We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality Hospitality”
Review of Hotel Winterberg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Winterberg
Ranked #9 of 54 Hotels in Winterberg
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 555 helpful votes
“Quality Hospitality”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Stayed for a weekend break that turned into 4 days of touring and activities and the Hotel Witnerberg made for a perfect base. The staff all speak English, very well and tolerated my German with grace. Danke. The decoration is typical for the area and made me feel very at home.

The rooms are well appointed and clean to white glove inspection standards. The bed was uber comfortable so much so that I found it very difficult to get up in the mornings. It must be the combination of great food, beer and the mountain air because I slept like a baby every night for four nights.

The breakfasts were lovely with fresh rolls, meats and cheese. There were other options but with fresh bread and excellent coffee I was in heaven.

There's so much to do here that I could easily have spent the week here. I know the area well and yet each time I go back I find something new or something that I've missed before now. The area is great for cycling, fishing, walking. Skiing, bob-sleigh an dog sledge rides in the Winter. If you intend on staying here for skiing then the nearest lift is less than three minutes walk, in boots, with equipment. Great.

The staff looked after our bikes and made sure that they were safe and sound. A Dutch visitor staying near by had his expensive mountain bikes stolen from the roof rack while checking in. Lucky for him there was CCTV and German police were able to stop the van and recover the bikes undamaged. The thieves couldn't explain why the front wheels of "their" bikes were missing but the Dutch guy had the wheels in the boot of his car and the Police were very happy with that. Keep you bikes locked and secured. I heard so many tales of bikes going missing this summer.

All this is a great hotel and I look forward to staying here again at Christmas.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Crash_Rescue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    44
    23
    7
    4
See reviews for
20
36
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

A group of ten motor cyclists from Scotland headed over to Germany in search of excellent roads and road surfaces to ride. We stayed at the hotel Winterberg using it as a base for our four days trip. The hotel is very biker friendly and on our arrival the owner showed us to the large carpeted garage where we could park the bikes over night under lock and key. The garage was large enough for 30 odd motor bikes. The bed room was clean, functional and comfortable if a little basic. The restaurant provided an all you can eat type breakfast and evening meal with plenty of selection and all good simple fare, it certainly was very welcome after a long day in the saddle and all ten in the party always found something to their liking. The restaurant was also very accommodating with regards to the timing of evening meals. The bar is a pleasant place to relax after a long day and have a beer however was more expensive than the bars in town. Weather was good when we were in the area and the roads within a 200 mile radius regardless of which direction you decide to go are superb for motor cyclists. The hotel is a great place to use as a base and for 40 euros a night bed, breakfast and evening meal very reasonably priced in my opinion and I would certainly recommend a visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alistair M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
104 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

Visited during the week. Weekends might be quite different, it will be a lot busier.
Large parking, not very well lit, so icey patches can surprise you. Reception was friendly and efficient. Bar area is large and has pool table and two pinball machines.
Stairs a bit over the top with ornaments. Maybe they are intended to take your mind of the smell.
Rooms are adequate size, very clean. Beds are soft and comfortable. Bathroom is ok. Shower has no door not curtain, so floor is completely wet after using the shower.
Hotel is located very close to ski-lift of one of the nicest ski area's in Winterberg.

Hotel also goes by name: Hotel Resort Winterberg.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lli_030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tilburg
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

We stayed in hotel Winterberg for 2 nights. We booked a standard 2p.-room. The hotel has more than enough parking space if you
arrive with the car as we did. It is very conveniently located as the nearest elevator to the snow-area is not more than a few minutes walk
from the hotel. There is also a small store near the hotel where you can rent snowboards etc. at a very reasonable price. Check in went smoothly
and the service was more than good. The hotel is pretty big so if you have a room in the back of the hotel it's a little walk to there. The room is standard.
In our experience it was clean, but small. The bathroom is nothing special but more than sufficient. We booked the room at almost €90 p/n. Decent price
for an average room. Wifi was okay.
The hotel has a swimming pool which is nice. We also had dinner at the buffet restaurant. This was not so good. Not much choice and the service was
poor. The personnel was very reactive and didn't look as if they enjoyed working there. We did have a good time at the bar. A good selection of beer and
snacks, but also small meals. There is a billiard there and a pinballmachine. A quite good place to chill out. The hotel doesn't stand out or anything, but it isn't
bad. If we ever return to Winterberg we will definitely consider this hotel.

Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank debbieendennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

Our room was small but clean and comfortable, the price was reasonable and reception staff very helpful and pleasant.

Unfortunately we found the restaurant to be very poor, For dinner there was only a limited buffet and no a la carte option. At breakfast the fried egg was cold and the young waitress surly and unhelpful.

Good walks straight from the hotel and a decent small restaurant opposite the entrance where we had a nice lunch served by a very pleasant and helpful waitress.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine_Roger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baarn
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Stayed here recently with my family in one of the family rooms. The hotel is located on the outer skirts of Winterberg so for skiing you are outside of the major area although connected via lifts. Apres ski drinks do require you to drive though...

The room
Our room was quite spacious with 3 separate bedrooms with 2 separate beds each. None of the rooms had a double bed, all had single beds pushed next to each other with a seizable gap between them. The room was located in a separate building leaving us no option but to stay in our room when the children were asleep.
In case of snow the steps to the building and the path to the room are not cleaned per se. In our case after multiple requests I was given a bucket with salt to do it myself...?
The rooms were very dusty (see pictures) and our daughter suffered severe coughing problems as a result. After requests this was not solved so I wiped the floors myself with a towel.

Breakfast/diner
A large restaurant area is in the main building. guests are required to show a hotel id card to make reservations and to order a drink. Somehow after 6 days we were still not recognized and needed to show both our room key and an ID card to order drinks. not very professional or ambitious in my view.
The food was plenty but not very tasteful. This is not uncommon in Germany and this hotel scores average for German standards. Basically there is a buffet with 3-4 choices for mains and some vegetables and potatoes.
Breakfast was quite OK with great fresh bread.

All in all I would not return but go to neighboring places like Landhotel-Altastenberg that is located better and has more soul and friendliness to it.

Room Tip: Opt for (connecting rooms) in one of the main buildings
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stealth_traveler_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Winterberg hotels

Wassenaar, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Minimalist furnishings, (two single beds) a small table and two chairs. Not the most romantic accommodations, but the hotel was full on the first weekend of the winter break. The facilities were quite good. We enjoyed the heated pool and sauna, the breakfast was excellent and the skiing was incredible. Very good equipment can be rented on site and the lifts are less than 5 minute walk from the lobby of the hotel. Great value for families.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winterberg hotels
2.0 mi away
AVITAL Resort
AVITAL Resort
#3 of 54 in Winterberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
1.3 mi away
Dorint Hotel & Sportresort
Dorint Hotel & Sportresort
#24 of 54 in Winterberg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
1.1 mi away
Berghotel Astenkrone
Berghotel Astenkrone
#6 of 54 in Winterberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Liebesglueck
Hotel Liebesglueck
#12 of 54 in Winterberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hapimag Resort Winterberg
Hapimag Resort Winterberg
#4 of 54 in Winterberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
1.3 mi away
Vakantiehotel Der Brabander
Vakantiehotel Der Brabander
#2 of 54 in Winterberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Winterberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Winterberg

Property: Hotel Winterberg
Address: In der Renau 1, 59955, Winterberg, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Winterberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 54 Hotels in Winterberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Winterberg 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Winterberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing