We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine for Visiting Castles”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Landgasthof Zur Post
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Schwangau
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Fine for Visiting Castles”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Stay: 1 night in June 2014.

Staff: English-speaking. Friendly.

Room: Double of Two Singles bed, on 2nd floor. Very quiet for sleep quality.
Bathroom: Stand-alone shower.
Amenities: Smallish LCD TV.
WiFi: Didn’t try it.

Breakfast: Good value "all you can eat" buffet (no hot dishes).

Location: Good location for visiting castles. Very basic guest-house accommodation at a good price.

TV Channels (English): CNN.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaunt411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    55
    17
    4
    1
See reviews for
32
76
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vantaa, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

This lovely guesthouse is more polished than guesthouses usually are. It still has the romantic Bavarian/alpine style. We had a room in the first floor and it had a large balcony facing the mountains. It was delightful to wake up in those surroundings!
The staff was very friendly and spoke English (in smaller villages like Schwangau, they don´t always speak...)
Like all guesthouses, this one also has a great restaurant downstairs. The kitchen closes at 9pm, so you better eat early.
Location was perfect for visiting the castles and nearby villages, which we did.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A_MKH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornton, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

My fiance and I stayed here while traveling around Germany in May. We decided to explore the castles in Fussen, and this was one of the hotels that offered castle views. It is located in a tiny town right in the Alps, so you will encounter more people who don't speak English, but there was really no problem with the language barrier. Everyone we encountered was very friendly and the food downstairs was amazing. We had a castle view room with a nice balcony, which was really nice. The rooms were clean, and had one of the bigger bathrooms that I encountered while in Germany. The beds were fairly comfortable and the rooms were spacious. It has a cozy, country feel to it. It was a little warm while we were there, and there was no AC or fan, so we had to sleep with the balcony doors open. One night it got a little too noisy downstairs with people walking down the street so we had to shut them, but other than that we really enjoyed our stay. It's a short bus ride to the castles and the staff at the front desk are happy to assist you in any way, as well as give you a list of the times the buses run. I would recommend using the restaurant downstairs as we saw few places to eat, and the local grocery store closes fairly early.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side are quieter. Castle view rooms are nice if you are looking for a romantic sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank agraves10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart
Level 6 Contributor
299 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

Landgasthof zur Post in Schwangau is a very cute hotel only minutes from Schloss Neuschwanstein. Our room was very large & modern with Bavarian Charm. We had a beautiful view of Schloss Neuschwanstein from our balcony. We ate in the restaurant which had very nice Bavarian specialties and great selection of beer. The hotel staff were very friendly and offered lots of tips. Make sure you visit the Königliche Kristall Terme. It's worth the visit and Zur Post offers discounted Tickets. The only one very small negative point was breakfast. It would have been nice if they had offered a few small warm choices. Otherwise very nice place to spend a long weekend. We will certainly be back.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank GK_10_1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coopersburg, PA
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

our family stayed here for one day and one night. we did not make reservations ahead of time and were so surprised to have found such a quaint inn that could accommodate a family of 5. We had a large room with 2 bedrooms 2 bathrooms and a balcony with beautiful view of the mountains and castle. This is not a place for those seeking night life and a fast pace. This is a very quite peaceful sleepy village town in bavaria. it is a great location for those who love the outdoors as there are plenty of places to walk, bike, and enjoy an outdoor swimming pool spa. We really loved our stay here. the kids got a taste of life in a small village. the front desk was very pleasant and helpful in provideing us with tips and what to see and even offering coupons. We ate dinner at the inn and were treated to a delicious home cooked meal with excellent beer. but really where in germany would you have a bad beer? The rooms were clean and ours was quite spacious. it was nothing fancy but it sure was peaceful and what a good night sleep we all had.i guess it depends on which room you get ;but we all thought it was very charming. if you are a jet setter and used to 5 star accomodations you should probably just continue driving through this lovely village as i am sure you would not appreciate its charm.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 5-2-go91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westport, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We stayed here for one night in order to see the Neuschwanstein castle, which is a few minutes away. Location was great. Hotel is on a main street and not much around. It's good for a one-night rest. It reminded me of a college dorm room - sparsely decorated and a frigid decor. Our room was large with a view of the main street. It's not a warm and inviting place, but it is a good price for what you get. It is clean and has a nice breakfast spread.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveTravelingWorld74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We stayed here for one night and had a very good time. Our balcony had a view of the castle which was stunning. The hotel is clean and well run but not luxurious. I requested a bath on my booking form and we were given a room with bath and shower. I also left some clothes behind and the hotel have kindly posted them on to me. There is a great Italian restaurant on the opposite side of the road about five mins walk!

Room Tip: Ask for a castle view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Schwangau hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Weinbauer
Hotel Weinbauer
#3 of 16 in Schwangau
290 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Ruebezahl
Hotel Ruebezahl
#1 of 16 in Schwangau
588 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hanselewirt
Hotel Hanselewirt
#10 of 16 in Schwangau
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Maximilian
Hotel Maximilian
#8 of 16 in Schwangau
78 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Helmerhof
Hotel Helmerhof
#4 of 16 in Schwangau
167 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Kleiner Konig
Hotel Kleiner Konig
#11 of 16 in Schwangau
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Landgasthof Zur Post? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landgasthof Zur Post

Property: Landgasthof Zur Post
Address: Muenchener Str. 5, 87645 Schwangau, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Schwangau
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Schwangau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Landgasthof Zur Post 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Landgasthof Zur Post reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing