We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice weekend away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Oversum - Vital Resort Winterberg
Ranked #1 of 54 Hotels in Winterberg
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A nice weekend away”
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We visited Oversum with a nice groupon deal that made the price seem very reasonable. The deal included a two-night stay, a 3-course menu, 2 welcome drinks, and 10E off a spa treatment.

When we arrived, the reception was very welcoming in comparison to other hotels I've stayed at in Germany. We checked into room 202. I'd say that my biggest complaint with the hotel is the room. Although it is modern and clean, the amount of space was lacking and I was surprised that there was not a refrigerator (i.e., not even a minibar fridge) or an ironing board. I do not remember the last time I had a hotel rate of this scale without these two amenities - I do not even check to see that they are offered anymore! So, if we had not been there on a deal, I would have been more disappointed. Considering you may want to go hiking, experience the spa, or relax in your room, having a fridge to store water and wine would have been nice. No ice bucket or vending, either, and room service was beyond expensive (i.e., it was clear they were trying to discourage room service from the price additions).

That being said, the bed was very nice, the bathroom had everything we needed, and the room was decorated nicely. It was just overall a bit small for two people. I looked at the layouts and the room sizes of this type seemed comparable, so I do not think we had a small room.

We had dinner at the hotel restaurant. It was lovely. It is a bit eery because everyone there were couples - so it was verrrry quiet despite about 8-10 couples being there. We had very nice service and the server/kitchen was very flexible with offering an additional option off the menu. The server even gave us recommendations of where to walk in town for a nightcap.

Breakfast was very nice - not on scale with my "favorite" places, but absolutely no complaints. It was very busy but they refill options frequently and up until 11am (not like some places I've visited where they are open until 11, but stop filling food at 10am).

The spa was also very nice. It was at maximum capacity despite the hotel seeming to have a low occupancy. I wondered where all of the people came from each morning at breakfast because the rest of the day, it was very quiet.

My final comments:
1) the hotel needs to do something to fix its door system. We had a room close to the elevator and stairs. The door to the elevator lobby and door to stairs slammed repeatedly everytime someone came to our floor. It was not possible to sleep through this, which makes it difficult to sleep in.
2) the tourism center was very helpful in helping us select a hike that fit our needs
3) we recommend the Irish pub in town for drinks in the evening (casual, fun, good for young or old couples who like some atmosphere but don't need fancy) and the greek restaurant in town for an additional dinner (average service but GREAT food). You can easily and safely walk to town from this hotel (about 5 min walk to heart of town)
4) the little bar at the hotel is very nice, and the free wifi allowed me to work and have coffee there while my boyfriend had spa services. He said the massage he had was very good.

Overall, I'd recommend staying at Oversum if you need a relaxing weekend getaway, like modern hotels, and want to enjoy a small town. I would stay there again if we had a similar deal, but would not pay full price to stay there.

Room Tip: I would request a room as far away from the elevator as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heartinsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    69
    23
    12
    1
See reviews for
20
104
12
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Warwik
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

For the price paid for this hotel we found the food prices very expensive. To say it is minimalist is an overstatement.There is no character.to the place unless you like your hotel cold looking, and office like. This was not on par with our experience of German four star hotels

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We have spent a wekeend sking in Winterberg in the begning of February. Hotel was an absolute highlight. Spoiled by loads of snow, wrecked from whole day sking we were delighted to see hotel upon check in.
It's a very modern, but yet not ice cold concrete building. We found deco very cosy. We have booked two rooms, I have exchanged emails with the hotel, since we have 2 rooms booked, I thought it would a great idea to get connection rooms.
Once checked in and arriving to our rooms, we couldn't find a doors which were ment to connect rooms. I have rang reception to find out that its more like 2 bedroom apatment. There were spare doors locking part of the corridor and then two rooms were kind of together with small corridor between. Absolutely brilliant idea!! They havent wasted even an inch of wall surface to built another door. I was very impressed.
Rooms were descent size, round shape of the building make then look smaller then they actually are. Bathrooms were brand door, squeeky clean.
We were staying in the hotel on the night of Super Bowl, so we really enjoyed a big screen.
Swimming facilities are excellent, especially kids swimming pool. The only thing which bothered me a bit and maybe in few years it will be an issue. Is that when leaving your hotel room and heading to spa/swimmipool facilities, you take a lift down and to get to any pool you need to go thru very big room where FKK passionates are relaxing [Freikörperkultur (FKK) -Free Body Culture)].
Not being fan of it at the first place, I sure don't want my child to be surrounded by nacked bodies of any age. Now our little Monkey wasn't bothered, but as I said in few years it might become an issue. I saw later on that there is another entrance to swimming facilities (to the public), but you will have to run thru reception and it's not what you want when booking SPA hotel.
Overall we had a ball, very relaxing, well looked after ladies on the reception. We will definitely come back when sking next time!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bunny_on_journey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

As a large familly group we stayed in the hotel during the christmas week, hoping to be able to do some skiing every day. Our stay was booked quite a bit in advance. When we arrived the hotel was apparently fully booked. The weather was attrocious and it rained 6 out of 7 days.

Upon arrival our rooms were ready around 3 pm. All rooms are oddly shaped because of the "Gherkin" shape of the building (The germans say "egg"). At all cost avoid rooms 103, 104, 203 and 204 as they are slap bang opposite the bar and offices and, unless you draw the curtains at all times, you have no privacy whatsoever!!!! Because the entire hotel decor is devoid of anything fluffy it is great for people with allergies, but dust flocks appear after 1 day. If you did not hang up your "clean room" sign, rooms were sometimes not cleaned untill after 5 pm, although when requested they were done by the very friendly and very busy cleaning lady.

There was no kettle in the rooms and no free water (€3.50 per bottle), but the tap water is good. Very comfy beds, large telly, spa bag with towelling robe, large towel and disposable adult or child slippers. Bathrooms very new and clean. Some bigger than others. Nasty bruise from sticking out towel rail! Excellent showers, plastic glasses, no conditionner.

The hotel is style orientated to the extend that creature comforts are ignored. Stylish furniture, but definitively not comfy. Stylish, but sometimes annoyingly bright lighting and in some cases utterly insufficient lighting (bedroom, bar, restaurant). Constant Sky sports on tv in the lounge.

The restaurant does a fantastic breakfast, but the dinners were drawn out and took a long time, despite there being a set menue with no choice apart from meat or fish! Meat/fish were cooked to perfection, but six days cabbage varieties and a milk based pudding with a crumb variety (pumpernickel, spekulas, lebkuchen, stollen etc) became a bit tiresome. Kids meals o.k. although portion sizes varied and some chips would have been nice. (We did not "get infected by the European and Asian exuberance of the kitchen, nor did we get whisked onto cloud nine" as mentioned in the brochure)

It would have been nice if the hotel had put on some film entertainment or had some games for the children in the hotel as the weather was so bad. Christmas decoration was at a minimum in Winterberg itself as well as at the hotel and in fact the ornaments were taken out of the tree the day after christmas although the tree with lights remained. (This might have been a local custom). Adults did get a Christmas chocolate and kids did get a plastic disc sledge each.

The swimming pool was absolutely fantastic, especially as their was an absolutely huge inflatable spider in the pool for the kids to climb onto and jump off as well the opportunity to use the diving area in the pool. A nice baby pool and a warm water pool were also available. The outdoor small pool was closed. Less impressive was that the guard choose to go for a jacuzi break in the spa area when there were around 20 small kids playing on and around the huge spider and, because there was no supervision, some adult blokes decided to jump against the spider from the diving board, just for the hell of it!

The whole spa, gym and swimming area were absolutely beautiful, clean, fantastic etc. etc. etc.

HOWEVER.... the hotel documentation did not at any time in English nor Dutch mention that the pool was also a public pool!! That adults as well as CHILDREN are obliged to be naked in the spa area. That as hotel guests, everybody is obliged to go through the spa area to get to the pool. All minors (underaged children) are forced to mingle with naked adults, of all sexes, whether they (or their parents) like to or not. This might be very German, but not very Cosmopolitan! In fact, most UK newspapers would have a field day with "Hotel management forces Minors to strip naked to share Spa with naked Adults ". It being also available to the public means that any Jim, Fred or Gary could anonymously visit the facilities and have a completele legal field day "feeling cosy in the water*"!!! (* brochure quote)

Oversum is a fantastic conference destination and it caters very well for a Germanic clientele, but it is definitively not Cosmopolitan and it's brochure, after having been there, definitively made amusing reading. The staff are all very hard working and friendly and are constantly multi tasking right up to managerial level. (Not necessarily the "young motivated team" as stated in the brochure!). The building is modern and it is the most fire safe hotel I have ever stayed in. Once the newly planted vegetation has grown, it's starkness in the landscape will be softened. A bit less style and a bit more comfort and more realistic brochure copy would better prepare its international guest for what to expect.

Room Tip: Avoid 103, 104, 203, 204 if you want a view. In fact ask for 3rd of 4th floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank OutragedMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hasselt, Belgium
Level Contributor
111 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013 via mobile

We arrived at the hotel at 3 pm.
It is now almost 5.30 pm still. No sign of the junior suite we reserved
For the money I spend here I will certainly not recommend this hotel
We got an invitation to go to the bar for a drink but after 2 hours you could expect something better

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paal, Limburg, Belgium
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012

Great stay! The wellness facilities and breakfast were very good!
Price/quality it was the best hotel we had in ages! We would definitey recommend this hotel to others.
The rooms were not ready in time but we've got a free drink in the lounge bar.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
114 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2012

At christmas time we stayed 4 nights. The price was considerable (160 euro per night) and a bit too much. Architecture of the building is interesting, but it leads to small rooms. Too small for the price. Bathroom is a bit basic/small. Matrasses are hard, pillows are terrible (undistinguishable material). No small refrigerator/minibar. TV fine. No possibility to control the airconditioning. Therefore opening of the window is the only method, but this leads to windnoise due to the structure around the building. Otherwise the hotel was quiet: not a lot of noises from other guests, although the place was well booked. Hotel has a very nice, well equipped sauna, steam cabin etc and swimming pool. Really worthwhile, open until 22.00 hrs. Breakfast is pleasant and dining is sufficient quality, although the restaurant itself has a sterile atmosphere. Wines are of good quality. Waiters/waitresses are professional and friendly and the restaurant manager helpful. Parking facilities perfect. Check-in/out is understaffed (only 1 staff at peak hours).
For elderly people/wheelchairs: the doors are very heavvy and difficult to open and close with a slam.
Overall: sterile atmosphere, adequate restaurant, small rooms but very good sauna/swimming facilities.

Room Tip: Ask for the location of the room: the building is round and some rooms look at the parking lot (bori...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toemaarjongens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winterberg hotels
3.2 mi away
Berghotel Astenkrone
Berghotel Astenkrone
#6 of 54 in Winterberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.3 mi away
AVITAL Resort
AVITAL Resort
#3 of 54 in Winterberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.9 mi away
Vakantiehotel Der Brabander
Vakantiehotel Der Brabander
#2 of 54 in Winterberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Dorint Hotel & Sportresort
Dorint Hotel & Sportresort
#24 of 54 in Winterberg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hapimag Resort Winterberg
Hapimag Resort Winterberg
#4 of 54 in Winterberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Liebesglueck
Hotel Liebesglueck
#12 of 54 in Winterberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oversum - Vital Resort Winterberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oversum - Vital Resort Winterberg

Property: Oversum - Vital Resort Winterberg
Address: Am Kurpark, 59955, Winterberg, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Winterberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 54 Hotels in Winterberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oversum - Vital Resort Winterberg 4.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Oversum - Vital Resort Winterberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing