We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best”
Review of Landhotel Guglhupf

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Landhotel Guglhupf
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Schwangau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 September 2013

This hotel is about 3 minutes driving from the fairy tale castles and has parking. There is an excellent restaurant 2 minutes walk away. The staff are wonderful and couldn't be more helpful. The rooms are beautiful and it is evident a lot of time and thought has gone into their decoration. The breakfast was second to none. The variety was truly remarkable.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelvin_and_Jan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (360)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 360 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2013

I did not expect a balcony with (distant) views of both Neuschwanstein and Hohenschwangau but that is what our room afforded.

We were made very welcome by our hosts and the breakfast included a wonderful selection of home-made cakes. The room was spotless and the décor of the public areas was most attractive. Fussen is an pleasant town just a few minutes drive away (but traffic can be heavy in peak season) and there is a good selection of restaurants available.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with castle views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurence T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Really lovely - I would definitely recommend!
Great service, friendly and helpful hosts, clean and private rooms with gorgeous views.
it is well situated and easily accessible from the major cities.
a perfect getaway!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leighanneweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We loved this place, which I would call a guest house rather than an hotel. A warm welcome, beautifully clean and with delightful collections of interesting and pretty things to look at. Our room was pleasant and very clean, and was sufficiently cool even during a heat wave. The breakfast was breath taking! We have never before seen such an array of choice and tasty, home made delicacies - if only we could have eaten more or stayed for longer! Car parking was on site and convenient, and the hotel is well placed for visiting the major tourist attractions nearby. We would have no hesitation in staying here again - one of the best we visited across southern Germany!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PenelopeDaviesBr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We stayed in a lovely room at the back of the hotel with good views of the castles.The hotel is very clean with well appointed bedrooms.The staff are lovely and very willing to give sound advice on visits.We enjoyed the drive to Linderhof which was our favourite castle.Avoid Oberammergau.Nothing but a tourist trap.
Their are two good restaurants within walking distance.Take the sound advice of the hotel.You may need to book.
Breakfast was very good .One of the best on our tour.
Be at the local castles early to avoid a long wait.

Roger and Sara Mitchell

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lorenzo01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Clean and spacious rooms, very comfortable even in Bavaria's summer heat, and a very quick trip to the front door of the ticket office to tour the nearby castle. Helpful staff even made our reservations, helped us find an amazing restaurant. Delicious breakfast. We had a bit of trouble finding it at first, thought our GPS was malfunctioning, but actually the property is in Hand, which is part of Schwangau. Once it was put into the GPS as Hand, not Schwangau, no problem. I'd go back here, and I'd definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoFudie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Even though we only spent one night it was excellent. Our GPS (Garmin) took us right to the front door. We had been driving from Zurich after an over night flight and were very tired. They recommended an excellent restaurant across the street and later a great referral to a restaurant in town. All of our reservations for castle tours tickets were made. We were very pleased with our room with view and the great breakfast. Thanks for an excellent stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schwangau
0.3 mi away
Hotel Das Ruebezahl
Hotel Das Ruebezahl
#1 of 16 in Schwangau
640 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Ludwig
Hotel Villa Ludwig
#1 of 7 in Hohenschwangau
497 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Waldmann
Hotel Waldmann
#7 of 16 in Schwangau
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Helmerhof
Hotel Helmerhof
#2 of 16 in Schwangau
243 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Weinbauer
Hotel Weinbauer
#4 of 16 in Schwangau
311 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Sonne
Hotel Sonne
#1 of 41 in Fussen
1,687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Landhotel Guglhupf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landhotel Guglhupf

Address: Fuessener Str. 107, 87645 Schwangau, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Schwangau
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Schwangau
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Schwangau
Price Range: £82 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our cozy country lodge is located in Schwangau, home of the castles Neuschwanstein and Hohenschwangau. Enjoy the GUGLHUPF specialties such as home-baked bread and home-made marmelade at the delicious breakfast buffet every morning. Despite the central location (distance to the castles approx. 2 Km, to the austrian border about 3 km) all rooms are very quiet and comfortably equipped with bathroom, king-sized bed and high-quality wood furniture as well as balcony/ terrace, TV and telephone. Wifi is complimentary. Your hosts Monika and her children Daniel and Ulrike are looking forward to your stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Landhotel Guglhupf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Landhotel Guglhupf Schwangau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing