We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Berghotel Astenkrone
Ranked #6 of 53 Hotels in Winterberg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We found the hotel via the internet. We agree with the other positive reviews.
We had room 57, which is large, with a separate bath room, loo and walking closet.
Good beds. Very nicely decorated Very quiet. Only disadvantage is that this room in a building that is connected via a long hallway to the main building + 2 stairs.
Everything is very clean, the welness area good with a quite large indoor pool.

We booked half-board which was quite ok, but not too inspiring. We changed to a la carte the last day. We think that was very good.

Room Tip: ask for room in main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nico S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (64)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2012

Expectations were set high due to its ranking but this hotell managed to positively surprise. We got a fantastic room / suite (no 3) with huge terasse. The staff were very friendly, the pool area was super for our kids and the hotel restaurant served excellent food and took really good care of the kids. If you are here in the summer time, don't miss the summer rodel.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Terserus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2011

We stayed there for 2 nights in apartment 43 for a quick ski holiday in Winterberg. What a nice apartment and so clean. It suits for a max of 6 persons and offers all that is needed. A well equiped kitchen to cook yourself but you can ofcourse make use of the service of the hotel if you like. The apartment is very clean and is ideal for a short stay to have some privacy. We had dinner in the Stube and the staff is very friendly in the restaurant. Good food and nice wine, with regional specialties. The atmosphere is warm with the traditional wood. One tip to the hotel: The staff is walking in (new) traditional clothing which looks nice but I doubt if this is nowadays still needed. New to-date (hip/design) uniforms would be refreshing...

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Errald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2009

We have stayed here already some 7-8 times over the years, mainly with our four sons, usually for a long weekend or a midweek..
Very personalised service. Herr Templin and his staff do their atmost to make your stay memorable. Breakfast is outstanding. Lunch and dinner are very good indeed too. The hotel is very well maintained. Nice pool-area.
We have stayed here mainly in autumn or winter. (Skiingslopes accross the street)
We have no clue how it will be in the summer as for the fact that the hotel lacks a garden of its own.
Anyway, as long as we do not have a house of our own in the beautiful Sauerland we will definately keep on returning.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HPBKraaijeveld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2008

The hotel is full of old world charme, with heavy drapery, ornaments and lots of wood. We received a warm welcome and found all members of staff to be extremely friendly and well-trained. Service was absolutely perfect. The rooms are a bit old-fashioned but show only little signs of wear. Every area of the hotel is spotlessly clean, I believe I have never been to any hotel which was cleaner. The spa area is small, but nice, the size of the pool and the water temperature are ok. The saunas are only open in the afternoon or upon request, which I found a bit awkward on a rainy weekend. The hotel is very child-friendly, with nice linen on the kids' bed, kids' size bath robes, play corner, toys provided in the restaurant and a little welcome gift in the room.
Two points which really turned us off: smoking is permitted in the public areas and the entire hotel literally STANK of smoke. The air was extremely bad. I am willing to accept cigarette smoke to a certain extend but this was far beyond acceptable levels. The second point was the relatively weak performance of the restaurant. Again, service was excellent, our table (we were there for a family reunion) had a lovely decoration, but the menue was very limited and the quality of the food was not convincing at all. The standard was rather that of a small town inn, not that of a 4* superior hotel.
The overall impression of the hotel is good, though because of the bad air we would probably not go there again.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fraugast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank Ricarda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Standardzimmer sind sehr gut eingerichtet.Es gibt auch Zimmer mit Balkon und Sicht ins Tal. Sollte m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wolfgang D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winterberg hotels
3 mi away
AVITAL Resort
AVITAL Resort
#3 of 53 in Winterberg
153 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hapimag Resort Winterberg
Hapimag Resort Winterberg
#7 of 53 in Winterberg
92 reviews
1.7 mi away
Dorint Hotel & Sportresort
Dorint Hotel & Sportresort
#35 of 53 in Winterberg
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Central-Hotel
Central-Hotel
#2 of 53 in Winterberg
57 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Liebesglueck
Hotel Liebesglueck
#16 of 53 in Winterberg
64 reviews
2.3 mi away
Vakantiehotel Der Brabander
Vakantiehotel Der Brabander
#5 of 53 in Winterberg
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berghotel Astenkrone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berghotel Astenkrone

Address: Astenstr. 24, 59955, Winterberg, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Winterberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 53 Hotels in Winterberg
Price Range: £107 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Berghotel Astenkrone 4.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Berghotel Astenkrone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing