We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of he best retreats”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Althoff Seehotel Ueberfahrt
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Rottach-Egern
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We were here for 3 nights on a mix of Business and pleasure. Excellent facilities and very nice rooms. The views are wonderfull and the staff are top notch. Breakfast is very veraied and the breakfast room encourages you to make it a nice relaxed and slow meal.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nick r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (883)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 883 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2013

What a great hotel in an absolutely beautiful setting. The rooms are large and well equipped: large flatscreen, DVD player, wireless,... Large bathroom with a large bath and separate shower.
Friendly and professional staff. Great food in their restaurants and during meetings.
Perfect place for a business retreat or a couples retreat.

Room Tip: All great rooms some have lake views. I had a wonderful large terrace with seats to enjoy the sun an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mvanimpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

Nice big clean rooms. The lobby is great and they have a free Champagne hour in the evenings that is a nice perk. I have kids but I really liked the sign that noisy children should go to the basement. A walk around the lake is brisk and the air is refreshing with the smell of evergreens.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jbramlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

This is truly a great hotel, well maintained very spacious rooms with switched on staff. The location is fantastic with amazing views, I only had breakfast in the hotel but it was great, well worth a trip to discover more, I will be back.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank RobertFr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013

As an American I write this review with some trepidation because I fear that if this wonderful place becomes discovered by more North Americans it might thereby be changed. However, I know this worry to be groundless because at Seehotel Überfahrt it is the guests who are changed by the experience of the hotel and not vice versa. In addition, fair is fair, and what has my vote as the world's best resort hotel deserves public praise. I do not render this opinion lightly or on the basis of a single experience. My latest trip in January 2013 was my fourth. The setting on Tegernsee, a lake south of Munich, at the foothills of the Alps is magnificent and offers an abundance of activities in every season. The attractions of Munich are but an hour away.The hotel is architecturally stunning and is situated to have excellent views over the lake and out to the mountains. The rooms are distinguished by luxury and sound design. The spa is vast; the exercise facilities are first class; and the indoor chlorine-free pool is no mere ornament but rather combines luxury (just take a look at the photos on the web) with an excellent facility for swimming. The sauna area is among the best available. And the dining is superb. There are Christian Jürgens' imaginative creations at the Gourmet Restaurant, which well deserves it two Michelin stars. The Italian and Bavarian restaurants are also up to high standards. The breakfast buffet rivals anything you will experience at the finest hotels in France. Finally, the service is impeccable. But however wonderful each component of the hotel is, the whole is much greater than the sum of the parts. Seehotel Überfahrt's authenticity and total commitment to excellence create a magical world almost beyond imagination.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveler_713714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

Great location, very professional, friendly and personal service from all staff, restaurants - tried the standard restaurant (not the 2 Michelin star one) and was not disappointed. Large rooms, very clean, and generally speaking, proper five stars hotel. Only comment is that in case you do like to cuddle at night with the misses, better reserve double bed. By default, you get two jointed mattresses and 2 individual blankets, which is nice - depends on personal preferences.

Room Tip: Reserve double bed, not too singles jointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MNK666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

This expensive hotel is trying to lure all kind of clientele also advertising themselves as a family friendly hotel.

When travelling with children one should be aware of the following: no discount for kids is given. I had to pay for the room for my children just the same price as for the room for myself (including breakfast).

Children are denied access to the sauna without explanation given. Even when accompanied by parents. German speaking clients simply ignore the rule, but what to do when the swimming pool attendant simply blocks the door? A real disappointment considering the fact that the hotel does not care to install a family sauna.

Much less attention is paid to the enforcement of the non-smoking rules. Guests smoke in the corridors, smoke in the "non-smoking" rooms and no-one seems to care. Probably all the forces are dedicated to kicking the kids from the sauna area.

On the whole, a hotel which used to be an excellent one 10 years ago - now the rooms need investment - peeling wallpaper, marks on the walls, holes on the curtains.

Give it a thinking before you book.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
3  Thank Timur S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rottach-Egern
1.4 mi away
Das Tegernsee
Das Tegernsee
#1 of 9 in Tegernsee
452 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Bachmair Weissach
Hotel Bachmair Weissach
#1 of 12 in Rottach-Egern
1,017 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park-Hotel Egerner Hoefe
Park-Hotel Egerner Hoefe
#3 of 12 in Rottach-Egern
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bachmair Hotel am See
Bachmair Hotel am See
#9 of 12 in Rottach-Egern
159 reviews
1.2 mi away
Seehotel Luitpold
Seehotel Luitpold
#2 of 9 in Tegernsee
152 reviews
1.4 mi away
Der Westerhof Hotel
Der Westerhof Hotel
#3 of 9 in Tegernsee
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Althoff Seehotel Ueberfahrt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Althoff Seehotel Ueberfahrt

Address: Ueberfahrtstr. 10, 83700 Rottach-Egern, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Rottach-Egern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Rottach-Egern
#2 Spa Hotel in Rottach-Egern
Price Range: £224 - £741 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Althoff Seehotel Ueberfahrt 5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our 5-star superior hotel on the Tegernsee, an Elegant Nature Resort in perfection. Far away from the urban hustle and bustle. In the heart of nature. A stylish retreat to your taste - including the cuisine. Directly on the banks of the Tegernsee, only 45 minutes drive from Munich. The Althoff Seehotel Uberfahrt awaits you with four restaurants and a bar, a 3000m² luxury SPA as well as rest and relaxation at any time of the year. Welcome to happiness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Althoff Seehotel Ueberfahrt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seehotel Ueberfahrt Hotel Rottach-Egern

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing