We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another enjoyable holiday at the Alpen Club”
Review of Karma Bavaria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Karma Bavaria
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Schliersee
Certificate of Excellence
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Another enjoyable holiday at the Alpen Club”
Reviewed 6 December 2010

This was our 2nd visit to the Alpen Club, having previously been in Oct 2009.
We had a 2 bedroom apartment this time and I cannot fault it for comfort, cleanliness and equipment. I still rate the accommodation as 4*.
We did not try the restaurant as we had a poor experience on our first trip and with being out and about, we preferred to eat out.
The wifi internet was my only problem. It is firstly not cheap at about 28 euros for a week and then it did not work in our apartment block. It was fine as soon as I went out the main door into the the garden but it was -5 out there and ok if i went to the reception area. Despite complaining about it most days and reception contacting the provider, promises of a fix never materialised. I did get a partial refund.
As our trip was at the end of November, it coincided with the start of the Christmas Markets. We used the Bayern Ticket or the local group BOB ticket to get to markets at Chiemsee, Rosenheim, Bad Toelz, Augsburg, Regensburg and Munich. Although it snowed, we had no issues with the trains.
We will certainly return, perhaps in summer next time to do lots of hiking.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CazMoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    161
    42
    13
    8
See reviews for
153
194
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2010

My family (11 people) rented 3 apartments here for a week in June. The best thing about the Alpen Club is the location. Schliersee town is in a beautiful area, the lake is lovely, and it is very walkable, with several walking/hiking trails nearby. There are 2 decent supermarkets within walking distance and another larger one in a shopping complex just a short drive down the road. Getting to Munich by train is easy enough and we also made day trips (by car) to Salzburg, the Eagle's Nest and Fussen. We had 2 large vans and didn't have any trouble parking them at the hotel. There is space on the side of the building for parking when the hotel is busy.

We loved the pool at the AlpenClub - I think the kids were in it every day. Beware of the saunas - they are extremely hot. Nice hot tub that fits 6-8 people. We did not use the spa, but they have specials that seem like a good deal.

Our stay wasn't completely without problems. We had been told that our rooms would be ready for check-in after 3:PM, but none of them were ready when we arrived. I think it took 2 hours until we could finally get into all the rooms. Some of the rooms had a very unpleasant smell, which might be a cleaning product or possibly something to do with the plumbing. The rooms are cleaned and towels and linens changed twice during your stay, which is fine and you can request other towels at any time. You may want to ask for extra toilet paper if you have 4 or 5 people in the room. There are extra linens in the closet in the room for the pull-out sofa. The staff apparently think its quite safe here, because they left our ground-floor window open and patio door unlocked one day after they cleaned.

We used the self-service laundry, which I think was 3 euros for each (small) machine, wash and dry. The cycles are both over 1 hour - quite ridiculous - so do laundry on a rainy day. The restaurant is average and doesn't serve lunch. On theme nights, they do not offer the regular menu, so you have to pay $20 for the buffet. The Italian buffet was quite good. The free drink coupons you receive at check-in cannot be used at the bar, and if your card is for 5 people, you have to get 5 drinks or you lose them (ex. only 3 people want a drink, you lose the other 2). The charges for Internet access are steep and it is better to buy a card for 3 days at a time (we had a computer that we used in the room). Be aware that we could not use iTouch or iPhone through this service. The Internet computer in the lobby is also ridiculously expensive.

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay and I think it had a lot to do with the fantastic weather and having vehicles at our disposal. I would stay at this property again, but there are also several other places in town that looked nice, but probably not suited for such large groups.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RoamingTheGlobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2010

The Hotel
We have stayed at the Alpine hotel for two years running now. I have to say that our stay there on both occasions has been thoroughly enjoyable. The hotel is very clean, (possibly the cleanest I have stayed in) modern and has excellent facilities. Staff all speak good English and are very hospitable, friendly and willing to help, the German people are very warm and welcoming and efficient in their general running of the hotel – everything is on time and services delivered with a smile. The waiter makes meal times somewhat entertaining with his colourful personality and good humour. Food is very good indeed, catering for a range of tastes – restaurant dinners are often themed. We had a Bavarian buffet and Italian night accompanied by entertainment, all very good. The owner of the hotel I believe is Greek – and you can feel the influence reflective of the food and entertainment…these are areas that the Greeks do very well and it shows here.

The Location
The hotel is perfectly located in the middle of Schliersee and is in walking distance to local Bavarian bakeries, cafes, restaurants and a home-made liqueur shop. We recommend the Italian restaurant (whose name escapes me) which makes the most amazing fresh pizzas, the size of a dustbin lid! The town also has a supermarket for amenities. The hotel offers a range of excursions…you can take a horse and cart ride around Lake Schliersee whilst sipping a hot cup of Gluwein. Winter is a great time to visit, December sees the Xmas markets in the village come to life, and with locals staging musical shows and selling home baked pastries and bratwursts. Snow is often forecast which adds to the exquisite charm of Schliersee. Many of the buildings in the village are traditional; locals forbid the construction of modern builds, which would blight the landscape. It is well worth hiring a car and exploring the local mountains – Spitzingsee is a magical place with its frozen lakes and natural beauty – you can even ski there in the winter for as little as 15 Euros a day! Take a cable car to the top of a mountain and admire the view whilst sipping a hot chocolate in the summit restaurant. You can also take a drive into neighbouring Austria and take in the breathtaking views of the Bavarian alps and surrounding forests. Schliersee also features a shuttle train which takes you straight into Munich – a city well worth visiting, steeped in history, and ideal for shopping and sampling the beer in the Ratzkeller! Tours are available in Munich – the hotel has further details, just ask!

The Verdict
The hotel is fantastic and is a great base for sight seeing and exploring…or just relaxing in the spa whilst watching the snow fall and enjoying the facilities. Schliersee is indeed a hidden gem, located in a truly beautiful and unique part of Europe. I have German heritage but, from an English perspective I was pleasantly surprised at how friendly and hospitable the Germans are, even outside of the hotel. All in all a great hotel which is clean, modern, welcoming and has a very charming vibe about it. Highly recommended – book now for a holiday you will truly remember!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rob198318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pooler, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2010

We recently spent a week at AlpenClub Schliersee and we only have positive things to say about our stay. We exchanged a week with Interval International so we had an "apartment" with a bedroom/2 baths/kitchenette and living room. This was a great place for exploring the Bavarian countryside. We joined two exursions, one to Munich and the other to Salzburg, we thought we would want to stay longer which was an option available but by the end of the tour and our free time we were ready to head back with the group. Silvi is great to do tours with, she is very personable. We cant stress how perfect this location was for exploring, we hopped into our car and within an hour we were in Austria, two hours we were in Northern Italy. We will certainly return to AlpenClub on our next trip to Bavaria.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gail V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highlands ranch, CO
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2010

The pool was closed and when I complained it was not told on booking.com the front desk girl said yes it was, it took her 10 min to find something I never saw and cannot find on that website anywhere. She would not give us a discount and my kids were so looking forward to cooling off in the pool after a hot day. Booking.com said free wifi but apparently thats not in the rooms. There were bees in the apartment. We would have stayed somewhere cheaper if we had known. The food is mediocre at best. Rooms are outdated and beds uncomfortable. Rooms are hot, we did not sleep well at all. The setting was pretty, is the only good thing I can say.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tobietyjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2010

This was the second visit to the Alpenclub, staying in a club suite, rather than family room this time. On both occaisions, the welcome on arrival is friendly and staff seem to genuinely want to both help and to ensure the stay with them is enjoyed. Throughout the stay, whether booking a restaurant, checking if roads are clear (snow) and advising on transport arrangements to munich or elswhere, the advice and service was superb.
The rooms are comfortably functional rather than luxurious but are spotlessly clean comfy and full of amenities, I can't fault them at all. The hotel also has a pool, sauna etc available to guests.
The two trips there have been for skiing, which whilst not a huge ski area and about a 20 minute drive away, are good fun, challenging enough and incredibly quiet even at the weekends. If it is busy nightlife you are after, the town does seem to shut down in part until the end of March so it was quiet, but all shops are open and there is a fair choice of restaurants if you are not eating in the hotel. Munich is on ly 50 minutes away by train if you want the city. If you want to try something different for a winter sports I would recomend this without reservation.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DevDav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montreal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2010

Our stay at Alpen Club Schliersee was excellent. The service was great and the people at the front desk were very helpful and spoke very good english. The pool, spa, sauna and steam room were all very clean and enjoyable. We received daily newsletters to our room which told us what was going on for the days to come, and helped plan out our week. We arrived on a bank holiday and were able to get any necessities from the hotel since all stores/supermarkets were closed. The train is very convenient and is only a short 10 minute walk or so from the hotel. The trains come every hour and is approximately a 40 minute train ride into Munich. If you are a group of 3-4 or more you can purchase a combined train ticket for only 15 euro or so, which also gives you access to Munich's subway system for the day.

Overall it was a really great experience. We found ourselves traveling into Munich several times throughout our stay, but by the end, we had wished we explored Schliersee and it's surroundings a little more. The town itself is quaint, but very beautiful and the people are very kind. With help from our "daily bulletin", we explored the annual "pentecost party", which was held down by the lake. It was a true Bavarian beer hall experience- similar to the Oktoberfest and is one that we will never forget!

I would definitely recommend this place for someone who is interested in adventure!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank andrewg12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schliersee
5.6 mi away
Arabella Alpenhotel am Spitzingsee
0.8 mi away
Seehotel Schlierseer Hof
Seehotel Schlierseer Hof
#4 of 6 in Schliersee
147 reviews
4.8 mi away
Das Tegernsee
Das Tegernsee
#1 of 9 in Tegernsee
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Gastehaus Hubertus Hotel Garni
5.4 mi away
Althoff Seehotel Ueberfahrt
Althoff Seehotel Ueberfahrt
#2 of 12 in Rottach-Egern
805 reviews
7.3 mi away
Hotel Der Alpenhof
Hotel Der Alpenhof
#3 of 7 in Bayrischzell
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karma Bavaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karma Bavaria

Property: Karma Bavaria
Address: Kirchbichlweg 18, 83727 Schliersee, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly AlpenClub Schliersee Hotel &Spa)
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Schliersee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Schliersee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Karma Bavaria 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the foothills of the Bavarian Alps, close to the tranquil lake Schliersee, Karma Bavaria is blessed with some of the most stunning mountain scenery. Karma Bavaria in Schliersee has all the facilities to make your vacation a success. This recognized health resort has a unique setting and offers something for everyone. It has an excellent restaurant and bar, along with indoor and outdoor sporting and other leisure activities. The resort consists of 82 beautifully appointed units with modern facilities, equipped with kitchen(partly)and tasteful living space with Satellite TV, DVD and balcony. The resort is also near the bus and train connections to both Munich and Salzburg, so sightseeing tours of both are within easy access during your stay. Popular activities available near to the resort include hiking, and many different winter sports. Whatever time of year you travel, and whether it is winter sports or summer relaxation - Karma Bavaria is a wonderful place to visit at any time of year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Karma Bavaria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpenclub Schliersee Hotel Schliersee
Alpenclub Hotel Schliersee
Karma Bavaria Schliersee, Germany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing