartment, relaxing in the pool and gym and having our lovely breakfast buffet.

We apologize for any inconvenience occured by closing our bar for a couple of evenings
due to an unexpected staff's issue.
Our restaurant was always open in the evenings and we have been serving drinks in the lobby and the restaurant terrace, when the weather allowed us to do so.

We have passed your comments about the time of emptying the waste bins in your room to our head housekeeper and asked to pay more attention in future. Thank you for this notice.

Once again, thank you for your visit.

We would appreciate to see you soon back again at AlpenClub und meanwhile we wish you
all the best .


Kindest regards

Your AlpenClub Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atyrau Province, Kazakhstan
Level Contributor
88 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We stayed there for two weeks and as a base for Bavaria it is very good. Unfortunately we did not get the rooms we asked for and the bar and restaurant were closed on some nights which when you come in from a long day out was a pain. They seem obsessed with charging for extras I was expecting to be charged for taking a apple that they had on reception :-)
The food was good especially the breakfast although a bit pricy.
The pool and Gym were OK the pool is cold though.
The rooms did not get cleaned on three occasions but as we were out most of the day it was not a big problem. The staff were friendly and with normal German efficiency. I would suggest a check of the bill when booking out we were overcharged by mistake .

Room Tip: Make sure the room you ask for is the one you get some of the suits only have a microwave
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hydrous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChakraResorts, Manager at Karma Bavaria, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear guests,

thank you very much for your recent visit in our property , your comments on your holiday and experiences at AlpenClub.

We appreciate your kind words about our F&B offer, the wellness choice and the staff's friendliness.

We apologize for any inconvinience concerning your accommodation.
Some days prior to your arrival serious problems with our water pipes occured in some of our rooms and apartments; this automatically leaded to unavoidable changes of the units for our guests and some of them had to move to other local hotels.
Meanwhile this isuue could be resolved.
We suppose you know already about all this from our receptionists and the resort manager has mentioned in the Sunday's welcome meeting, too.

Another unexpected staff's issue forced us to close the bar for some days, but the restaurant was always open and we have been serving drinks in the lobby and the restaurant terrace.

Our pool has always a standard temperature of 29 degrees C, this is exactly what it should be and our technicians controll this on a daily basis.

For a week's stay, the room cleaning is only once a week, this is on Tuesday or Wednesday and you also have received this service. Then again on each Saturday. This was mentioned from the resort manager in the welcome meeting, too.

Once again, thank you for your visit.

We would like to see you soon again at AlpenClub und meanwhile we wish you
all the best for the future.


Kindest regards

Your AlpenClub Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Having stayed at AlpenClub for the past 7 years, I was totally stunned by what happened this time!
Having BOOKED through II Getaways a 2 bedroom apartment with full kitchen facilities, which we needed to pack up food for our strenuous walks in the mountains every day, we HAD to accept two studio rooms.
We came with friends and it was so embarrassing to be told we could not have what we had booked. Not only that, but our two rooms were on different floors of the hotel!
We have loved our stays with you, stayed the last few years in an apartment, and cannot understand why this happened to us as loyal customers.
We would like to come back - but will you do this to us again?
There was never any a[ology from the manager - just reception staff telling us we could not have what was booked!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PantherLucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChakraResorts, Manager at Karma Bavaria, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you so much for your visit at AlpenClub some days ago and your comments concerning your stay with friends and especially your accommodation issue.

We apologize for your dissatisfaction on arrival day, caused from giving you and your friends two studios in the main hotel building to stay in, instead of the 2-bedroom apartment with full kitchen facilities you had ordered via Interval International.

Surely it doesn't make any sense now to mention details and explain, why all this happened but you should know, that we had and still have a water pipes problem in some of our apartments. This major issue will be fixed end of the month.
This might be the reason for changing the rooms. We can't ask our responsible manager for accurate information at t the moment, as he is in holidays.

We are sorry , that this reality has spoiled your recent holiday with friends in our hotel and we consider this to be an unique exception and will not allow to happen again with you in future.
We apologize for this to you and to your friends.

We hope you have enjoyed all other AlpenClub services and facilities and hope to see you soon again at beautiful Schliersee.

Thank you once more for your understanding.

Kindest regards

Your AlpenClub Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We've stayed here for 9 days, this place near the train station (bahnhofplatz) only 850 metres from the hotel, is about 15 minutes walk or 2 minutes with taxy. Lautner's taxy is the best. And from the bahnhofplatz you can walk about 200 metres to reach the Schlier's lake (schliersee). Very nice view.
In this amazing hotel you can feel the heart of bavaria with traditional attractions. With my family, we were very pleased to stay here. Feels like home. We can cook, defrost or boil anything we want. Just by touching all kitchen's equipment. This was my favourite hotel so far. Excellent !!
Big thanks to Karma's

Room Tip: Every room was good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AryoIsima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChakraResorts, Manager at Karma Bavaria, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you so much for your recent visit in April 2014 and your positive comments refering to our hotel services and accommodation facilities.

We are happy to hear, that you and family have enjoyed your stay at AlpenClub and felt the family atmosphere in our hotel and as comfortable as being at home.

We are looking forward to seeing you and family soon again at AlpenClub and beautiful Schliersee and meanwhile we may wish you all the best.

Warmest regards from

Your AlpenClub Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I have stayed here twice before in the last 6 years and enjoyed it.
Our 1 bedroom apartment was fine. Spacious, clean, well equiped. Maybe looking a bit dated but 4* although some of the kitchen equipment needs replacing - blunt knives and a well used, warped chopping board.
What brings this down now for me is it feels less German than on other visits.
Also they chose to switch the water off from 8am to 8pm on one day to carry out maintenance. This is the beginning of July, main holiday time, why not do this at quieter off peak times.
We got several messages arranging time to meet the 'Resort Team', sorry no thanks, we are on on holiday and want to get on with it.
Much preferred it under the previous management.
The restaurant appeared well overpriced, plenty of cheaper and great places to eat within 5 mins walk.
Wifi costs about 25 euros for a week.
Will happily come back to Schliersee as it is an excellent area to hike and bike in but will choose a German run holiday home.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CazMoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChakraResorts, Manager at Karma Bavaria, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear guests,

thank you for your visit at AlpenClub and the time you've spent to let us know about your impressions.

We are not happy to hear about your points of desatisfaction and we partly can understand them (for example the water system cleaning process , which took more than 14 hours and was a short-termed MUST) and at the same time the pool maintenance works, which took place for the whole week.

This second one was known to all reservation offices and booking channels since over a year and they should have informed the guests prior arrival.
We absolutely can understand, that you were not happy about this.

All other points you mentioned in your letter we have discussed in our meetings with heads and surely we want and will improve and update.

We would very much appreciate, if you would like to visit AlpenClub again in future and meanwhile we wish you all the best .

Kindest regards,

Your AlpenClub Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schliersee
7.3 mi away
Hotel Der Alpenhof
Hotel Der Alpenhof
#3 of 7 in Bayrischzell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.8 mi away
Seehotel Schlierseer Hof
Seehotel Schlierseer Hof
#4 of 6 in Schliersee
3.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
11.6 mi away
Hotel Feuriger Tatzlwurm
Hotel Feuriger Tatzlwurm
#1 of 7 in Oberaudorf
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Gastehaus Hubertus Hotel Garni
5.6 mi away
Arabella Alpenhotel am Spitzingsee
4.8 mi away
Das Tegernsee
Das Tegernsee
#1 of 9 in Tegernsee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karma Bavaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karma Bavaria

Property: Karma Bavaria
Address: Kirchbichlweg 18, 83727 Schliersee, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly AlpenClub Schliersee Hotel &Spa)
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Schliersee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Schliersee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Karma Bavaria 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the foothills of the Bavarian Alps, close to the tranquil lake Schliersee, Karma Bavaria is blessed with some of the most stunning mountain scenery. Karma Bavaria in Schliersee has all the facilities to make your vacation a success. This recognized health resort has a unique setting and offers something for everyone. It has an excellent restaurant and bar, along with indoor and outdoor sporting and other leisure activities. The resort consists of 82 beautifully appointed units with modern facilities, equipped with kitchen(partly)and tasteful living space with Satellite TV, DVD and balcony. The resort is also near the bus and train connections to both Munich and Salzburg, so sightseeing tours of both are within easy access during your stay. Popular activities available near to the resort include hiking, and many different winter sports. Whatever time of year you travel, and whether it is winter sports or summer relaxation - Karma Bavaria is a wonderful place to visit at any time of year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Karma Bavaria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpenclub Schliersee Hotel Schliersee
Alpenclub Hotel Schliersee
Karma Bavaria Schliersee, Germany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing