We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place”
Review of Forggensee

Forggensee
Ranked #2 of 23 things to do in Schwangau
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Hyvinkaa, Finland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful place”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

It was very relaxing to walk on Forggensee shores. Water was like from Bahamas because of minerals from The Alps. There were few ships flowing on the lake and the scenery was so photographically. You can see the centre of Füssen (surrounding by the Alps) from Forggensee. Waiting for next trip there =)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bioluvil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    67
    9
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
523 reviews
352 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Best boat trip in Bavaria”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We walked to the lake from Fussen along the river. The boat trip was very inexpensive and the facilities were really good-toilets and a small bar. It was lovely to sit up top and enjoy a beer. We did the longer trip and opted to stay on board, although you could get off at each stop. As we did it on our first day it gave us a good idea of the geography of the area. The views, especially of Fussen and Neuschwanstein were magical.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KAW687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Relaxing boat trip”
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We did the boat trip on the first day of the 2013 season. The weather was lovely and it was a very relaxing trip with the beautiful mountains in the background. We also did some cycling around the lake which was very easy and family friendly.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank bronagh80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tunbridge Wells
Level Contributor
72 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Nice easy cycling”
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Great, level terrain for bike rides with some cafes and photo opportunities on the route. There is a ferry but we could never quite get to the stops on time :-(

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful Setting”
Reviewed 23 August 2012

We stopped at Forggensee on our way back to Munich (from Hopfen am See) to catch an evening flight.

It was a gloriously hot day and the lake was the most beautiful blue/green colour that looked as if diamonds were floating on the water. We walked a very small section of the lake but ended up simply sitting on a bench in the shade simply enjoying the mountainous scenery surrounding the lake (lots of benches to choose from!). As our suitcases were already packed we were only able to have a paddle, in the deliciously cool water, and our feet soon dried out in the baking sun! There were lots of private jetties along the section we walked, but people were simply arriving with picnic blankets etc and taking a leisurely swim. Given the amount of people, the whole scene was very laid back with just a low murmur of conversation from the different groups enjoying the lake. We'd have loved to have taken a ferry ride but sadly had no time. Stunningly beautiful setting to end a relaxing holiday in Bavaria!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Louisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Forggensee also viewed

Schwangau, Upper Bavaria
 
Schwangau, Upper Bavaria
Fussen, Swabia
 

Been to Forggensee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing