We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great roadtrip hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
ACHAT Plaza Kulmbach
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Kulmbach
Trento, Italy
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great roadtrip hotel”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

I stayed in this hotel with my family while doing a roadtrip from Trento (Northern Italy) to Berlin. We arrived pretty late and tired, and were nicely surprised by how easy the check-in was, how much and vast parking space there was available and that the restaurant was open and we could get some good dinner even after 10pm. Everything we needed and wanted after driving 600+ km and visited 4 cities in a day. On the next day, we were nicely surprised again by the incredible breakfast buffet, offering from traditional brioches and pastries to Leberwurstel and scrambled eggs, good tea in threads and fresh fruit juice.

Very important: there was good internet for free in all the rooms, and a printer for free use.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NiniGuaia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    37
    35
    3
    4
See reviews for
10
24
8
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Stayed at the Achat Plaza in Kulmbach for a week. Large rooms, part-refurbished quite recently - good bathrooms, contemporary decor (no plush upholstery). Excellent breakfast buffet. Bar/Restaurant small and very quiet but food was good when it arrived - attending local festival and they stayed open until 11:00 so you could eat when you got back. Front of House staff friendly and helpful. Quiet site on border of historical Kulmbach. Some facilities too basic - only one coffee pod for the expresso machine in the room (extra cups 1 euro each), squeezy bottle of soap for sink and shower, minibar not refilled each day and as I was occupying a double room alone, I hadn't expected to have only a single duvet covering half the bed and 1 pillow!

Room Tip: Maybe room at back of hotel to avoid car park noise at front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank operacentric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Passau
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Good location, ample parking space and you're able to check in in the middle of the night. The bed was ok, although the provided pillow was more of the size of a marshmallow. They could have provided a larger one. The TV set is modern, but without the help of binoculars you won't be able to read the subtitles from out of your bed.
The rest is really ok. The room was clean, the toilet was clean, the room did not smell and there was a lot of space. Coffee and tea making facilities were provided. Although a double room, I had the feeling it was equipped more for a single room.
Breakfast was ample and ok, though the price was slightly high.

Room Tip: try to stay away from the ground floor, lots of people passing by there on their way to breakfast. D...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TripFactory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2013

Stayed here for a business meeting and was disappointed. I've stayed many in other hotels in Germany and this was by far the worst. The service was TERRIBLE, and the staff seems to hate their guests. Getting someone to wait on you in the bar/restaurant will be difficult and even if they do come by once, it doesn't necessarily mean they'll come back anytime soon. There is a coffee maker in your room, but don't excpect it to be refilled daily if you use any of it.. you'll have to ask the front desk for more, and they'll charge you for it. Upon check-out the front desk agent asked me if I'd taken anything from the mini bar (assuming she meant that day, because housekeeping wouldn't have seen that yet), so I told her no, and she rudely responded with a list of waters, etc that I had taken throughout my stay. I hadn't realize it was a test and I needed to list everything she already knew about. I just can't say enough about the terrible service at this place. The ONLY positive would be that my room was huge.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank luvlacandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kulmbach hotels

Cheshire, England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013 via mobile

The rooms are clean and in a quiet location. The front desk and restaurant staff spoke very good English and were very welcoming. Nice selection of European style breakfast choices. Rooms are basic but adequate. For info I was here on business and was suitable for the purpose of an overnight stay.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange
Level Contributor
306 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2012

Stayed here because of the good reviews - and these were correct - also quite cheap. Arrived to find a nice, comfortable, slightly aging hotel...............opened the door to our room to find space and lots of it. A king bed - couldn't find my wife there for a while!!!!. So much space after a few cramped hotels. were able to really spread out. Excellent wifi but doesn't work with ipad and iphone - luckily had my portable laptop!!! That is a weakness and needs fixing and soon....everyone has an ipad or iphone. The only other downside, the stale smell f cigarette smoke in corridors....not room. Front desk outstandingingly helpful, location super close to town, computer and printer available for printing tickets etc. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rm 11 is massive
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

I recently stayed at the Achat Hotel in Kulmbach I was in Kulmbach visiting the IREKS factory that is situated in the town. I was visiting with another 18 delegates from the UK.
The Achat is a modern style hotel that is part of a chain of hotels; this is the first time I have stayed with this company. As with most chain hotels the standards are very similar and functional. Booking in was efficient and quick considering 20 people all arrived at once.
My room was a double room with large bed, TV desk and large bath room; it also had a trouser press.
There was a TV with freeview in German but it did have CNN if you can stand the accents of the presenters. There was a shoe polisher on the ground floor.
The room was clean and functional, and my room overlooked the grassed area at the rear, the front of the hotel overlooks the car park, but it doesn’t matter as you are away from the main roads. The hotel was extremely quiet.
There was a mini bar which was reasonably priced when compared to other hotels I have stayed at (2.50 Euros for a bottle of beer) there is also room service available.
My only complaint regarding the room was that it was obviously a smoking room and the smell lingered for my whole stay. Had I paid for the room and not been a guest of the company I would have asked to move. It would be prudent to ask for a non smoking room if you are considering staying here.
Breakfast was excellent with a large range of breads, fruits, meats, cheeses and a small hot selection of sausage and egg and plenty hot drinks and juices.
There is a bar within the hotel that serves snacks; I had the Meat and cheese platter which was an ideal accompaniment to my beer.
There seemed to be easy access to all areas for less mobile and wheelchair users and lifts to all floors.

There is a sauna that cost 8 Euros so I didn’t use it, there was no gym nor fitness room, nor pool, just in case you were expecting one.
People were using wifi but I don’t know if it was free or not.
The hotel is about ten minute walk to the town centre where you will find umpteen bars and restaurants, Jasmines’ is the closest bar and seems to be the bar that opens the latest too.
Jasmines’ is half way between town and the hotel.
There is also the magnificent Plassenberg castle at the top of town and many buildings of interest throughout this small town.
Kulmbach is not necessarily a tourist destination and I doubt if you are reading this review you will be visiting purely as a tourist, but do take time out to visit the town, you will not be disappointed. This is one of the hidden gems of Germany.

Room Tip: ask for non smoking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank enners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kulmbach hotels
2.2 mi away
Flair Hotel Dobrachtal
Flair Hotel Dobrachtal
#2 of 9 in Kulmbach
19 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel "An der Eiche"
Hotel "An der Eiche"
#1 of 9 in Kulmbach
56 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Kronprinz
Hotel Kronprinz
#3 of 9 in Kulmbach
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ihr Hotel Ertl
Ihr Hotel Ertl
#5 of 9 in Kulmbach
21 reviews
1.2 mi away
Landhotel Schwaerzhof
Landhotel Schwaerzhof
#7 of 9 in Kulmbach
12 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Purucker
Hotel Purucker
#8 of 9 in Kulmbach
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ACHAT Plaza Kulmbach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ACHAT Plaza Kulmbach

Property: ACHAT Plaza Kulmbach
Address: Luitpoldstr. 2, 95326 Kulmbach, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly NH Kulmbach)
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Upper Franconia > Kulmbach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Kulmbach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — ACHAT Plaza Kulmbach 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your ACHAT Plaza Kulmbach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing