We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A special place in a beautiful location”
Review of Hotel Ruebezahl

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Ruebezahl
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Schwangau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I don't think there are enough adjectives to fully do justice to this hotel. We were here for only 4 days /3 nights but it was a wonderful sojourn from arrival to departure. The hotel is not the most luxurious in the world although it is of a very high standard but what sets it apart is the peaceful ambience and friendliness/professionalism of the staff. It is just perfect and very reasonable.
So, what made it so good for us? The check in was swift, friendly with a welcome glass of bubbly. We were shown to our room, a junior suite, Maximilian room 41 which was tastefully decorated with a balcony overlooking the castles. The room was very comfortable, the bathroom a good size and well equipped. Our bed even had twinkly lights over it (you can switch off/on and dim) -sweet. A small bottle of bubbly was awaiting us as we were celebrating our wedding anniversary (Thank you for remembering!). The food was superb -I loved the salmon for breakfast plus range of fresh fruit in addition to the usual. There is a good selection of German and Austrian wines too - I can definitely recommend a few of these.The staff were great. The spa facilities were good - I loved the various rooms with sauna/salt room/water bed and so much more. (The swim pool is quite small and outside but lovely on a warm day).
With the half board package you also had afternoon coffee and cakes included. The Sachertorte is excellent, as was the Apfelstrudel (so my husband told me -I wasn't prepared to forego my Sachertorte!). Such a treat as I usually don't eat cakes.
At check out we received a small pot of jam with their compliments and very good it was too.
Currently the hotel is undergoing improvements but these did not affect our stay at all.
The hotel is very well placed to visit the castles - easy walking/cycling distance if you don't want to take the car. Pfronten is a beautiful place to drive to walk up in the mountains - 15 mins drive plus the gondola is included in the konigscarte which is provided by the hotel. (This card provides lots of savings for gondolas/chairlifts/museums etc). Oberammagau is also good for a day out, along the "romantic road".
I would love to return here soon. Thank you Hotel Rubezahl!

Room Tip: We had maximilian junior suite (room 41 shown on invoice) which was lovely. Oak wood and yellow/lemo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy119186363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (627)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

95 - 101 of 627 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2014

My wife and I would most definately go back and stay at the Hotel Ruebezahl again. The room was the nicesest we had during our three weeks in Europe, the staff were so kind and helpful and the view was perfect. Plus the sitting area inside of the room was one of the most relaxing times of our trip.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuRJe23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We stay at the Hotel Ruebezahl from May 4-6 and it was great! The staff is very helpful and everything was perfect upon arrival. Because of the construction we were upgraded to a room with a balcony and view of Neuschwanstein Castle. It was comfortable, and had everything we wanted. The parking is convenient and free. We had a rental car which was helpful. The castles are amazing and we loved riding bikes into Fussen which was very cool. The wellness facilities are great as well.

We chose the half board and it was well worth it. The food was great and we loved the breakfast, lunch, cake and dinner. It was very good for the price paid. We also loved the area and there is a lot to do. 2 nights did not seem long enough.

There is some construction as the hotel seems to be expaniding, and I am sure it will continue to be great. We loved it! Most comfortable place we stayed and very quiet.

Room Tip: Room 12 has a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lismore77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We had the romantik suite and it is truly that. Sweeping views of the Bavarian Alps with both castles there for you to look upon as well. Also a very small cow farm just in front so you can have a your own little Bovine Nat Geo special as you drink some local Beer, awesome! The Spa is phenom as well! Book the Alibaba package and you will really feel like you are in a far away land of indulgence and romance. Lastly, it was my gf birthday and they really pulled out all the stops. We had our own dedicated dining table for both breakfast and dinner both days. They also helped me do a candle lit breakfast in bed for my sweetheart for her bday morning. We will be back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emmanuelsoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ruebezahl47, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Ruebezahl, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear emmanuelsoh,

thank you for your great Feedback on Tripadvisor.

It was great to read your lines. We are happy, that you liked your stay at our Hotel.
Yes, from our Hotel you have a wonderful view to the mountains, Castles and a Meadow with cows.

We hope your girlfriend enjoyed her birthday.
Hope to see you soon again, with best regards

Your Family Thurm and the Rübezahl-staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We loved staying at the Hotel Ruebezahl and we wished we had stayed longer.
The staff was extremely friendly. We were on a trip of Austria and Bavaria and we had some of the best food at Hotel Ruebezahl. The location was great with great views of Neuschwanstein Castle. They have bikes that are free for hotel guests and can be used to explore the area. We took them to go to the Fussen.
The only downside of the hotel is that the beds and pillows are not so comfortable.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Milanese2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ruebezahl47, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Ruebezahl, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Dear Milanese2008,

thank you for your great Feedback and the time you spend for it.

We are happy that you liked your stay at our Hotel. We will tell your commendation to all our staff.

We are sorry, that you can´t sleep so well. We have different matress and pillows to Change for you.

Hope to see you soon again at our Hotel.
With best regards

Family Thurm and the Rübezahl-staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

This is my second visit. Everything was fine like the first time about five years back. Hotel staff was always attentive and also fulfilled a special request. Room was very nice and meticulously clean. Food is excellent. Strong recommendation for a stay in this area.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Ulrich B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ruebezahl47, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Ruebezahl, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Dear Ulrich B.,

thank you for your Feedback and the time you spend for it.

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay again at our Hotel.

Hope to see you soon again.

With best regards

Your Rübezahl-staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

The two room apartment they had for the four of us was perfect, the balcony look up at the two castles and the night view was great. The spa and heated pool looked great but with the kids no time. To use it and we did not bring swim suites for kids. The dinner last night was one of the best we have had in Germany.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Ron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ruebezahl47, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Ruebezahl, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Dear Mr. Ron W.,

thank you for your Feedback.

We are happy that you like the stay at our Hotel. Next time you have to use also the spa and pool.

Hope to see you again soon.
With best regards

Your Family Thurm and the Rübezahl-staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schwangau
0.8 mi away
Das Koenig Ludwig Wellness & SPA Resort Allgaeu
1.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Ludwig
Hotel Villa Ludwig
#1 of 7 in Hohenschwangau
483 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Helmerhof
Hotel Helmerhof
#2 of 16 in Schwangau
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Weinbauer
Hotel Weinbauer
#4 of 16 in Schwangau
308 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Maximilian
Hotel Maximilian
#8 of 16 in Schwangau
84 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Sonne
Hotel Sonne
#1 of 40 in Fussen
1,655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ruebezahl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ruebezahl

Address: Am Ehberg 31, 87645 Schwangau, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Schwangau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Schwangau
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Schwangau
#2 Romantic Hotel in Schwangau
#4 Family Hotel in Schwangau
Price Range: £203 - £294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Ruebezahl 4.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Rübezahl - a special romantic hotel with a royal view of Neuschwanstein Castle and Hohenschwangau. Individualistic and romantic, the hotel is located right in the middle of the Bavarian Alps. As a member of the renowned Hideaways Hotels Collection, the Wellness and Gourmethotel combines discreet luxury with an alpine lifestyle. Creative and regional delicacies from the exquisite gourmet kitchen, combined with alpine-inspired spa treatments with an outdoor pool invite you to relax and pamper yourself. Near Munich and Innsbruck (Austria). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Ruebezahl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellvital Hotel Schwangau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing