We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic looking hotel with modern accomidations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bachmair Hotel am See
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Rottach-Egern
Scotts Valley, California
Level Contributor
254 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Classic looking hotel with modern accomidations”
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Fantastic location right on the lake! Large rooms, more like suites with a friendly staff and free parking. Rooms are very "old school" 1940s decor but clean and well kept with modern bathrooms and huge walk in closets. We fit 2 adults and 2 young kids with no problem. Rooms are separated by a curtain for my 2 year old to sleep while we watched tv in the other room. And most facinating was the 1950s era radio that was made of wood and about 18" long and it still worked! Plus the mountain was only 4 km away, very close. I would definitely come back here to stay!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bachmair, Reservierungsleiter at Bachmair Hotel am See, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Dear Marisa,

Thanks so much for your kind words and review. You're right in that we are ideally located in the heart Rottach-Egern as well as for a short escape to mountains . Thanks also for highlighting the quality of our rooms and staff. Not to mention our in room radios – we love them.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    42
    44
    21
    12
See reviews for
36
58
10
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

We took a weekend vacation to the area to sled and see the sights. The hotel is lovely- it is not dated, just old. Beautiful antiques, Bavarian furnishings- no IKEA furniture in sight! The room was huge-the triple amounted to a living room and 2 bedrooms, The beds are comfortable, the food delicious (the breakfast bar is amazing including smoked salmon, artisan cheeses, and hot fare as well). The staff was freindly and extrordinarily helpful. The views from the hotel are breathtaking- it is directly on the lake. We would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaisyLouNc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bachmair, Reservationsmanager at Bachmair Hotel am See, responded to this review, 2 February 2012
Dear Reviewer,

thank you for all of your very kind compliments on our product and service. I was delighted to read this review and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baku, Azerbaijan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 January 2011

I stayed in this hotel with my family and all of us enjoyed it . The hotel is very big with lots of facilities ( golf,swimming pools,gym , etc.:) so you can spend whole day there. Personal is very friendly and is sure to help you with anything. If you are looking for a place that is very quite , has a good location and spa this is just what you need . Besides this hotel is very unusual . It is an old place with very beautiful decorations that makes it look new . Everything is very clean and tidy . The only thing i need to tell you is if you are my age between 13-18 you want find it interesting . Because to be honest i was the youngest guy out there and sometimes i found it quite boring , Obviously don`t expect any superb parties and hangovers in there, as it is a place for old ones and family people . But in general Hotel is extremely good and a pleasant place to stay in :)

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adilsafarov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bachmair, Reservierungsleiter at Bachmair Hotel am See, responded to this review, 14 January 2011
Dear "Adilsafarov"

thank you for taking the time to write this review.

We really appreciate all of your comments and look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
k'town
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2010

We travelled to this hotel for a short break in conjunction with a DB 1st class holiday. Well the train might have been 1st class but the hotel certainly was not! We were put in the'annex' which was a hotel round the back of the hotel overlooking the car park. The roon was very dated, about 1950 I would suggest, it had a balcony, which one might just get a veiw of the lake if it were not for the balcony fence lookking suspiciously loose! The restaurant was closed for renovation, the beds were just awful, there is no other way to describe them, the annex, which was an hotel obviously bought by the Bachmair, it still had Park Hotel over the entrance, was like a ghost house, the carpet on the steps was worn and generally had a run down look to it. The only good thing was the breakfast, plenty of choice with warm food cooked for you by the chef.

Would I recommend it, no!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank K_townYorkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bachmair, Reservierungsleiter at Bachmair Hotel am See, responded to this review, 10 September 2010
Dear reviewer,

we are very concerned to read this feedback.

We already did explain all matters regarding your stay with the travel agent you complained with.

Please do accept our sincere apologizes that we didn’t meet your expectations. Any comment during your stay would have been very much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rottach-Egern hotels

Cork, Eire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2010

whist this hotel might have been great in the past, it is quite awful now and certainly seems to live on it's past glory.
Don't bother thee are better hotels in the village

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manfred_X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bachmair, Reservierungsleiter at Bachmair Hotel am See, responded to this review, 1 June 2010
Dear Reviewer.

We are very concerned to read your comments. As you will be able to read from our hotel website and hotel brochures our hotel is nearly 185 years old and within that time the needs and requirements have changed permanently. We do now try to keep our hotel as up to date as possible without loosing it's unique charme. Most interior items are individual hand made on behalf of our owner and we know, that our old styled Bavarian design does not meet anyones taste.

We can only apologize that we did not meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 June 2008

I worked at the Bachmair as a chambermaid in 1975 when the hotel was world famous, operated to the highest standards and counted its guests amongst royalty and the world's richest. I always said I would go back one day as a guest to experience the luxury and top-class service. On my 50th birthday myself and my husband stayed there to fulfil my dream. What a huge disappointment. The furnishings were the same as in the '70's(!), i.e. worn, tired and out of date, the service was mediocre and the chambermaids were never around when you wanted something. Unheard of in my day. The staff were not particularly helpful and the overall impression was one of "can't be bothered." This hotel was unsurpassed in its hey day and is now still trading on its past reputation. How sad. Happily, the beautiful scenery is unchanged and developments around the lake have been kept to a minimum so it was well worth the visit and is a destination we go back to every year - staying in different accommodation!
[--]

Stayed August 2003
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2007

The hotel promised a room with a view of the lake; however, they gave us a much smaller room with a view of a parking lot and still charged us the rate of the nicer room. The hotel staff was rude and refused to rectify the situation, and suggested we could check out and still pay 100% of the rate.

The hotel and room were generally run down and designed in poor taste.

  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank nobodyhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rottach-Egern
1.5 mi away
Das Tegernsee
Das Tegernsee
#1 of 9 in Tegernsee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
0.3 mi away
Althoff Seehotel Ueberfahrt
Althoff Seehotel Ueberfahrt
#1 of 12 in Rottach-Egern
4.5 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Bachmair Weissach
Hotel Bachmair Weissach
#2 of 12 in Rottach-Egern
4.5 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Der Westerhof Hotel
Der Westerhof Hotel
#3 of 9 in Tegernsee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.5 mi away
Park-Hotel Egerner Hoefe
Park-Hotel Egerner Hoefe
#3 of 12 in Rottach-Egern
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
1.4 mi away
Seehotel Luitpold
Seehotel Luitpold
#2 of 9 in Tegernsee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bachmair Hotel am See? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bachmair Hotel am See

Property: Bachmair Hotel am See
Address: Seestr. 47, 83700 Rottach-Egern, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Rottach-Egern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Rottach-Egern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bachmair Hotel am See 4*
Number of rooms: 288
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Bachmair Hotel am See reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bachmair Hotel Rottach Egern

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing