We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place in the old city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Posthotel Kolberbrau
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Bad Toelz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 June 2013

The Hotel faces onto the car-free main street of the old downtown. There are dozens of other places in the area, but they all are somehow off the old city. The rooms are nice, but nothing especial. The restaurant is good and serves not only the common german dishes of the area.

Room Tip: rooms facing the inner court
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rajang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2012

This is a great little place direct on the main pedestrian walk way. We do a stop over during the local Christmas market that is just out the front door. Wonderful Market...Also they have nice basic German kitchen and Augustiner Beer the best brew. Family style...perfect...

Room Tip: This is a great little Place and rooms are large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JGT-HG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

If you're looking for a hotel near shopping, food etc with old world charm, this is the place. However, if you're looking for modern conveniences like wireless (or even wired) internetin the rooms, well...this place probably isn't for you.

First, the positives; probably the most spacious room we've had in 10 days in Germany. Tour group had a group dinner in the restaurant one night and 2 morning breakfasts there and was good food, friendly staff, etc. And there are plenty of nearby cares and bistros as well. Also nearby is convenience mart, clothes shops etc. Room was huge and with double pane opening windows can get plenty of fresh air in room. And it was lovely to hear the nearby muffled church bells thru the night.

Now the ot-so-positives; room was old and not an over abundance of electric lighting. Wireless Internet reputed tobe available only in the lobby and restaurant but wasntavailable at all during our entire 2-night stay. No parking available at hotel.

Now the not so positives.

Room Tip: Don't get room on market side of hotel. Vendor trucks and ohernoisebegins at 4am.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hatlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

This is an old style hotel with big rooms and character in each. The staff was friendly and very helpful. The location doesn't allow parking next to the building, but the lot is a couple of steps out the back.

Since this is on the town pedestrian area, it is very quite. My snoring was the only thing my group heard that night. Each room had a different layout but all very clean and comfortable. We were extra fortunate that Saturday was an art fair right out the door.

The breakfast was worth it as selection was very good and quality was excellent. I would advise you buy it in the room price.

Location is a bit of a drive to other sites, but it is central to Zugspitze, Neuschwanstein, and east to Salzburg. This location gave us great flexibility depending on the weather as it changed greatly from day-to-day.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UofMTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

I was there for one night in October 2011.
The hotel is very well place in the middle of the pedestrian area in Bad Toelz, so if you have to stop there, it is in a very good position.

Good part:
Staff: friendly and very helpful
Restaurant: very good, both for dinner and breakfast.
Free WiFi in the rooms

So and so part:
Rooms need a renovation (at least the one I was in), but for the price you pay it is acceptable I guess.
Mattress was not very good in my room.
Bathroom was very very small (in my room).

Generally speaking I cannot say it was a bad hotel, but not even so impressive.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FTLPadova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Very nice place, rooms up to date, clean, well appointed. Would stay again for sure! Breakfast and Dinner was good as well . Nice place to stay right in the middle of the historic section. They made us feel welcome even though we showed up as wet motorcyclists. Internet is VERY limited

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yeskino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2010

The place is fine. We cycled here from Wallgau. The rooms are big and well maintained even if the local custom of providing two single beds instead of a double can become tiresome. The beds in this hotel are "sleigh style" so pushing them together still means that there is a cot like edge in the middle.

Bad Tolz is a beautiful town on the banks of the Isar and this is as good a place to base yourself as any. It is near a monastery however so beware the bells that ring for vespers and matins. If you don't know what they are think of an alarm at 5am and then again at first light.

Staff in the restaurant are quite brusque and unfriendly. We were refused water one night by a waitress and had to ask the manager to get the water for us. Slightly bizarre I know.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank robespierre1798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bad Toelz hotels
0.1 mi away
Kolbergarten
Kolbergarten
#5 of 19 in Bad Toelz
28 reviews
1.0 mi away
Altes Zollhaus
Altes Zollhaus
#15 of 19 in Bad Toelz
34 reviews
0.7 mi away
Eberl's Vitalresort
Eberl's Vitalresort
#8 of 19 in Bad Toelz
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Am Wald
Hotel Am Wald
#9 of 19 in Bad Toelz
26 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#2 of 19 in Bad Toelz
34 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Alpenhof
Hotel Alpenhof
#3 of 19 in Bad Toelz
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posthotel Kolberbrau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posthotel Kolberbrau

Address: Marktstr. 29, 83646 Bad Toelz, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Bad Toelz
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Bad Toelz
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bad Toelz
Price Range: £79 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Posthotel Kolberbrau 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Posthotel Kolberbrau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posthotel Kolberbrau Germany/Bad Toelz, Bavaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing