We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best value I've experienced”
Review of Hotel Weinbauer

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Weinbauer
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Schwangau
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Best value I've experienced”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I had booked this hotel based on other reviews. It is located in a row of other hotels (the area being highly touristic due to the castle). So, look for the highly ornately painted building. We were surprised when we arrived that it was only 3 stars! The room was spacious (we paid the extra for the view to the castle), very spacious. The bed was super comfortable and there was a spacious balcony outside. The bathroom too was the biggest we've had, with a fantastic shower. Very clean and very comfortable. They also have a steam room , but I didn't try it out simply because we only stayed for 1 night. For dinner, we went to the hotel restaurant and my husband was very happy with the haxen - which is pig's knee. The breakfast...served in the same room as dinner - was plentiful. A great choice of breakfast items and plenty of room to sit so as not to be crowded with other eaters. Best value for money that I've experienced so far.

Room Tip: We chose the room with a view to the castle for a little extra. It was quite romantic to see the cas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Culturebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    102
    21
    3
    0
See reviews for
78
133
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We stayed here for one night, and could easily have extended our stay for a whole week. The hotel is very pleasant, nice rooms, great bathrooms, very clean and breakfast was excellent. We had requested a room with castle views, and sure enough, our room was on the back and we could see both famous castles from our balcony. Great town as well, with excellent restaurants. We had a lovely stay, and would come back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynne1596
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level Contributor
153 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Hotel very cozy and lovely. Everything very much was pleasant to me. Single room spacious with a good big bed. Shower cabin big and convenient. At hotel excellent restaurant. Breakfast sufficient. On a reception very friendly employees, however in a hall for breakfasts not so friendly woman works. In hotel there is not bad Spa the center. Surely visit Cristal terms!
I will arrive still!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
463 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Booked this hotel as I wanted to be in Schwangau, strategic location for the Neufschwanstein castle. Part of the hotel actually sees the castle, the back rooms. Stayed in a centre room which was great. Good size everything really. Must say the door thickness helps with keeping corridor noises down, have seen that in many German hotels, well done, wish more would do this.
Breakfast was fabulous, proper breakfast, no greasy fry ups, proper bread, plenty, cold cuts, yoghurts, the works, lovely., I wish more hotels would do this rather then complicated fried food which all tastes the sam, of frying fat!

Room Tip: Don't take a front facing room, the road is pretty busy, any other, side, rear, is fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spamobile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dereham, Norfolk, UK
Level Contributor
67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

A great base to tour the German-Austrian border. A very friendly hotel close to the famous castles.

The rooms were very clean and spacious and ours (No 9) had a balcony with a lovely view of the mountains. Beds were very comfortable, rooms quiet and we slept extremely well. Breakfast was excellent with a great variety on offer.

There was no lift, however this did not cause us any problems.

Would definitely stay here again and recommend this small-town hotel to anyone visiting the region.

Room Tip: Rooms with a balcony have an excellent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony_Carol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock, Canada
Level Contributor
149 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We had a wonderful view of the castles through the flowers on our balcony. The chairs by the fire and the soaker tub added to our comfort. This hotel is right at the end of the road into the castles, so with a rental car this was extremely handy. We would definitely recommend this and stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the castles if they have one available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCanadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moordrecht
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We always stay here on our way to Italy. Weinbauer is a wonderfull hotel on the German-Austrian border, very close to the famous castles of Neuschwanstein and Hohenschwangau. The hotel even offers rooms with a view on Neuschwanstein!

The rooms are nice and well equiped -we prefer the ones with a balcony- the breakfast is excellent and the staff is very friendly. There is also an excellent restaurant, but if you want to eat out, Schwangau offers lots of nice restaurants with good kitchens.

Room Tip: We prefer the rooms facing the south and the east.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peet2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schwangau
0.9 mi away
Hotel Waldmann
Hotel Waldmann
#5 of 16 in Schwangau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Ruebezahl
Hotel Ruebezahl
#1 of 16 in Schwangau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
0.8 mi away
Landhotel Guglhupf
Landhotel Guglhupf
#2 of 16 in Schwangau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Ludwig
Hotel Villa Ludwig
#1 of 7 in Hohenschwangau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Sonne
Hotel Sonne
#1 of 39 in Fussen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,550 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Helmerhof
Hotel Helmerhof
#4 of 16 in Schwangau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Weinbauer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Weinbauer

Property: Hotel Weinbauer
Address: Fuessener Str. 3, 87645 Schwangau, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Schwangau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Schwangau
#2 Spa Hotel in Schwangau
#3 Family Hotel in Schwangau
#3 Romantic Hotel in Schwangau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Weinbauer 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, HRS, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Weinbauer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weinbauer Hotel Schwangau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing