We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Traditional Bavarian Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Landgasthof Zur Post
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Schwangau
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely Traditional Bavarian Inn”
Reviewed 12 October 2012

We stayed here for two nights over Easter. It was easy to locate, with parking spaces at the front and side. The first evening we ate in the restaurant where we were served a large tasty Bavarian meal. Breakfast was also good with a fine choice. Everything was clean and nicely decorated in Bavarian style. The room had a couch and coffee table as well as a balcony from which we could see the mountains! All the staff were friendly and helpful and the women wore traditional dirndls which added to the Bavarian atmosphere. It was a brilliant location to get the cable car up the Teigelberg and see the royal castles of Hohenschwangau and Neuschwanstein, and the April snow was an unexpected bonus! All for a very reasonable price. Hope I can make a return visit one day.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank H_JONES_WALES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    53
    17
    4
    1
See reviews for
31
73
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

We stayed here only one night and only to see the castle. We arrived and the staff was great. The room was clean and nice. Only complaint was that the shower head was not attached to the wall so you had to hold it but that is minor. The castle was a 15 min walk and there were tons of places to eat and visit. We wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank corrie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Market, Maryland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

We arrived by car, and the location was easy to find. Parking was available in front and along the side, with little problem. The typical Bavarian decor was a pleasure which we enjoyed. The 2nd floor room was difficult up the stairs with the heavy luggage we had. The room was adequate size, clean, and simply furnished. The bathroom was a good size, updated fixtures, modern and clean. The beds were quite comfortable with decent linens. Overall, everything was very good. During the early morning, there was street traffic, mostly farm vehicles.

Breakfast was very good with a good selection of typical German breakfast items.

Location was excellently convenient to the castles and other scenic areas around Schwangau. Likewise, it was also very close to the main highway for the next destination.

Overall, it was very good, at a reasonable cost, and I would probably stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marylanderkj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tolentino
Level Contributor
97 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

The hotel was located just in front of the Neuschwanstein Schloss, on the other side of the valley. The room was large and clean, recently renovated. The bathroom was clean and the shower was large and comfortable. The breakfast was good, missed some brioches but we were in Germany!
The only problem is that there is no lift, so we had to carry on our baggages by ourselves up to the 3rd floor!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stipetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Although ot is not 5 stars hotel, it was what exactly what you expect from old b&B in small bavarian village, perfect restaurant - simple pleasure and good beer.Family bussiness, one fault - lack of wurst for breakfest-).No lift.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

The Landgasthof Zur Post is a good clean hotel on the main through road near the village centre. The location is convenient and has a good bar and restaurant but the wines are pricey for the quality and selection. The hotel breakfasts are very good. Parking is easy to the front and rear. In general a good place to stay. There is a bank and shops near by, with most of the local amenities including a good village doctor and pharmacy. The village is rural in that there are cows and poultry close in the vicinity. There are plenty of hotel restaurants / bars in easy walking distance. There are good views of the mountains from the front elevation. However the rooms on the front elevation can be noisy from road trafic. If you are unfit or old ask for the rooms in the lower floor as there is no lift.
If you like your towels changed then put your used towels on the floor or the will not be changed.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chawkes2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

The room was nice, the location is perfect, and the breakfast was really good. The hostest even sent us home with some jam that we grew fond of!

Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Schwangau hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Weinbauer
Hotel Weinbauer
#3 of 16 in Schwangau
288 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Ruebezahl
Hotel Ruebezahl
#1 of 16 in Schwangau
584 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hanselewirt
Hotel Hanselewirt
#9 of 16 in Schwangau
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Landhotel Guglhupf
Landhotel Guglhupf
#2 of 16 in Schwangau
330 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Helmerhof
Hotel Helmerhof
#4 of 16 in Schwangau
154 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Maximilian
Hotel Maximilian
#8 of 16 in Schwangau
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Landgasthof Zur Post? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landgasthof Zur Post

Property: Landgasthof Zur Post
Address: Muenchener Str. 5, 87645 Schwangau, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Schwangau
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Schwangau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Landgasthof Zur Post 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Landgasthof Zur Post reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing